We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun vibe, too loud !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clevelander Hotel to your Saves list
Clevelander Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Fun vibe, too loud !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great location in South Beach, with ocean views. Huge frenetic patio. Pricey. But way too loud !
Nice room.
Music goes to 4:20am, every night, and we had earplugs.
Seems to be biggest outdoor patio, so always busy.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the patio bar are VERY, VERY loud until 4:20am !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Clevelander Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello Maryanne,

Thank you for your feedback of the Clevelander. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the gorgeous views of South Beach by staying with us. Also, we are thrilled to hear that our patio and location was so enjoyable. We are sorry to hear that the noise bothered you. On your next visit to Miami, please consider our sister property, the Essex House. We look forward to your visit with us again!

Best,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    215
    75
    27
    41
See reviews for
25
211
35
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I will start off by saying the location was great as it was right on Ocean Drive and a 1 min walk to the beach. The staff were very friendly and always accommodated our needs with extra towels when we asked. The food and drinks are expensive unless you decide to eat there during happy hour than you're good. It is always a party there and the music does play all day until around 4am so if noise bothers you when you're sleeping you may want to stay elsewhere! The elevator is very very slow and there is only one so at night when the roof top club is open - you will have trouble getting on the elevator to get to your room (so be prepared to take the stairs)! One last thing about the rooms - the bathroom door is a crystal blue sliding door and you can see through it!
It is about a 20 min walk from Lincoln Road Mall and about a 5 min walk to Starbucks.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool will always be noisy - from 11am until 4am music is played.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Clevelander Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello Aubree,

Thank you for your feedback. Your thoughts are of importance for us. We are very glad to hear that our staff was friendly. We are sorry to hear that the noise and the elevator situation caused problems. We do our best to ensure hotel guests get first priority with our elevators. Good customer service is a top priority here at the Clevelander. Thus, these issues will be addressed with our team, so that we can fix them. Again, thank you for your review of the Clevelander South Beach. We hope you will visit us again!

Regards,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Clevelander on Ocean Boulevard is a really lively place that almost seduces you to join the party when you walk past! There is always a party atmosphere going on in the Courtyard, and everyone there is up for it.
We were walking past last Friday afternoon, and there was a D-J banging out tunes of the moment, lots of people grouped round the various bars, and everything and everyone looked great! I looked at the cocktail menu and decided to have a bottle of Pino Grigio listed at $26, which I thought wasn't a bad price, but then it was 4 pm on a Friday afternoon, which is part of their "Happy Hour". I had decided that we wouldn't eat here, preferring the more sedate ******* in which to spend my penultimate dinner in Miami! The food flying past did look pretty good for bar food, and everyone was clearing their plate.
What did annoy me, was when I asked for the tab. The Pino Grigio I had ordered had been substituted by a $42 bottle of Pino Grigio, and whilst it was a pretty decent bottle of wine, the fact I considered that I had been "ripped off", spoilt the whole experience for me.
My advice to anyone indulging in an afternoon of cocktails and/wine, no matter where they are in Miami, is to confirm the prices with the waiter. In doing so, you will satisfy for yourself early on, exactly what you are likely to be paying. Other than that, I highly recommend the place. don't be taken in though by the waiting staff's apparent difficulty with the language. It only occurs when there is a problem, and in my experience, most waiters in Miami, are (a) Highly professional and (b) multi-lingual.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Clevelander Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello George,

Thank you for your review of the Clevelander South Beach. We value our customers and you feedback is greatly appreciated. We are very happy to hear that you found the Clevelander to be such a lively and enjoyable place! On the other hand, we apologize for any inconvenience with the bottle pricing. This issue will be addressed with our team to make certain that it does not happen again. Thank you for recommending the Clevelander to others. We look forward to you visit you again soon!

Regards,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, WI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We went for a long weekend with several of our friends. It was exactly what we were looking for a good party! Service was excellent, Chad was very helpful and friendly offering to arrange rides to and from the airport and even order us a bottle for our room. There was always something going on at the hotel. Would definetly return to the Clevelander.

