We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to be on Ocean drive, find another hotel !! Not this one!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Save Saved
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you want to be on Ocean drive, find another hotel !! Not this one!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The first thing we noticed as we arrive, was the horrible smell in the room...

The beds are small for two people, so if you are coming as a couple you might have to sleep in different beds, also the matress are uncomfortable and old...if you have back issues you're gonna suffer!!

The curtains didn't work properly so when the sun comes out your sleep is over...

One day we return from our day tour and the room wasn't made at all!! It was exactly as we leave it in the morning...
I try to speak to the manager for two days,when I could, it turns out that it was really rude and disrespectful...and didn't even say sorry about the inconvenience...

SO, IF YOU WANT TO BE AT OCEAN DRIVE FIND ANOTHER OPTION!! THEY ARE PLENTY OF THEM!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Diego, let me first apologize about your experience at the property, and I encourage you to contact me at 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001 to speak to you in person and gather the details of your stay, I would like the opportunity to win your business/trust back, I would to mention that our bed setups at the hotel consist of a Queen or King bed in a single bed room, and two Full size beds in our double bed rooms, that is the same setup you have in the majority of hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    190
    152
    84
    110
See reviews for
75
225
40
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Looks like this hotel is in the process of being freshened up. A very very clean hotel with decent facilities, the staff are mostly friendly and helpful, especially the house-keeping staff. It's in the middle of the famous South Beach 'Deco Walk' and you can not fault this hotel for it's location being across the road from the beach. Plenty of decent, if somewhat expensive, restaurants right on the door step along with plenty of nightlife and touristy shopping. The bathrooms are a little small but this is how it is with most hotels built in the 20's era and the air-con is very noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor middle to back of hotel to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I recently stayed at the Colony Hotel for a bachlorette party. I absolutely loved it!!! The location is perfect. The night scene is amazing. The food was good. The drinks were better. The sunrises are picturesque and the staff was so helpful and fun. Especially the front desk manager Harold. He made our stay awesome. He always had fun and great recommendations for us for restaurants, bars and clubs. 10/10 each time. #SouthBeach #ColonyHotel #askforHarold
Me and the bridesmaids would so do it again. Maybe a #weekend getaway for the girls :)

Cheers!

Room Tip: Get a beachfront room. The sunrises are amazing and you can watch the day and night life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Lorena thank you for the awesome review! We are very happy to hear you and your party enjoyed your stay at our property! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The loation is wonderful. Direct access to South Beach events, great food, dancing, and drinks!!!!!
The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly with servce requests and providing valuable information about nearby attractions. Thanks Raphael and Harold!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for great review, once again the staff at the hotel seems to make a big difference for the experience that is received, we will pass on our commendations to them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanberis, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Basic hotel, but o.k. for what we needed, which was somewhere to sleep really, as we weren't in the room that much. Too much to see and do. Brilliant location, right in the middle of Ocean Drive, just step out of the front door to experience the nightlife, and close to the cafes and beach. On the minus side, the shower area wasn't very clean, a bit dark in the room and very noisy slamming of doors in the corridor. (You had to slam the bedroom door for it to close properly)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest thank you for your review, we apologize if the slamming of doors by other occupants was too much to bear, we hope that it will not reflect too negatively in your eyes on the property itself and look forward to providing you with lodging should you ever be back in Miami Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIDCUP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The 1st room we were given had no a/c working and no door on safe as if it had been broken into as i wanted a safe to put money and passports etc we asked to move we were given the room next door which looked better but on entering we found this to be the same, safe had a door but could not be locked a/c only blew warm air no man to fix it, no other rooms available, so we had to put up with it, Day two we returned to our room to find fire alarm going off when told all they done was pulled the alarm off the ceiling and left us to sweat away..Glad to move on,,, also beware of valet charges which are 24 dollars per night BIG CON but they all do it,,,
probably better suited to backpackers as it reminded me of a Y,M.C.A.

Room Tip: Sadly they all look the same, try elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest, I'm sorry to read about your experience at the property, I would urge you to reach out to me via email (sales@thekenthotel.com) or via phone 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001 to speak in detail about your stay. I cannot fathom why a safe would not have a "door" to it much less why it wouldn't be able to close, or why a functioning A/C would be left in a room..please contact me at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Colony has a great location, right in the heart of South Beach with plenty of nightlife around and the beach just across the street. The rooms are fresh, clean and functional, though nothing outstanding and they do have some noise issues. For the price paid though, the accommodation is pretty good value considering the location. The staff were generally friendly and helpful, especially the guys in the small lobby bar. Some of the front desk staff could do with some enthusiasm though. The male staff member working on the morning of 19th September really shouldn't be in the hospitality industry - I witnessed the most appalling complaint handling I have ever seen, a young South American couple were asking to change rooms (not an unreasonable request) and his response was something like "I really don't believe your reason for wanting to change rooms, I've worked here long enough to know when a guest is lying". That was my final impression of the hotel as I was checking out, so I guess it might have tainted my view of it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for the informative review, management will definitely look into this incident as it is not what we expect from our staff nor will it be condoned, no one should be responded to in that manner regardless of the nature of their complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.