We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel on Ocean Drive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel on Ocean Drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Nice hotel just a short walk from the Airport Flyer bus stop on Washington St, only stayed for one night so can't offer completely thorough review of all services.
Checked in with little problem, reception staff were very friendly. Stayed on the first floor where you have to climb a few stairs (pity there being no lift given I had a lot of luggage).
Room had a comfortable bed and was clean when I got there, bathroom was a bit small but everything was there. Air conditioner is a bit noisy. Room is on the smaller size but given the hotel is right by the beach it isn't too much of a problem at all. Right amongst the thick of it on Ocean Drive, lots of bars and restaurants nearby.
Cost is the main reason I stayed here and I certainly got great value for money.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Guest, thank for you the positive review, the hotel does have a lift, but not for the first floor, unfortunately there are a few steps that you must take to get to the first floor since it is slightly above the lobby area - please stay a bit longer with us next time, there is so much more to do in South Beach, one night is definitely not enough!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    198
    176
    90
    116
See reviews for
94
258
47
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longfield
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night on route to the airport. Very helpful staff. Rooms a good size although bathroom very tiny, but o.k. For what we needed. We were able to have our room for extra time and when we checked out the staff allowed us to leave our luggage in storage.
Just to let Roger, from Bristol, know that he wasn't ripped off for his beer. We were, at 530, they charged us in excess of $30 for a beer!!!!

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear June, thank you for the review - we appreciate the kind words for the hotel, and we agree with you as well, the restaurant at the Colony Hotel (which by the way is not affiliated with the hotel) is not the only place in South Beach with ridiculous prices on their drinks, almost all of the places on Ocean Drive operate in the same manner, it is not worth going out for a drink on Ocean Drive, speak to hotel staff or some locals, they will give you the insight on the best places to go where they will not gouge you on food and drinks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Wow! This hotel certainly looks the part, especially when lit up at night. It's spectacular, a true Art Deco classic. We were looked after well, the valet parking was efficient and the room was really nice. The cost of the room was very reasonable and I feel honoured to have been able to stay in such a jewel in the crown of a hotel in this wondrous vibrant location (where the hotel sits at its heart). Definitely recommended. Fabulous!

Room Tip: We did not specify a room type and ended up with a view of the neighbouring building. It would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you Mike for the kind words, the review speaks for itself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have stayed here 2 years in a row and I love it. The location is great its convenient to the beach, resturants, clubs, shopping, sight seeing and even people watching. The prices are great for the location. the staff is great and the manager Harold is very friendly and helpful. I am planning my next trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Aj, thank you for your review, we would be more than happy to host you again, please reach out to us directly in the future so that we can offer you a discount for being a repeat client!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I love this hotel! This is my favorite place to saty in South Beach. The staff is extremely friendly, helpful, and welcoming. The location of this hotel is ideal, since it is just minutes from the beach. When I say it is in the heart of South Beach, I mean it!!! Great place to stay. I will ALWAYS come back. Wonderful management!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest thank you for the positive words, its always nice to read that you are the preferred location for lodging for any given guest, it confirms that the product we put out is something that the public enjoys, we hope to see you again soon, and in the future, please contact us directly should you wish to book, we guarantee that we can offer a better price than what you can find online!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Checked into room 201, an ocean view room. Nice room and well equipped for an older building. Good location, right in the centre of Ocean Drive but very noisy. Not a problem for a short stay but you wouldn't want to spend too long there. Large selection of restaurants and bars locally but do not buy a drink in the Columbus bar (the bar in the Colony Hotel) as it is staggeringly expensive. Two Vodka and cokes.......$50!!!!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper do not choose an ocean fro t room as the music goes on until about 4 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Stewart, thank you for the review! Even though we feel that the Colony Hotel is very much a good choice for either a short stay or a long stay, we can sympathize with the noise that guests can encounter while staying in Ocean Drive, especially in the front of the hotel with all the people traffic that you must encounter. Ocean Drive is thee street where everyone tries to see and experience, so it can definitely get noisy, especially in the night during the weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My friend and I thouroughly enjoyed our stay at the Colony Hotel. We especially were very pleased with the staff and the service provided! The check in process was smooth and very accomodating.The rooms were clean. The location was amanzing! We especially would like to mention the front office manager Harold Rondan who offered us outstanding service and attention throughout our stay. He was professional and friendly and made the difference. We would stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you Monique for your wonderful review, we are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.