We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Miami-Experience hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Miami-Experience hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Colony Hotel is in a great location! Walking distance to anywhere you'd like to be, and a very cheap cab ride to anyplace outside of the SoBe center, as well as directly across the street to the Lummus park beach access. This is a true boutique hotel, so the room sizes reflect that--but that is expected. It is also older, so it explains a bit of the mechanical issues noted in other reviews--but the hotel staff is on it! They are also very Green there; so between guests they tend to unplug appliances and even turn off the water heater at night to save on energy consumption. But if you happen to fall into the window of when it is shut off and find a cold shower, a 2 second call to the front desk and they turn it on immediately! This place was also spotless; under the beds, in the corners, you name it. I have also never met a friendlier, more helpful or accommodating concierge than Harold. He was always smiling, always patient, always willing to help (be it to carry 5 girls worth of luggage up stairs, or load their luggage for them). He was very honest about clubs to go to and restaurants to eat at--and in no way was he putting other merchants down. He even called us directly when he realized we forgot some of our things, and met us on the curb to load them in for us. A great experience overall--will recommend to anyone in need,and will be the only place I stay at for future South Beach visits.

Room Tip: Room 105 has a recently upgraded bathroom, so it is larger with better lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the great review, my favorite reviews are always the ones that mention how well staff treated our clients, Harold is quite the star at our property and I am not surprised at all about your comments regarding him, i'm happy to hear you had a wonderful stay and I hope you visit us once again (also being quite educated in the Art Deco architecture and history of the buildings in South Beach is always a plus!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    216
    196
    103
    129
See reviews for
112
287
51
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Location is the best part of this hotel. We stayed with a group, some encountered roaches. The power in our room went out twice because of the iron and hair dryer use while the AC unit was on. While there is an ice bucket in the room, there was no ice machine; I had to go outside to the side alley to get ice. The concierge was only friendly after what felt like pulling teeth to make them friendly. The front was being renovated and we had to use the side alley door and were not notified of renovations prior to check-in. You want a cheap stay and don't have high standards, go ahead and stay here, if not there are plenty of other hotels on the strip to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest, I have to say that I'm very surprised to read your review, we closed down the hotel for 3 days in early November to fumigate with a tarp, as most hotels with numerous restaurants nearby must do every other year to limit any pest issues, so reading that your friends spotted a roach was quite disappointing. For all Tripadvisors members, I would like to comment on the power issue of your room since it is something that happens at our other properties as well (we have 3 in South Beach) - if you plug in a hair dryer into the same outlet as an A/C unit you will most likely trip a breaker, causing a temporary short in the room - since our A/C's are window units they pull a lot of power, a hair dryer also pulls quite a bit of juice and when you combine those two in the same outlet you can almost guarantee a short (just a useful tip for travelers out there)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Location is right on strip center next to Wet Willys ...beach across the road. Desk personnal were great very helpful and accomodating. If you want a room to just sleep and get up and be out all day than this is the place. My experience was great overall cleaniness was to par. They were renovating the hotel front appearence so we had to use side entrance. Its not a 5 star Hotel. You want to party and get a cheap price for being on strip than this is the spot.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Michie, thank you for the positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Colony Hotel on Ocean Drive is a perfect location for visiting Miami Beach. You have access to all the resturants, clothing shoppes, nightlife, and not to mention you are steps away from the beach. The Hotel has its own resturant downstairs, friendly low-key bar as well as an ATM machine in the lobby. The Hotel room is very clean and comfortable. Regarding the customer service they get an A-plus because Carlos (front desk professional) was on top of everything. He checked people in quickly, explained the hotel processes, and shared information about the surrounding area for your convenience as well as the great places to visit while in Miami Beach. The Colony from the outside gives you like old-theater type of look which could use a re-touch up from a visual standpoint and the elevator doesn't hold a lot of people. Other than those two things noted I would most certainly stay at the Colony Hotel again. Overall, I really enjoyed my weekend at this hotel.

Room Tip: please choose a room on the backside of the hotel if you want to be less engaged regarding the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the wonderful review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

It's in the good ART DECO section of South Beach so not like the area where the big modern hotels are. We liked it. Rooms are old fashioned but clean and comfy. A safe is provided but no tea/coffee facilities which is a shame and coffee is not available until breakfast starts at about 9am. Albert, on the front desk is great as are the bar staff. Food is nice,, drinks are good but not cheap. Cleaning of the room was ok, we had to ask for toilet paper and limited towels but ok. we stayed in a room at the back. Oh man, soooo noisy most mornings, not the hotels fault, rubbish removers and noisy neighbors but we were woken very early most days, shame because the location on the beach is lovely. Free wifi but it wouldn't work on the 3rd floor in our room nor outside on the sidewalk but ok, in the bar area. If you stay, ask for a room that isn't at the rear.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the great review, we do concede that sometimes the trash pickup can be noisy, especially since there are numerous restaurants nearby and tons of bottles are disposed of daily, due to the great nightlife in South Beach we tend to have a good portion of our clientele consist of a younger sometimes noisy crowd which does not put much emphasis on how their actions affect those around them, for that we apologize, but we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and liked at our property, please visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed from the 3rd November to 5th 2012 On arrival i was shocked by the dated interior. Seeing my room for some reason i had too check the bed because something wasn't right. To my disgust i found hair (Pubic) and body hair in the bed.
The last time i came across this was in a hotel in tripoli, Libya some 20 years ago.
This hotel is disgusting and you can hear doors banging at night from other guests. The staff showed concern but were very evasive when I asked who owned the hotel. I dind't even see the manager after my incident, i presume he was adamant on avoiding me.

I cant say i saw anyone eating at the hotel either. It would seem the hotel has one thing going for it and thats its location. Be warned stay away from here.
Truly a nightmare, lucky i was only booked in for 2 nights.

Room Tip: if you really have to stay here, then get a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest, I'm sorry to hear about your experience at the property, I'm perplexed about your comment regarding the "dated" interior since most of the decor and furniture in the hotel is less than a few years old - also, I understand you are upset at finding a hair on your bed, and for that we apologize, but it is more likely that the hair could have been from the housekeeper who tended the room than a previous guest since linens are changed out daily. If you would like to speak to management please feel free to call me at 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001, I assure you no one is avoiding speaking to you, I would be more than happy to address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

The first thing we noticed as we arrive, was the horrible smell in the room...

The beds are small for two people, so if you are coming as a couple you might have to sleep in different beds, also the matress are uncomfortable and old...if you have back issues you're gonna suffer!!

The curtains didn't work properly so when the sun comes out your sleep is over...

One day we return from our day tour and the room wasn't made at all!! It was exactly as we leave it in the morning...
I try to speak to the manager for two days,when I could, it turns out that it was really rude and disrespectful...and didn't even say sorry about the inconvenience...

SO, IF YOU WANT TO BE AT OCEAN DRIVE FIND ANOTHER OPTION!! THEY ARE PLENTY OF THEM!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Diego, let me first apologize about your experience at the property, and I encourage you to contact me at 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001 to speak to you in person and gather the details of your stay, I would like the opportunity to win your business/trust back, I would to mention that our bed setups at the hotel consist of a Queen or King bed in a single bed room, and two Full size beds in our double bed rooms, that is the same setup you have in the majority of hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#102 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
0.0 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#156 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kent Hotel
Kent Hotel
#131 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#33 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#50 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#64 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.