We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely photo opportunity from outside just don't step foot in the door!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Colony Hotel to your Saves list
The Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Lovely photo opportunity from outside just don't step foot in the door!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

What a let down! Always wanted to stay centrally on South Beach so booked this hotel - omg what a mistake from stepping out of the taxi from the airport we walked into a nasty argument on the steps of the hotel about an over priced bill by the restaurant out front (although separately run they rule inside the lobby as well as the outside) meaning we were unable to gain entry into the lobby until the altercation was finished - oh by the way it wasn't the only one we witnessed during our week long stay some almost resulting in punches thrown by the "Italian bouncers" that were employed there!!!
On eventually checking in the lift was out of order & the corridors & room smelled damp!!! The room safe was locked & took 3 days persistently asking for it to be reset before we could use it, we had 6 towels - great you may think - no they had to last our stay with the maid gradually taking them away and not replacing them so we were left with 1 each!!!!
The staff give a good impression of wanting to help but always fail to deliver!!!! Even on our final day leaving our luggage in a locked (NOT) room we came back to reception to find another guest moving our luggage out of the safe room!!!! We were glad to get out of the hotel & will never return the whole place is a nitemare- best advice choose another hotel.......

Room Tip: Don't stay here choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Horrible place ...only good thing is it's on the strip ..... Service sucks very rude, no towels house keeping is only there for a small period of time after they leave you are out of luck. Only stay here if you have no plans of being in your room or taking a shower...

Stayed February 2016, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It is right on the strip and when you choose a back-side room also quite. My room was renovated, clean and all ok. The reception and corridor looks old, so the elevator.
There is no breakfast and the restaurant/bar at the hotel is not related to them - and it is ripp-off: 12$ for a beer!
Overall good and ok but nothing impressive. For one night right ok.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello there arne w,

We would like to thank you for the time you took to share your honest feedback with us, and all of our future guests!! We are indeed located on the strip of Ocean Drive. Everything you will want to be apart of it right around the corner from us. Unfortunately breakfast is not included. There are many restaurants around us that serve delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner items. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team.

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel is only good for location. It's right across from the beach and shops are in walking distance. If you're driving and need to park, the valet is$25 and they park your car 7 blocks away. There's a parking garage around the corner that's$20 a day but it's $1 per hour I think. Very expensive I know. The rooms are super small and old and too expensive for the service they give. They smell like mildew and the shower leaves water all over the floor. You can't close the bathroom door while you're on the toilet. That's how small the bathroom is. The hotel ran out of towels for 2 days and gave us a beach towel to shower with and said that's all they had. It's hot outside and you're coming in from the beach but you have no towel to shower with. The front desk guy had the worst attitude. He kept lying saying that the towels were in the washer and that they would be done when we came back from the beach. When we came back he said that housekeeping was gone for the day and didn't check with them on the status of the towels and that the linen room was locked and they didn't have a key. I will never stay at the Colony hotel again. And also the strip is so congested and the host from the different restaurants located outside of each hotel run up to you and all you to eat there. They look like beggars. Some of them are so aggressive that they won't even let you get by. My trip would have been alot better if I had chosen a different hotel. I'll never stay with the Colony again or refer anyone to stay in that piece of crap hotel.

Stayed February 2016, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Constance A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austallia, Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Not worth your time - try somewhere else. The colony doesn't try to impress its guests with comfort and cleanliness they apparently rely on the amazing location of the hotel.

Arrived at the Hotel around 5pm to check in. Whoever the guy at the desk was ignored us for about a minute whilst he was on the computer and when we were finally addressed it was with one or two word sentences such as "credit card" and "ID" then "room no." We got into the lift which had its most recent service record as "2013" expiring in "2014" I am sure, well at least I hope, there has been a more recent service but its still a bit disheartening.

Was given a room at the back of the hotel as it was "quiet". This room was terribly loud from road noise and other businesses, and people in general talking/screaming loudly, we couldnt sleep in past 7am. Not within the hotel's control but still disappointing for what was supposed to be the relaxing part of our holiday.

The wifi was terrible. Kept dropping in and out and eventually gave up and went to another resteraunt when we needed internet- the person at the desk said they would get a tech to investigate, however didn't ask for our names or room number so i am unsure how that will be resolved.

The bed was very uncomfortable, they must be years old. You move everytime your partner moves and 2 people sink into the middle.

Shower was either terribly hot or terribly cold.

Room service only gave 2 towels after first night. Nothing to put on the floor to avoid a wet floor. And the staff are not approachable at all and you often feel as though you are interrupting them. So very disappointed with our stay.

Never again.

"Sorry" doesn't replace my holiday

Stayed February 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TennilleandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I needed to stay one night in Miami and ended up choosing The Colony Hotel. Excellent localization: in front of Miami Beach.
No problems with the reception, simple and polite.
My room was on the first floor, so I cannot talk about the elevator.
One block from the hotel there is a big garage building. Nice and cheaper than the hotel valet.
Nice room, big and with a comfortable bed. Just one complain: just above the bed, there is a window with a blind that is not ok, a lot of light pass through it, disturbing the sleep.
Another bad thing is the Wi-Fi signal. Very poor and instable in the room and even in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fmiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello there Fmiri,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us, regarding your recent experience here at Colony Hotel! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the time you spent with us!! From the location, to the room, to the bed. I am sorry that you were inconvenienced by the window above the bed, along with the WiFi. I wish that you were aware of this while you were in house. We would have moved you to another room. Perhaps there was an issue with the device that you were trying to connect with. We have not had any complaints about the WiFi. If this was brought to our attention we could have tried to resolve this.

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Colony hotel in south beach the second weekend in January 2016.

This place is great and exactly what i wanted. The hotel staff is amazing. especially Alex from the front desk. Make sure you ask Alex where to go and what to do if you haven't been to south beach before... and even if you have...ask any way. The people at this hotel actually care about you and want to ensure you have a safe and fun vacation.

I would recommend this hotel and will stay again.

Room Tip: Pay the money and get the ocean view.. its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your recent visit to Jake D, and for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, thanks in part to the excellent service you received from Alex. Alex is indeed a rock star and but one of many who are dedicated to providing an original guest experience in a friendly, attentive and gracious manner. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#47 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,940 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#108 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#52 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#152 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#71 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing