We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have stayed here 2 years in a row and I love it. The location is great its convenient to the beach, resturants, clubs, shopping, sight seeing and even people watching. The prices are great for the location. the staff is great and the manager Harold is very friendly and helpful. I am planning my next trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Aj, thank you for your review, we would be more than happy to host you again, please reach out to us directly in the future so that we can offer you a discount for being a repeat client!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    185
    164
    84
    114
See reviews for
84
243
42
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I love this hotel! This is my favorite place to saty in South Beach. The staff is extremely friendly, helpful, and welcoming. The location of this hotel is ideal, since it is just minutes from the beach. When I say it is in the heart of South Beach, I mean it!!! Great place to stay. I will ALWAYS come back. Wonderful management!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest thank you for the positive words, its always nice to read that you are the preferred location for lodging for any given guest, it confirms that the product we put out is something that the public enjoys, we hope to see you again soon, and in the future, please contact us directly should you wish to book, we guarantee that we can offer a better price than what you can find online!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Checked into room 201, an ocean view room. Nice room and well equipped for an older building. Good location, right in the centre of Ocean Drive but very noisy. Not a problem for a short stay but you wouldn't want to spend too long there. Large selection of restaurants and bars locally but do not buy a drink in the Columbus bar (the bar in the Colony Hotel) as it is staggeringly expensive. Two Vodka and cokes.......$50!!!!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper do not choose an ocean fro t room as the music goes on until about 4 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Stewart, thank you for the review! Even though we feel that the Colony Hotel is very much a good choice for either a short stay or a long stay, we can sympathize with the noise that guests can encounter while staying in Ocean Drive, especially in the front of the hotel with all the people traffic that you must encounter. Ocean Drive is thee street where everyone tries to see and experience, so it can definitely get noisy, especially in the night during the weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My friend and I thouroughly enjoyed our stay at the Colony Hotel. We especially were very pleased with the staff and the service provided! The check in process was smooth and very accomodating.The rooms were clean. The location was amanzing! We especially would like to mention the front office manager Harold Rondan who offered us outstanding service and attention throughout our stay. He was professional and friendly and made the difference. We would stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you Monique for your wonderful review, we are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Having been recommended to stay here by a friend we were very disappointed. On arrival we were kept waiting to place the bags in a side room as our room was not ready. We went to get a drink from the bar and the staff would rather talk on their mobiles or to each other than serve us. Eventually we got a beer and decided we may as well get something to eat at the hotel, we went out onto the street terrace. Here although we tried to attract the attention of the waitress for over ten minutes she ignored us and served people who had seated after us. Eventually after about 15 minutes she came over and we placed our order a hamburger(as supposedly America is the place to eat these) and cheese and ham quesadillas (again supposedly the right thing to choose in this area). Well the wait for these was over 40 minutes as yet again we seemed to be being ignored. Eventually the food arrived and to be hones was a great disappointment. The burger was dry and tasteless with hardly any garnish and the quesadillas were made with the worst cheese and the cheapest ham again with no garnish or salsa. And to top it all they would not put it on our hotel bill and made us pay separately. Having eventually checked in we found the room to be very average, rather dirty including sand all over the floor. As we had been no where near the beach we knew it was not from us. The bathroom looked grubby and very dated. The floors were wooden. We could hear noise from other guests in their rooms and in the corridors all day and night. The Hotel is in a good location but very noisy
and the staff were very slack at all times talking amongst themselves or on their phones rather than paying attention to guests

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest, please accept my apologies for the horrible experience you had - please feel free to reach out to me at 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001 or sales@thekenthotel.com, I will be happy to look into your booking and see if there is anything we can do to make this up to you - In regards to the restaurant, the reason they asked you to pay for the bill separately is because the hotel and the restaurant are two different businesses! I can completely understand how most of the public would assume that the restaurant is part of the hotel, but they are not - the name of the restaurant is Columbus Restaurant, and they have their own page on Tripadvisor should you choose to write a review specifically for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I just stayed there this past Labor Day weekend (Aug/Sept 2013) and I must say, this was such an amazing experience! The hotel is right in front of the beach so we had such a beautiful view. The staff was so amazing! Everyone was extremely friendly and I could tell that they loved what they were doing. Although everyone was very friendly, Harold Rondan, was by far, the best! He was extremely helpful with our check in and any little thing we needed he was right there to help. He was always smiling and always greeting us. He was very helpful on different places to go and gave many tips so that we could be careful with where we would go. He genuinely cared for our well-being as well as our hotel stay. I appreciate Harold very much, he did such an amazing job! Once Harold was gone for the day, we had Albert and he was also extremely friendly. He helped with our night time plans as well as our cabs. He was very helpful and was always there when we needed something. They both were absolutely amazing. My hotel stay was phenomenal and I will definitely be staying at the Colony again. It is such a beautiful hotel and everyone is just as amazing! I didn't want to leave but it only makes me want to plan my next vacation! =)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Monique, thank you very much for the awesome review! Harold and Albert continue to defy expectations, they are always being mentioned on reviews or by word of mouth from our clients to our ears, and we could not be prouder of them both! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I must admit that I picked this hotel due to two factors - its location and the fact that it seems to feature in almost every movie ever shot in Miami. The good news is that it turned out to be a great choice for our 2 week stay. Step out of the front door onto the bustling Ocean Drive and you are a narrow road away from Lummus Park and the beach. As noisy as the street can be at night we booked a room without a seaview and ended up with a delightfully quiet room on the 3rd floor. The room itself was clean and neat with a big comfortable bed. The desk guys (as mentioned in other reviews) are helpful beyond belief. It was nice to stay at a hotel where the desk staff seemed like they actually wanted to help you rather than treating you as an interruption to their downtime. All said, I hope to get back to Miami Beach someday and this will be where I stay when I do. As a final note I should point out that they offer some really great rates when you book direct through their website (we paid under $100 a night for the weeknights and $120 a night for the weekends). The only downside was that we had to come back to London afterwards...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the kind words - we also feel like the Colony Hotel has great value and you can never go wrong with the location, conveniently located across the street from the beach, and in the middle of everything that South Beach has to offer! Staff also goes a long way in making sure our clients are content, it's nice to read that you found that out as well, we are very proud of the service that our employees provide!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.