We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here! ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Colony Hotel to your Saves list
The Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Do not stay here! ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

The hotel is only good for location. It's right across from the beach and shops are in walking distance. If you're driving and need to park, the valet is$25 and they park your car 7 blocks away. There's a parking garage around the corner that's$20 a day but it's $1 per hour I think. Very expensive I know. The rooms are super small and old and too expensive for the service they give. They smell like mildew and the shower leaves water all over the floor. You can't close the bathroom door while you're on the toilet. That's how small the bathroom is. The hotel ran out of towels for 2 days and gave us a beach towel to shower with and said that's all they had. It's hot outside and you're coming in from the beach but you have no towel to shower with. The front desk guy had the worst attitude. He kept lying saying that the towels were in the washer and that they would be done when we came back from the beach. When we came back he said that housekeeping was gone for the day and didn't check with them on the status of the towels and that the linen room was locked and they didn't have a key. I will never stay at the Colony hotel again. And also the strip is so congested and the host from the different restaurants located outside of each hotel run up to you and all you to eat there. They look like beggars. Some of them are so aggressive that they won't even let you get by. My trip would have been alot better if I had chosen a different hotel. I'll never stay with the Colony again or refer anyone to stay in that piece of crap hotel.

Stayed February 2016, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Constance A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Austallia, Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

Not worth your time - try somewhere else. The colony doesn't try to impress its guests with comfort and cleanliness they apparently rely on the amazing location of the hotel.

Arrived at the Hotel around 5pm to check in. Whoever the guy at the desk was ignored us for about a minute whilst he was on the computer and when we were finally addressed it was with one or two word sentences such as "credit card" and "ID" then "room no." We got into the lift which had its most recent service record as "2013" expiring in "2014" I am sure, well at least I hope, there has been a more recent service but its still a bit disheartening.

Was given a room at the back of the hotel as it was "quiet". This room was terribly loud from road noise and other businesses, and people in general talking/screaming loudly, we couldnt sleep in past 7am. Not within the hotel's control but still disappointing for what was supposed to be the relaxing part of our holiday.

The wifi was terrible. Kept dropping in and out and eventually gave up and went to another resteraunt when we needed internet- the person at the desk said they would get a tech to investigate, however didn't ask for our names or room number so i am unsure how that will be resolved.

The bed was very uncomfortable, they must be years old. You move everytime your partner moves and 2 people sink into the middle.

Shower was either terribly hot or terribly cold.

Room service only gave 2 towels after first night. Nothing to put on the floor to avoid a wet floor. And the staff are not approachable at all and you often feel as though you are interrupting them. So very disappointed with our stay.

Never again.

"Sorry" doesn't replace my holiday

Stayed February 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TennilleandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I needed to stay one night in Miami and ended up choosing The Colony Hotel. Excellent localization: in front of Miami Beach.
No problems with the reception, simple and polite.
My room was on the first floor, so I cannot talk about the elevator.
One block from the hotel there is a big garage building. Nice and cheaper than the hotel valet.
Nice room, big and with a comfortable bed. Just one complain: just above the bed, there is a window with a blind that is not ok, a lot of light pass through it, disturbing the sleep.
Another bad thing is the Wi-Fi signal. Very poor and instable in the room and even in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fmiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Colony hotel in south beach the second weekend in January 2016.

This place is great and exactly what i wanted. The hotel staff is amazing. especially Alex from the front desk. Make sure you ask Alex where to go and what to do if you haven't been to south beach before... and even if you have...ask any way. The people at this hotel actually care about you and want to ensure you have a safe and fun vacation.

I would recommend this hotel and will stay again.

Room Tip: Pay the money and get the ocean view.. its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your recent visit to Jake D, and for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, thanks in part to the excellent service you received from Alex. Alex is indeed a rock star and but one of many who are dedicated to providing an original guest experience in a friendly, attentive and gracious manner. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is right in the middle of the busy art deco district and excellent for getting to see the area.

