We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colony Hotel Restaurant - Food just ok; didn't stay at the Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Save Saved
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Colony Hotel Restaurant - Food just ok; didn't stay at the Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were down in South beach...wanted to find a place for dinner. It was "Art Deco Weekend" and things were crazy. Alot of the Hotels and Restaurants along Ocean Drive extended their dining areas out into the street (since it was closed for the festival).

We had a lot of maître d's out in the street hammering away for our business shouting "20% off everything on the menu", "30% off everything on the menu!".....finally we got snagged by the Colony Hotel gal with "50% off everything on the menu!!!" Fine...sounds like a good deal. The food was ok. Not bad, but nothing to get excited about. The service was ok but uninspired. The men's bathroom looks like it was a converted broom closet...you literally need to duck your head for the low ceiling while peeing.

I had a Cuban Sandwich; not bad.... My wife had soup & salad; just ok.

We didn't say in the hotel but looks like an glamorized American Pensione for Euro Travelers.

Don't get me wrong...I like South Beach....but this meal was nothing to get excited about.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Dave, thank you for the review, since it was not a hotel related review I hope all the other trip advisor members and travelers can distinguish that from the review, we lease out our restaurant space to an outside company so we do not have anything to do with the restaurant on an operational basis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    189
    151
    84
    109
See reviews for
75
225
39
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is a great location to see south beach.
The side walk restaraunts streach a way to both sides and beach is right across the street.
The room was beautiful and comfortable, but a little small.
The staff are friendly and knowledgeable and the tours offered were fabulous.

Room Tip: The front rooms are the only ones that look over south beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you Thomas for the great review, we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay at the property, please come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during the Art Deco festival.

Unfortunately we had already stayed at the Beacon, 2 doors away, and we were hoping for a similarly terrific experience....we were VERY disappointed!!

To be fair, the room was clean and fresh and nicely decorated and furnished. The bathroom was small but clean and functional.

The thing which lets this hotel down completely is the attitude of the dek staff. They are surly, unhelpful, argumentative, borderline agressive, dis-honest and frankly couldn't care less if you have a problem.

The safe in our room did not work. When I reported this to the desk I was given various excuses and, to be frank, lies, as to why that was and what was being done about it. The true answer was nothing and they really didn't care. They just wanted me to go away and stop bothering them. After receiving a 'Guarantee' that the safe would be fixed the next day...guess what....it wasn't fixed! The desk staff did offer that we could staple our passports, cash reserves and other valuables into a manila envelope which they would keep behind the desk...but frankly I wouldn't trust these people with my half empty bottle of inexpensive shampoo let alone my passport and crucial valuables. So we ended up carrying all of our valuables around with us for the entire weekend...thanks guys...your attitude really stinks.

I thoroughly recommend that you do NOT stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Go to the Beacon Hotel, two doors away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest, I'm a little appalled reading this review, there are many things outside of the hotels control but staff is one that is not, please reach out to me: sales@thekenthotel.com or 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001, I would really appreciate if you could inform me of who exactly you dealt with during your stay so that I can make sure no one has a similar experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel whilst on a driving trip around the area. Unfortunately for me I really would not recommend a stay. Whilst the room was adequate, the staff were poorly trained and it runs more like a youth hostel than a hotel.

Overall the standard of the hotel is not worth the money and having also stayed at a neighbouring hotel on the same trip, for the same price,I would suggest reading the reviews on this hotel, and book else where.......location is important but is available for a better standard.....try the Beacon two doors along!!!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Nicky, thank you for your review, I welcome you to contact me at 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001, I would like to speak to you in detail about your stay. I do not want any guest to feel they way you did about staff not being properly trained and I appreciate your feedback on what you think could have been done better so that you would not view us in that way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night, the last night of a festival right on Ocean Drive. We had an ocean view room and it was beautifully furnished. Bonuses: ipod speaker dock, raindrop shower head, HUGE tv, and kind staff. Needed earplugs to sleep and it was a bit humid, but really, if you want fun,excitement, and warm weather, quiet and cool don't mix. Hello!! You're in South Beach!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you Angee for your review, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location to the beach - right across the street. The room was basic, but the WiFi was not working nor was the telephone in our room. The hair dryer did not work. The bed was awful! I wouldn't recomment this to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Wayne, we appreciate your review, but did you advise the Front Desk about the telephone and hair dryer? These are items which we keep new spares in stock to re-supply the rooms should they not work - please reach out to me at your earliest convenience at 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001 - I would like to speak to you about your stay in detail and see what I could do to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed with 2 friends for a week over New Year's Eve. We had 3 rooms. The hotel's location on Ocean Drive opposite the beach is it's main selling point. The rooms are fairly basic given the price and we had issues with the hot water going off (to some rooms) on a couple of occasions. The hotel also seems to operate a bizarre system with regard to laundering the towels. The maids would appear each morning and take all the towels away leaving you with none, not even a hand towel! They would then re-appear several hours later. Not convenient if you return from the beach to find the towels have not been replaced.
Noisy hotel, poor aspects. Only 4 rooms apparently face the ocean.
Friendly staff; good free internet.

Room Tip: All seem much of a muchness but avoid room 101 which is directly behind reception and next to a door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the review - in response to the hot water issue, during late December and January the hotel was having a tough time with it's water heater, for some reason the pilot light would turn off randomly and it would stop warming the water, once the staff was advised they would turn it back on - we understand this can be a big inconvenience and that is why the water heater is being changed out completely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.