We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Positive:
Location -- very close to beach directly on the Ocean Drive, clean rooms and very friendly cleaning staff, quick check in

Negative:
Old and very very soft mattresses, heavy smell in the room and windows were not to open, don't go to the restaurant in front of the hotel - it's a tourist trap.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Pomma,

Thank you for the positive review - I will forward your concerns regarding the mattresses and the windows to the General Manager! I assure you it will be fixed promptly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    208
    185
    94
    124
See reviews for
102
273
48
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Great location in the heart of Art Deco district and right across the street from the beach. Absolutely loved our stay! Harold was great checked us in and helped set up a nice tour of the city. We asked for a reccommendation for Cuban food and were pleasantly surprised with an offering right around the corner-Puerto Saga(separate review-lol). The price is definitely right. Did not eat at the restaurant or others on the strip-did not care for the "hawker" vibe. Room very clean and stylish. Our room was nice-quiet, no street noise but don't look out the window!! We had a view of alley and nasty building being rehab'd. We didnt worry about that-happy for clean and modern touches. My only complaint- bed too soft for my taste. Definitely recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Denise,

Thank you for the positive review! A lot of people do not like the constant flyers and aggressive "hawkers" on Ocean Drive, it seems like every restaurant does the same thing, but do not let that drive you away from dining on Ocean Drive, its a nice scene and some of the places serve very very good food! Unfortunately we only have 4 rooms that face the Ocean, we truly wish we could give everyone a great view, preferably a sea view, but we always remind our guests of the hustle and bustle that you can find in South Beach, there is so much you can do that there really is no excuse to be in your room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

A lovely hotel. Exceptionally clean, tastefully decorated with comfy beds.
In a great location for a really reasonable price.
Don't see what anybody could possibly have a problem with.

Also had no issues with noise as some people have reported but may have been because my stay was mid week.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Hadie,

Thank you for the kind words, there really is not much that needs to be said, as you summed up your feelings for the property quite nicely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

A well needed beach break after travelling 4 major cities, and the hotel was amazing. The staff were so so lovely, so so helpful and the rooms were great -- they were clean, comfortable, with the sheets changed daily as well as the room and en-suite cleaned daily. It was a great price for the location (right on the beach, countless restaurants, bars and clubs walking distance). The only downside was the restaurant downstairs which was less than average; very disappointing as we decided to eat there on our last night after 5 nights of great meals.

Apart from that, could not recommend the Colony more!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Lizzie,

Thank you for the awesome review! It is a shame that you did not enjoy your meal at the restaurant, we will advise them of this review so that they are aware, and we will urge them to be more mindful of our guests and their concerns! Once again thank you for the positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Clean hotel, great staff, the beach is right in front of you what more could you ask for. Harold Rondan worked the front desk durring my stay and was very helpful and friendly the entire time.
I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Tanya,

Thank you for the great review, Harold is constantly being lauded as one of the reasons why our guests enjoyed their time at the property, and I will make sure he sees this review as well. We hope to see you in the near future again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Visited Miami from Atlanta and really enjoyed the hotel. Great location across from the beach and the room was perfect for our trip. Harold at the front desk was so helpful in letting us get into the room as soon as possible as well as assisting us with our bags. He definitely made us comfortable as soon as we came into the lobby. The rest of the staff was super friendly as well. Overall we had a wonderful time at the colony and would gladly return !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the wonderful review, your words could not have been more complimentary, we thank you and hope that you come see again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great location. The Colony Hotel is just what you think South Beach should be like. Very dated building but like a 57 Chevy, it is just right. There are LOTS of places to eat, the beach is just right there. The price is very reasonable. Mostly this place is great because of where it is.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the positive review - we cannot deny that the location is the most intriguing perk about the property, literally right across the street from the beach and in the heart of South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.