We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The loation is wonderful. Direct access to South Beach events, great food, dancing, and drinks!!!!!
The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly with servce requests and providing valuable information about nearby attractions. Thanks Raphael and Harold!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for great review, once again the staff at the hotel seems to make a big difference for the experience that is received, we will pass on our commendations to them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    197
    172
    88
    116
See reviews for
92
254
46
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llanberis, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Basic hotel, but o.k. for what we needed, which was somewhere to sleep really, as we weren't in the room that much. Too much to see and do. Brilliant location, right in the middle of Ocean Drive, just step out of the front door to experience the nightlife, and close to the cafes and beach. On the minus side, the shower area wasn't very clean, a bit dark in the room and very noisy slamming of doors in the corridor. (You had to slam the bedroom door for it to close properly)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest thank you for your review, we apologize if the slamming of doors by other occupants was too much to bear, we hope that it will not reflect too negatively in your eyes on the property itself and look forward to providing you with lodging should you ever be back in Miami Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIDCUP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The 1st room we were given had no a/c working and no door on safe as if it had been broken into as i wanted a safe to put money and passports etc we asked to move we were given the room next door which looked better but on entering we found this to be the same, safe had a door but could not be locked a/c only blew warm air no man to fix it, no other rooms available, so we had to put up with it, Day two we returned to our room to find fire alarm going off when told all they done was pulled the alarm off the ceiling and left us to sweat away..Glad to move on,,, also beware of valet charges which are 24 dollars per night BIG CON but they all do it,,,
probably better suited to backpackers as it reminded me of a Y,M.C.A.

Room Tip: Sadly they all look the same, try elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest, I'm sorry to read about your experience at the property, I would urge you to reach out to me via email (sales@thekenthotel.com) or via phone 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001 to speak in detail about your stay. I cannot fathom why a safe would not have a "door" to it much less why it wouldn't be able to close, or why a functioning A/C would be left in a room..please contact me at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Colony has a great location, right in the heart of South Beach with plenty of nightlife around and the beach just across the street. The rooms are fresh, clean and functional, though nothing outstanding and they do have some noise issues. For the price paid though, the accommodation is pretty good value considering the location. The staff were generally friendly and helpful, especially the guys in the small lobby bar. Some of the front desk staff could do with some enthusiasm though. The male staff member working on the morning of 19th September really shouldn't be in the hospitality industry - I witnessed the most appalling complaint handling I have ever seen, a young South American couple were asking to change rooms (not an unreasonable request) and his response was something like "I really don't believe your reason for wanting to change rooms, I've worked here long enough to know when a guest is lying". That was my final impression of the hotel as I was checking out, so I guess it might have tainted my view of it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for the informative review, management will definitely look into this incident as it is not what we expect from our staff nor will it be condoned, no one should be responded to in that manner regardless of the nature of their complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

YOU CAN'T GO WRONG!!!!! Weve been away from the colony and miami for 2 weeks now, and my heart still yearns for it... I can't beleive this place has had negative feedback, Your on Ocean drive and its priced way under other hotels on the strip... And don't get me started on the service. Alberto received us on the first day, and didn't stop showing us an amazing standard of service though out the rest of our vacation , He even took care of us one night after too many cocktails. Lol. They say " ask us for anything ". And they mean it!!

Ryan and Sarah NS Canada

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Ryan and Sarah, thank you for the wonderful review, it never tires to read that staff was one of the memorable experiences of a guests trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights after a Caribbean cruise. Hotel was recommended by ship staff. Location awesome on Beach Road. Beds were terrible.... squeaked with every move we made. Very strong smell in reception area when we arrived of some or other cleaning solution, was rather offputting. Never used bar or restaurant, better ones next door with better vibe. News Cafe a block or so away, open 24/7 - good food.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for the good review, please contact me at sales@thekenthotel.com, I would like to know which room you stayed in, this way we can look into the creaky bed and see if we can correct that issue or if it's time to purchase a new one, looking forward to speaking to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I've stayed in many hotels but this particular one is amazing. I was being helped immediatly with great customer service. The staff, was being very attentive. The hotel was clean. Harold the manager is the best! he made sure we were taking care of, also there is another gentleman name Albert which was great too. I plan to come again I totally recomend it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for the wonderful review, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the property and we hope you come visit us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.