It looks good from the outside but is very ordinary in he rooms. They are clean and tidy but uninspired

Room Tip: Pay extra and have a room at the front - who cares about the noise - it's Miami
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello there pat c,

Thank you so much for the time you took to share your honest feedback with us, and all of our future guests!! We are indeed in the middle of all the action. We work hard to provide a clean and comfortable environment to all of our guests!! I am glad that is what you experienced!! We wish to have you stay with us again in the future!

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let me start with the good. The hotel is in a great location in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive. Ocean Drive can get crazy noisy at night, almost all night. It is located directly across the street from the beach and in the middle of all of the action. If you are headed to South Beach to party and not sleep this is the hotel for you. However, the rooms towards the back of the hotel are much quieter. This hotel is older so the rooms aren't huge but they are decorated nicely and I found it to be mostly clean. Now on to the unfortunate items. The entire floor we stayed on smelled like marijuana for 2 days straight. I realize that for some folks this might be a bonus but I couldn't get down with the smell and it gave me a headache. We were on the 3rd floor and this hotels elevator was broken. They repeatedly told us that someone was coming soon but I seriously doubted that was going to happen over a weekend and it certainly did not happen while I was there. I did not enjoy having to lug two 50 pound suitcases up and down 3 flights of stairs. The hotel said they have wifi but it didn't work at all while we were there. So you will most likely be able to book this hotel at a reasonable rate but just know what you are possibly signing up for.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirrod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello there Sirrod G,

We appreciate the time you took to share your honest feedback with us, and all of our future guests! Colony Hotel is indeed located in a prime spot here on South Beach! Due to our location it can tend to be a bit more noisy here. We suggest our guests that want more quiet to get one of our rooms towards the back of the hotel. We cannot control what our guests do inside their rooms. If we suspect them doing something illegal we will definitely give them a warning, and if it continues we have to jump to other measures. Our elevator was out but the company came to resolve this, and it's working fine again. We have not had any complaints regarding the WiFi. Perhaps there was an issue with the device you were trying to connect with.

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast Megalopolis
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Colony Hotel is an Art Deco era hotel on Ocean Drive in Miami Beach. We stayed for three nights during the recent Art Deco Festival in January, but were not wildly impressed. Bathroom and bedroom were clean and neat, and the A/C worked well enough. The reception desk clerks were courteous and helpful, for as much as they could do. The flat screen TV worked well, and so did the alarm clock.

Although hotel does have a certain antique charm, such as the brass cage elevator, it also lacks certain amenities, such as a working elevator. We walked up or down the stairs for three days. The hotel did not offer any compensation for this lack of service. Not even a free cup of coffee.

The windows badly needed cleaning, but it probably doesn't matter because only the front rooms have a view of anything besides the concrete block walls of the adjacent building. When I opened the bathroom window to let out the shower steam, the room occupants across the narrow alley waved and introduced themselves.

If you do decide to stay here, be sure and bring earplugs for sleeping, otherwise you will hear every word spoken in the hall and the adjoining rooms. Yep, every single word; and sometimes words are spoken until 0500 in the morning. There are not any chairs or tables in the rooms, so the beds must do for sleeping, lounging, and spreading out your luggage.

The overpriced independent restaurant located in the Colony Hotel lobby and on the front sidewalk did offer a ringside seat to watch the parade wandering past and though the tables, although that probably could be said about every restaurant on Ocean Drive. Amplified music thumps away all evening, so that diners can enjoy shouting their conversation over loudspeakers blaring obscenities and racial epithets during the meal.

Room Tip: earplugs are a necessity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Good Day Mr_Rex,

Our guests feedback means the world to us, and we thank you for sharing it!! I am glad that you were content with the room, bathroom, service that our team provided you with. I apologize that all in all the time you spent with us was not a 5 star one! I will definitely share your comments with the General Manager so that she is aware of this. The restaurant is independently operated, owned and managed. Please forward all of your comments and suggestions directly to them.

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#46 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,936 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#109 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#52 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#154 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#71 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing