We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“glad I didn´t cancel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Save Saved
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Kite beach Cabarete Dominican Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“glad I didn´t cancel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I almost cancelled my reservation after I read the reviews, but i´m glad I didn´t...people don´t realize South Beach Hotels are boutique properties constructed during the 1930’s...The Colony is RIGHT on the action. The staff is multilingual and very accommodating and the rooms are clean comfortable and safe. We had a great time and looking forward to returning to the Colony Hotel and South Beach!

Room Tip: I spent $100us, I expected to get a nice clean, cool room with little or no view. This is what I got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review, I always urge guests to at least check into the hotel and see if they like it or not, we are very accommodating to guests if they do not like the property, they can simply check out and we will not charge any cancellation fees! We are happy that chose to give us a chance, and even more happy that we gained your trust in return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    190
    152
    84
    110
See reviews for
75
225
40
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, NY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel is nice, the staff (except for one who was a scatterbrain) was knowledgeable and friendly and accommodating, great location for the beach and everything else, offers tours in the lobby-and the ENTIRE hotel is super clean, everywhere you go, its smells as if they just cleaned 5 minutes ago no matter the time of day, rooms are nice and upgraded (had a back room so it was quiet)......what I didn't like was that although the give you their wifi password, you still get no phone reception-its the worst and there wasn't any dresser, only cubby holes....no idea about the food-we didn't eat there.

Room Tip: save yourself some money and take the 100 bus from the airport, it'll leave you in the heart of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Sara, thank you for the honest review...I apologize about you not being able to get reception on your cell phone, different parts of the hotel get better reception than others, this also fluctuates depending on your provider as well, I can relate from personal experience as I have Sprint and I sometimes do not get reception either, but some of our employees who have Verizon get reception everywhere including our basement and elevator!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was awesome !.. Food was great, good portion.. Good price!!.. Tim the front desk. Guy who works at night is amazing!!.. He helps us out VERY VERY VERY MUCH, during a lil issue we had!. He went WAY OUT OF HIS WAY AND ABOVE AND BEYOND HIS CALL IF DUTY!! He needs a raise!!.. Will totally stay again!!.. And I love the antique elevator!!

Jessica

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the positive review...it's always nice to read that the direct actions of our employees contributed greatly to your appreciation of our establishment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Nothing wrong with this hotel. We booked through points, and when we arrived the hotel had not received our reservation . The front desk guy was very helpful and patient while we tried to see what had happened. We were able to resolve the issue, and were upgraded to a Queen room at the back of the hotel. If you are worried about noise, book a room in the back. We were on the second floor, and had ZERO noise. I can see how the front rooms (facing Ocean Drive) could be noisy. Room was large and clean, with a comfortable bed and good bathroom. The a/c unit cooled the room perfectly. There is also a small refrigerator so you can store food/drinks.

Location is great, as you are directly across from the beach and the volleyball area. Hotel gives you beach towels, and you can rent chairs/umbrellas from the beach vendors. You are a block from Collins where there are many restaurants. Parking is either on the street (pay), valet (we didn't have any issues getting car), or there is a parking garage at Collins and 11th.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the thorough review, we appreciate your feedback! I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, in the future if you wish to come back to the hotel please try to call us directly as I am sure we can get you a better price than what you could find online!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very modern and clean. You can't see South Beach in tv or in a movie and NOT see this hotel in bright blue neon lights. Perfect location. The drinks are a little pricey but it is South Beach and its on Ocean Drive in the middle of it all.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you Rob for the wonderful review! We appreciate it and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed at the colony on my first trip to Miami. Generally I was very pleased with the service. The location is amazing-the hotel is right across the street from the beach and in the heart of south beach. Everything is in walking distance. The hotel staff was very pleasant,helpful, and upbeat. Harold at the colony took care of me. I have no complaints because his customer service skills are up to par. He told me where all the good spots were,where to go and not to go,etc. if staying at the colony I suggest you speak with Harold he will surely take care of you and let you know what's going on in south beach.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you Heather for the great review!! Harold is a star, we are happy to know he assisted you with any question or concern you might have had!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcdonough
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed one night pre cruise April 12, 2013. We had booked 2 rooms and my husband and I were upgraded to an ocean front suite on the second floor. It was overlooking south beach and absolutely beautiful. One wall of windows and side windows looking down the beach and Ocean Dr. Small lobby, restaurant and bar area inside. Lots of dining space outside, where everybody is, never saw anybody at the dining inside. Our suite was beautiful. The double room my sons had was very nice also.The original wood floors are in the hotel. A quirky elevator from the 50's with the metal frame you close then close the outer door, very small.Beautiful, clean, friendly staff although some of them can not understand us very well, we could not get a cup of coffee our last morning, the girl kept wanting us to sit and we kept telling her we did not have time, another young lady got us a couple of cups, $7.00.

The worst part is having to park in front of the eating area and unload all of your luggage, they will leave your car there a while so you can get everything out, they do not rush you, $24.00 per day parking up front cash. Sometimes they will help you.. The worst was getting our car the next morning, they told us it would take 15 minutes but it took an hour so we had to check out and bring all of our stuff to the lobby with several other guest and wait for our car.
The suites are very noisy as you are over the bar inside and outside and they did not stop until about 5am when it stormed. The other rooms are ok as they are down the hall away from the noise just no view. If you want the ocean front suite ask for one on the 3rd or 4th floor although you may not have as good a view as the palm trees are in the way, it's a catch twenty two but you are not going to be in the room much. We watched the ships come out of port from our windows.

At night it is really beautiful out there, the restaurant downstairs was really good we walked the strip to eat and ended up back there. Giant margaritas with 2 beers turned upside down, 2 for $25.00 which is like 4 margaritas and 4 beers. Nice not sure I would stay again, maybe in Sept.

Room Tip: Try to get there early to unload due to traffic, call for your car early took and hour, 2nd floor su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Sherry thank you for your review, I'm sorry for the noise you encountered while in the Suite, it is true that Ocean Drive specifically can be quite noisy due to the amount of people walking outside and the bumper to bumper traffic does not help either, but we are very happy to know that even with the noise you enjoyed your stay, we would be more than happy to welcome you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Free internet...
Show More
Kent Hotel
Kent Hotel
#123 of 200 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Bar/Lounge, Bes...
Show More
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#146 of 200 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Fashionhaus Hotel
Fashionhaus Hotel
#110 of 200 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beach, Pool, Mi...
Show More
Collins Hotel
Collins Hotel
#85 of 200 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
Suites on South Beach Miami
Suites on South Beach Miami
#80 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
South Pointe
Harrison Hotel
Harrison Hotel
#115 of 200 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.