We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colony Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Save Saved
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Bronx, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Colony Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Colony Hotel was very nice and located directly across from the beach. Also, Wet Willie's is on the corner of the block!!!!!!!! The room was VERY, VERY nice and clean. Amazingly, it was quiet. I would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for the wonderful review, surprised to hear that Ocean Drive was quiet as that is a comment not usually associated with that street since it is the liveliest area in South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    181
    150
    81
    111
See reviews for
78
234
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last winter and loved it. The location is amazing. Its right in the middle of all the action of South Beach, the ocean is right across the street and its walking distance to great shopping. Do not eat in the restaurant because the food is awful. I’m not talking sort of bad, I mean inedible and disgusting. Someone on the hotel staff told me they water down the booze so I only ordered beers. There are plenty of places in walking distance though, although aside from a few cool small ethnic places there isn’t much good dining in South Beach that I found, there are plenty of other places in the city to go when you’re looking for dining. South Beach is for partying and if that's what you want to do the Colony is clean, prices are reasonable, decor is minimalist but nice and you can't beat the location. You can walk to plenty of fun bars and clubs so you don’t need a car or have to worry about driving. The staff was really nice, very accommodating and pleasant. The plumbing is a little slow but it’s an old building so you have to expect these things. If you’re looking for modern plumbing then you should stay at a chain hotel inland. South Beach is all about cool, old, art deco hotels and partying. The Colony is a South Beach icon. It’s on so many post cards and other souvenirs you’ll have plenty of memories of your stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you Kathleen for the wonderful review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. The restaurant on site is not owned nor operated by the hotel so we cannot comment on their practices, many people differ on their opinions about the restaurants in Ocean Drive, there are many to choose from and lots of variety but they are a bit overpriced, we urge all guests to try all of their options while dining in South Beach and do not stick to a particular street (ie. Ocean Drive)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The colony is the swankiest hotel to stay at on South Beach....Harold the manager is amazing treated us so good....went out of his way to make our stay amazing....the rooms are awesome and perfect location!!!!! Love Harold!!!!
will be back in August can't wait....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you Joanna for the great review and your acknowledgements of Harold! He is a key member to our team and the numerous reviews praising his service vouch for his work ethic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I found this hotel before a business trip to Miami. Great price for what is offered, very good accommodations and a prime location in the South Beach Area, very close to the beach. Front desk manager was more than helpful with suggestions for things to do. Will definitely stay here again on my next trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you Jon for your great review it is veru much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great location!!! This hotel is in great condition for the old building it is, very nicely done and furnished. the only situation with this and all the hotels in MIAMI is parking. The only option is "valet parking" about $25 dollars per day and you will wait approximately ONE HOUR for the car.

Room Tip: The elevator did not work all my days I stayed so if you do not want to go up and down stairs stay i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for the review, it seems that you might have stayed on the same weekend as the previous reviewer, since the elevator and parking was an issue for both of you. With regards to parking, you are completely correct, there are not many options on South Beach, and if you need your car at night on a weekend it would be best to call for it a half hour or more ahead of time since Ocean Drive can become bumper to bumper traffic very quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is in the perfect location of 8th and Ocean Dr. in South Beach. I read that it is the most photographed hotel in south beach. It is overlooking the beach, and within walking distance to so many great restaurants, bars, and shops. We got a great deal on this hotel, which was also a bonus. However, I can't give this hotel 5 points because of a couple reasons. The rooms are small, but that is to be expected of the old hotels in the art deco district. The elevator was out of service the entire weekend we were there. When we checked in, they told us it would be fixed in 2 hours, and we realized that is what they were telling everyone all weekend. If you bring a lot of heavy luggage, just be prepared to carry it up and down the stairs yourself. The shower in this hotel was one of the worst. It was a rain shower, but it was the slowest, lightest, trickle of water coming from directly overhead, that it was very difficult to rinse off completely. We called the front desk to get extra towels twice, but never received any. Plus there was only the option for hot water in the shower, so if you wanted to turn on the cold faucet, one did not exist. Although the hotel offers valet, which is very convenient because parking is hard to find, it took the valets about an hour to retrieve our car, when they told us it would only take 20 minutes. The shower and the valet cut into our valuable travel time, but otherwise a great location and affordable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for the review. I would like to respond to some of your concerns, regarding the elevator there is not much that can be done, we are at the mercy of the elevator company should something need to be fixed, should the elevator go down in the weekend parts and service are much harder to attain as well, we do have a houseman on site most of the day that could help guests with luggage should this occur. Regarding the shower I'm very surprised about the complaint, the rain shower head is one of the most liked items about our rooms, there is obviously a cold setting to the shower, and I'm surprised to read about your issue with it, the shower pressure I can't reply to since I'm not aware of the room or date regarding your stay. Valet Parking can be very furstrating on Ocean Drive, we always advice guests to call them a half hour ahead of time especially on the weekend at night when Ocean Drive traffic turns into bumper to bumper headaches. I urge you to please contact me at sales@thekenthotel.com when you have a chance so we can speak in detail about your stay. Thank you once again for your review and thoughts on our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Great place, good helpful people, location perfect. I can not wait to go back, I hope who reads my review will go there. Just steps from the sea. sand and happyness. oceon drive is alive at night, great for the young who like the night life. See you there every one. Lorraine Schneider.

Room Tip: Ground room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you Lorraine for the great review, we hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#123 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.