We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Experience" (kendra) baltimore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Great Experience" (kendra) baltimore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My stay at the Colony Hotel (South Beach) was awsome. The Hotel staff is very friendly and attentive, especially Harold. He made sure everything was right and he kept me and my friends laughing the whole time. The bartender Chelsea was the best. Overall the customer service was excellent! I would recommend this hotel to everyone who will be vacationing in south beach. Im definitely coming back to stay here at the Colony

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the less noise you hear. But, don't forget IT'S SOUTH BEACH!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you Kendra for the wonderful review, we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    210
    187
    95
    125
See reviews for
104
277
49
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I went for an overnight stay for her birthday. Upon checking in, we were greeted by Harold at the front desk. He was extremely pleasant and went the extra mile to make sure everything was perfect. If he is not, he should become the person in charge at this hotel. The room was great and the service by Harold was even better. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying on South Beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Fred, thank you for your input and review, Harold is very much a key member of our staff and the Front Desk manager, he is highly regarded not just by staff but by our clients as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you are here for all those actions on Miami beach, this is the right place. Staffs are friendly, and the room is ok. But if you want to get some sleep in the night, you better bring your own earplug. You can hear the noise from both in and out of the hotel all night long; if not enough, the AC unit can keep you company too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you Steven for the review, this unfortunately is one of the issues that you can associate with South Beach but Ocean Drive in general, since most restaurants close in the wee hours of the morning and there are numerous hang outs on Ocean Drive (Mangoes, Clevelander, Fat Tuesday's, Wet Willie's etc. etc.) for locals and tourists alike the music and noise can be intrusive at times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

For a South Beach Hotel the price was really good ! The location is great,right across the beach located between 7th and 8th street. The staff of the hotel and of the bar were really nice and friendly and because of them I had a great stay at the Colony . Couldn't ask for anything better! Though the Hotel was a lil noisy (you could hear the steps on the hallways),but it's South Beach! the rooms were renovated and clean but bit small. If you wanna have fun and meet new people I highly recommend you to stay there! And anything you need talk to Harold through the day and Rafa through the night they are there to help and they won't let you down.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you Lys for the great review, it's always good to read to high praise on our staff! They truly make a difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Colony Hotel is a boutique Art Deco hotel on the strip. The staff was very helpful, and the rooms were small but clean and recently renovated. It was noisy (there appeared to be a parade of people going through the narrow hallway late at night,) but the room we had was not on the strip, so we didn't hear street noise or music. Plus, that is part of the charm of South Beach.

Look for the postcards with the Colony Hotel on it, which are sold at all the tourist traps.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor away from the strip are a bit quieter, though lack ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you Ben for the positive review, I hope the horde of noisy guests in the hallways did not negatively affect your experience too much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

For a boutique South Beach Hotel it was really nice. We stayed in the ocean view suite which was a nice updated room with plenty of amenities. The downside was the loud music that plays. The location was fantastic but if you are looking to get sleep and not party until 5am, you might want to consider another hotel.

The parking staff took forever and I would recommend when you want your car you ask for it 45 minutes in advance.

If you are looking to be in the heart of the action I recommend this hotel, it is close to all the night life and shops.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Laura, thank you for the honest review - noise can be an issue, specifically in the front of the hotel due to the people traffic and music on Ocean Drive, I'm so sorry this affected your stay, we have looked at numerous options to help offset the noise on Ocean Drive but we have not found anything that clearly mute's it out. Valet Parking typically only takes 15 to 20 minutes, hence why we advise guests to call for their car ahead of time, but if the car is needed on a weekend at night I can definitely fathom it taking upwards of 30 minutes since Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue experience bumper to bumper traffic at that time, furthermore the City is also doing extensive work on Collins Avenue and it has really caused bad traffic jams, this will most likely go on for the next few months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaston, Connecticut
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

After reading the reviews, I wasn't sure what to expect. We went to South beach for a show at the Fillmore which was a 5 minute taxi ride away and the only hotel with a decent price for a Saturday night. We checked in at around 6pm, and were told due to the hotel being sold out, we were upgraded to the best suite in the house, room 301, ocean view (prepaid on hotels.com about 2 months before the trip). I was excited but still wasn't expecting to much. The elevator, or 'lift', is very old and kind of scary. do not go in there if you are claustrophobic LOL. There is the staircase which is much quicker (we only have 1 overnight bag so it was easy to carry) right next to the bar area. The room was huge for south beach standards. It has a living area with a TV, PlayStation 3, mini bar (no liquor) with a fridge, & glasses for all style of drinks. the bed was big, and the closet was so huge you could fit 5 people standing and still have room. The bathroom is the opposite - very tiny and not much standing room. The tub/shower is huge though. The amenities were very nice and everything was clean. there was a large window with blinds with a great view of the strip/beach. I will admit being at the front of the hotel on a Saturday night, very noisy, but we came in around 2am and passed right out. That's what south beach is all about right?! Anyways, the car valet guys were great. When we walked downstairs the next morning planning to check out, the guy was standing there with my car keys & my jeep parked out front waiting for us! we didn't even have to call or say anything! We asked if we could leave it in front for 45 minutes or so while we grabbed some lunch really quick. They let us, which I was not expecting, but was awesome! I would stay here again for sure. The whole place was really clean and nice. A+!

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to the suite Room 301 - amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the wonderful review, I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed our Oceanfront Suite, it really is a beautiful room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.