We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not stay at his hotel again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Save Saved
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Jard-sur-Mer, France
1 review
“I would not stay at his hotel again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Although the room was not a bad size and nicely decorated, the view from the window was disgusting - we were looking straight at the window of the restaurant next door 6 feet away and also and a rusty ventilator fan (photo attached). We stayed at the hotel for two nights and our bed was never made up properly.

Room Tip: Always request a beach view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Jacqueline, our apologies for the horrible window view, there is unfortunately, not much that we can do since we are in between two other buildings, one being the Johnny Rockets restaurant which seems to be the view you had - any suggestions that you think would have made you stay better are more than welcome - please send them to my attention at sales@thekenthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    181
    148
    81
    109
See reviews for
78
232
40
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Wifi only works in the lobby area. No wifi in our room. It is a big minus for me as wifi was an important option when choosing a hotel. Location is great though! Rooms furnished from IKEA :-D Staff isn't very helpful. Will see if the other shift is better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the review, we are working on making our Wi-Fi network stronger as we have noticed some rooms get a weak signal, in the near future this won't be an issue at all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Commerce Township, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The staff was friendly and immediately made us feel welcome. Harold provided great dining, shopping and other recommendations. The room was modern, clean and offered an amazing ocean view and Jacuzzi hot tub. This hotel is located right in the heart of South Beach and you can access so much. We loved the rental bikes along the beach path!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest thank you for the wonderful review, we hope to have you back real soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, Indiana, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I absolutely love the Colony Hotel! The hotel itself is in a great location, the food service was phenomenal, and the rooms are clean and stylish. But, more than the hotel itself, the staff was amazing. I didn't meet one employee who didn't do all they could to make sure my stay was comfortable. I felt like I had known these people most of my life. The staff went out of their way to get us whatever we needed, suggest places to go, help us with our bags, and just "be there." I expected to have a great time on my vacation with my friends, but I didn't expect to walk away from it with new friends I met at the hotel. That is exactly what happened, especially with the hotel manager, Harold Rondan. His kindness and excellent rapport with his staff and guests is exactly what every hotel needs. If you visit The Colony Hotel, make sure you ask to meet him. Wait! You won't need to. I am sure, without a doubt, you will know exactly who he is before you even read his name tag. Good people are a rarity these days, but Harold and his staff are definitely good people and I will stay there every time I visit Miami Beach!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Shelly, wow thank you for the great review, I'm glad to know that our guests are in good hands with our staff, especially Harold!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The colony hotel was the friendliest hotel i have been to in a long time and I travel often.Will be returning there in February and I can't wait. The rooms are very clean and cute. I recommend the colony hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you Kristi for the wonderful review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Colony Hotel is in a great location! Walking distance to anywhere you'd like to be, and a very cheap cab ride to anyplace outside of the SoBe center, as well as directly across the street to the Lummus park beach access. This is a true boutique hotel, so the room sizes reflect that--but that is expected. It is also older, so it explains a bit of the mechanical issues noted in other reviews--but the hotel staff is on it! They are also very Green there; so between guests they tend to unplug appliances and even turn off the water heater at night to save on energy consumption. But if you happen to fall into the window of when it is shut off and find a cold shower, a 2 second call to the front desk and they turn it on immediately! This place was also spotless; under the beds, in the corners, you name it. I have also never met a friendlier, more helpful or accommodating concierge than Harold. He was always smiling, always patient, always willing to help (be it to carry 5 girls worth of luggage up stairs, or load their luggage for them). He was very honest about clubs to go to and restaurants to eat at--and in no way was he putting other merchants down. He even called us directly when he realized we forgot some of our things, and met us on the curb to load them in for us. A great experience overall--will recommend to anyone in need,and will be the only place I stay at for future South Beach visits.

Room Tip: Room 105 has a recently upgraded bathroom, so it is larger with better lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the great review, my favorite reviews are always the ones that mention how well staff treated our clients, Harold is quite the star at our property and I am not surprised at all about your comments regarding him, i'm happy to hear you had a wonderful stay and I hope you visit us once again (also being quite educated in the Art Deco architecture and history of the buildings in South Beach is always a plus!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Location is the best part of this hotel. We stayed with a group, some encountered roaches. The power in our room went out twice because of the iron and hair dryer use while the AC unit was on. While there is an ice bucket in the room, there was no ice machine; I had to go outside to the side alley to get ice. The concierge was only friendly after what felt like pulling teeth to make them friendly. The front was being renovated and we had to use the side alley door and were not notified of renovations prior to check-in. You want a cheap stay and don't have high standards, go ahead and stay here, if not there are plenty of other hotels on the strip to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest, I have to say that I'm very surprised to read your review, we closed down the hotel for 3 days in early November to fumigate with a tarp, as most hotels with numerous restaurants nearby must do every other year to limit any pest issues, so reading that your friends spotted a roach was quite disappointing. For all Tripadvisors members, I would like to comment on the power issue of your room since it is something that happens at our other properties as well (we have 3 in South Beach) - if you plug in a hair dryer into the same outlet as an A/C unit you will most likely trip a breaker, causing a temporary short in the room - since our A/C's are window units they pull a lot of power, a hair dryer also pulls quite a bit of juice and when you combine those two in the same outlet you can almost guarantee a short (just a useful tip for travelers out there)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.