Room Tip: If you are looking for sleep request a room not overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at The Clevelander with my best friend for our 30th....it was exactly what we needed with the party atmosphere.
1. Staff were friendly and professional especially Domingo and Chad. Chad was able to set up bottle service for us at a local club for a pretty good deal. He even sent a complimentary bottle to our room when he found out that we were in town for our birthday.
2. DJ was on point all weekend playing top 40 hits.
3. Their daily happy hour was quite cheap compared to the prices in South Beach.
4. I recommend the ocean view rooms because they are bigger; I had the pool view room which was on the smaller side but ok for 2 people. Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis.
5. If you are looking to stay here for a quiet weekend, I definitely do not recommend it! This is truly party central and it worked out perfectly for my 30th.

Room Tip: If you need lots of space, I recommend the ocean view rooms! My friends booked that room and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend arrived at The hotel After 5 days in new York in search of good weather and fun. Since the initial minute the staff treat us very very good. The bar is awesome, The rooms are Well designed and quiet (that Was very surprising taking in considertion that the music is really loud at the Bar) , you can also use the pool in the essex house which is small but cosy and there's an exellent asian restaurant next to it. Thank you to all the people that runs the hotel , specially to Lyle and Eric for their help and kindness

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked a room at the Clevelander several months ago for a recent long weekend in January. We had read the reviews online, so we thought we knew what to expect. We thought the location was perfect and that we could put up with a few inconveniences. There were 4 of us traveling and we had two rooms booked. As soon as we stepped out of the cab in front of the hotel we got worried! Loud, booming music was coming off the hotel courtyard and onto the street. We checked in with the very friendly staff and were immediately brought pina coladas. We walked into our room and loved it. It was a corner room on the fourth floor looking out over the courtyard and beach. Our luggage arrived shortly after and everything in the room was explained to us. The room was on the small side, but very clean and modern with lots of natural light. Our second uh-oh moment was when we saw the earplugs on the nightstand. We immediately headed out for dinner and drinks with our friends. We got back about midnight and because we had traveled that day (Thursday) we were tired and decided to go to bed. We did exactly that, went to bed, but not to sleep. Not only was the music loud (the earplugs did help), the light show from the bar came right through our bathroom window, and you could literally feel the vibration from the booming music. This went on until about 3:30 in the morning. Having had little sleep, we met our friends for breakfast and expected they had the same kind of night. We were surprised when they said they slept well. The were in a room in the front of the building facing the street, but not the courtyard. They said they had to use their earplugs, but slept fairly well. We immediately requested a room change and after they gave us a little bit of a hard time, they put us in a room at the sister hotel immediately behind the Clevelander, the Essex. The room at the Essex was pretty standard, but clean and QUIET! We are middle aged and like to have a good time, but the Clevelander is clearly party central for Ocean drive. If you have any doubts about staying here based on the reviews you read, do not stay at the Clevelander. You can stay close by and still go there to party if you wish. We would not book a room here again.

Room Tip: If you do stay here and want to sleep while it is dark, get a room that does not face the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Clevelander Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello Beacon Traveler,

Thank you for your review of the Clevelander. Your feedback is very important to us. We are very glad to hear that our staff was welcoming and friendly. We are sorry to hear that the music was a bother, but we are glad to hear that the situation was resolved by moving you to our sister hotel. The issues that you discussed will be addressed with our team, so that they can be resolved. We hope that you will visit us during your next stay at South Beach!

Best,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clevelander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevelander Hotel

Address: 1020 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clevelander Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clevelander brings an adult playground experience to Miami Beach being the only legendary party hotel. A 70-year tradition of fun is enhanced more than ever thanks to a complete renovation of its boutique hotel featuring 60 cozy rooms, Rock Star Suites, ground floor poolside bars, Game On Sports Bar, C-Level Rooftop Terrace and SPF4 Sundeck. Clevelander is known for being at the center of it all on South Beach in the middle of the famous Ocean Drive. Clevelander is a full service nightlife venue featuring live entertainment 7 days a week. Clevelander is famous for epic bachelor, bachelorette, holiday, and birthday parties.Clevelander is a large and versatile venue hosting groups for corporate meetings up to 1000 guests. Clevelander Hotel accepts Bitcoin currency for all products and services on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Clevelander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clevelander Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clevelander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.