We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harold Antonio Rondan-mena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Newark, Delaware
1 review
“Harold Antonio Rondan-mena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

The colony was a great place & I absolutely loved the services! Harold who worked at the front desk was of great service and a pleasure to be around. I had so much fun staying there and chatting with him, he truly completes the hotel as far as personality, professionalism, & services!!! I hope to see him in future trips!

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    199
    181
    91
    118
See reviews for
95
262
47
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

My friends and I stayed at colony hotel and as soon as we got there we met Harold who works at the front desk. He was so pleasant and helpful and from the beginning he made our vacation more fun!...There was a problem with our room and he took care of it very quickly, he was always there to help. The hotel itself was whatever; you should know what to expect from any miami beach hotel (small rooms, small bathrooms, etc etc) it is what it is. All you do is sleep there so for the price it is pretty good. But honestly, if anyone has any problems or issues just ask Harold, he will take care of it right away. He is an asset to Colony hotel!

Room Tip: ask for harold
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights 2nd-5th May. Was pleasantly suprised when we got to our room as I had read some very mixed reviews! The room wasnt huge but had 2x double beds and a small shower room. The only criticism about the rooms were that the beds were really creaky and the shower took about 15 minutes to heat up! Also the window did leak when it rained but I guess on an old building and a normally dry city it explains it! The reception staff always seemed very polite and helpful and gave us beach towels to use. We didn't try the food at the hotel but from the menu seemed to be reasonably priced. Overall for the money you pay (we paid about £50 a night) it is a good hotel in a great location! I believe you have to pay for parking but we got a taxi from the airport so this didn't affect us!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I was in the room 104 the room have a good comfort,the housekeeping are professionals they do their work with a lot of love.The only thing that i didn't like was the way the treat the front desk (Fernando). He doesn't have the condition for this position.He is always mad and treat guest bad.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed there Dec 2009, great bar staff!!! Spent many nights on the outdoor bar by the Oceandrive enjoying fabulous drinks and service, thanks to Carlos! Cool staff also inside bar! Great location to explore SoBe.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

As we were travelling to Miami with children and only staying 2 nights, we wanted to be in a good location but obviously wanted a good price and for it to be relatively child friendly. This isnt as easy as it sounds !! Anyway the reviews of most hotels on South Beach were hit and miss so it was with trepidation that we booked the Colony. We arrived quite late on Thursday 14th April and from start to finish had a great experience at the hotel.! I would highly recommend this hotel if you want somewhere thats good value, with a great location. There is no pool or spa but quite frankly if you want these things I dont understand why you want to stay on Ocean Drive. The hotel is directly across from the street and slap bang in the centre of restaurants and bars etc. We didnt bother the hotel for much, but anything we did ask for was dealt with in a friendly and efficient way. Beach towels are provided for the beach, they helped with car hire enquiries and staff chatted to us out on the street when we bumped into them. I dont know how anyone can say the staff are not friendly ! but then I guess everyone is looking for something different. The lift is small and quirky but this is what I expected and to a 5 and 6 yr old it was the best thing ever, sleeping is always odd in hotels and there was a little noise but this is mandatory with south beach! The hotel is iconic and it appears in every picture of south beach, I am very happy I stayed there and I would definitely stay in this hotel again if we ever travel back that way .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sky Lake, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I checked in April 2 and extended my original 1 week trip, for an extra three days.. I enjoyed the scenery and the customer service was unreal. I gentleman by the name of Harold provided excellent and exceptionable service. If you have any problems, be sure to ask for him. I will plan on staying here again the next time I am in Miami.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.