We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading photos” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Save Saved
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Troy, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Misleading photos”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I knew I wasn't getting a five star hotel when I booked one night at the Colony for $118 a night. But the photos they use on the website are of only a couple of rooms at the front of the hotel. The rest of the rooms, apparently, have a view of the alley. The room itself wasn't too bad, but certainly wasn't up to the standard of the rest of our vacation. But it was only one night and we made it through the night. The best part was being just a half block away from our morning breakfast spot, The News Cafe. The strip in front of the hotel is really wild at night, with hawkers trying to get you into their establishments, each with their own entertainment right in front of the sidewalk. People eating on the sidewalk with tons of people walking by, a couple of guys walking around with a monkey and a huge snake, trying to get people to pay $20 to take a photo of them. Also, the Colony needs to replace the burned out "O" in two sides of their marquee. We stayed previously at the Savoy, which is in a much quieter area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review - we do take exception with the "misleading photos" comment - on our website we highlight our Oceanfront rooms and Suites, but when booking your room you can view pictures of the Deluxe rooms under the accommodations tab, these rooms are the majority of the inventory in the hotel, but their pictures are there for everyone to see what they are booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    185
    160
    83
    114
See reviews for
80
242
42
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had some reservations prior to my visit based on the mixed reviews here on tripadvisor, but have to say I was very happy overall with my stay at the Colony. All hotels on Ocean Dr. in South Beach are pretty similar in size and feel. So I'd have to say the price point was very reasonable. Rooms were clean with original hardwood floors. The A/C unit always kept the room nice cool and saved us from the miserable MIA humidity! Sufficient closet space and cubbies for your clothes and personal items. They even have a flat screen TV and nice ipod/iphone adaptable radio device so you can play your own music. Bathroom although small had all the necessities, the shower head is directly attached to the ceiling which was fine. The daily maid service was on point, beds were made and fresh towels were provided each day. Location was the best, it's directly across Ocean Dr. from Lummus Park and the beach volleyball courts. Very short walk to/from the beach and convenient if you have to take a bathroom break in the middle of beach time. Also to the west on Collins and Washington, there is plenty of great shopping, and Walgreens and Walgreens Liquor just down a couple blocks on 5th St. I'd definitely stay here again on my next visit to South Beach!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Pepa thank you for the honest and detailed review! We highly value your opinion, and encourage others to leave us feedback as well, and coming from such an experienced traveler it means even more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Ga.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have realized that some people you just can't please. While this place is not a 5 star resort they don't claim to be and don't charge like they are. It was very clean and the service that we rec'd was very good. Expect about a 20 min wait to get your car from valet but they are not even part of the hotel. The hotel resteraunt was very good and we had both breakfast and lunch there. Our room was on the 3rd floor in the very back of the hotel and it was just fine. The bed did have my wife and I "rolling to the middle" but worse things have happened than having to cuddle my wife. Expect a decent bed, decent service, clean room, and an amazing location.

Room Tip: Ask for 319, we were told it was one of the larger rooms and is in the rear of hotel so a little qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the positive review, even though I agree that not everyone can be pleased we still try to make that our goal - as you stated we do not claim to be a 5 star property, we are a small boutique hotel that tries to conjure the magic of what South Beach used to be! I will point out the bed issue to the GM, thank you for including the room # you stayed in, whenever we read about an issue with the room it is always helpful to us to know where a guest stayed so we can address that issue! Once again thank you, not just for your review but for your honesty as well!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Every time i stay here it's a great time , the staff is amazing, the guys are hot , the beach is beautiful, the rooms are always clean , anything you need to know about south beach , just ask harold (the front desk guy ) can't wait to going back , i love this place. thanks again colony hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you Jennifer for the wonderful review, I will make sure to point this one out to Harold so he is aware of the kind words directed his way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrbotten
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here March 2013. We liked the hotel very much. The hotel has a perfect location right on ocean drive and just some steps to the beach. 25 minutes walking to the shopping district. There´s lots of restaurants to choose between outside the hotel. The service at the hotel was excellent. They were very helpfully at the reception. The rooms were very clean, fresh and new furbished. It was lots of noises outside every night but you could barely here that. It was not disturbing you. Unfortunately there was no pool at the hotel.I would absolutely stay here again. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the awesome review! Being such a seasoned traveler like yourself your opinion speaks volumes since you have experienced so many different locations and different properties! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed yourself and would consider coming back to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is present of every Ocean Drive photo so I was curious to try it during a weekend in Miami beach.
The rooms are ok, the bathroom is average but the prices are quite good for the location.
It can be quite loud at night on the weekends given all the bars and restaurants nearby.
The staff were nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Erwan, thank you for the positive review, I would argue though that our location is an even better asset than the hotel's iconic status!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

It was an awesome experience. Hotel was beautiful right on the strip. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were clean and nice. We will definitely be staying here again the next time we go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Melia, thank you for the vote of confidence, we look forward to welcoming you back to sunny South Beach!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.