We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Save Saved
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“always a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Every time i stay here it's a great time , the staff is amazing, the guys are hot , the beach is beautiful, the rooms are always clean , anything you need to know about south beach , just ask harold (the front desk guy ) can't wait to going back , i love this place. thanks again colony hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you Jennifer for the wonderful review, I will make sure to point this one out to Harold so he is aware of the kind words directed his way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    189
    151
    84
    109
See reviews for
75
225
39
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norrbotten
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here March 2013. We liked the hotel very much. The hotel has a perfect location right on ocean drive and just some steps to the beach. 25 minutes walking to the shopping district. There´s lots of restaurants to choose between outside the hotel. The service at the hotel was excellent. They were very helpfully at the reception. The rooms were very clean, fresh and new furbished. It was lots of noises outside every night but you could barely here that. It was not disturbing you. Unfortunately there was no pool at the hotel.I would absolutely stay here again. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the awesome review! Being such a seasoned traveler like yourself your opinion speaks volumes since you have experienced so many different locations and different properties! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed yourself and would consider coming back to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is present of every Ocean Drive photo so I was curious to try it during a weekend in Miami beach.
The rooms are ok, the bathroom is average but the prices are quite good for the location.
It can be quite loud at night on the weekends given all the bars and restaurants nearby.
The staff were nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Erwan, thank you for the positive review, I would argue though that our location is an even better asset than the hotel's iconic status!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

It was an awesome experience. Hotel was beautiful right on the strip. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were clean and nice. We will definitely be staying here again the next time we go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Melia, thank you for the vote of confidence, we look forward to welcoming you back to sunny South Beach!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santos, São Paulo, Brazil
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Noisy hotel with bad service and disorganized.
Expensive restaurant (two cups of water for 12 DOLLARS).
Valet extremely time lingering (at about ONE HOUR to take your car).
Bed extremely bad (like a "canoe").
Air conditioner straight to your head, when slaying.

Room Tip: No chances. Forget this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Rosana, I sincerely apologize about issues you might have encountered, since the details in your review are minimal I cannot address the exact problems you might be referring to - I urge you to contact me at sales@thekenthotel.com or via phone at 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001, I am interested in hearing the details of you stay to see if there is anything we can do to correct and ear your trust once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We decided to stay here before we left for a cruise, got in late Thursday night and left Friday morning. The night staff was not very friendly when we got there. We then got to our room and it smelled horrible, walls are very thin making it very loud. The decor was really cool and the bed was comfortable, but it was not well lit making it hard to shower and get ready. The location was nice right across from south beach, but I would NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Daniel, thank you for the review, I'm sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your standards, poor lighting is a comment we have heard too much recently and the hotel is addressing it, we will be adding a few more lights to each room to help alleviate that issue, with regards to noise I can only state that the hotel is an older Art Deco building which was constructed in the 1930's, which in turn does not provide the proper noise insulation that most people are accustomed to in newer buildings, when you add the premier location of where we are located and the amount of foot traffic outside it can lead to a tad too much noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Have stayed there a couple of times, super friendly staff, always available, free wifi, nice deco, hardwood floor, nice showers and comfy bed.
Right in front on the beach so some noise from the street, but its Ocean drive so not expecting a super quiet place and valet parking available as well.
Really nice and neat place to stay in South Beach

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you Paola for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.