We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really is the heartbeat of South Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Save Saved
You added Clevelander Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clevelander Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“It really is the heartbeat of South Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If South Beach were a person, the Clevelander would be their heart. I’ve been to South Beach 5 times now and each time, I’ve stayed at different hotels. On the whole, the Clevelander was great and I would recommend it. It’s a good value for the money.

I am a pro fashion and glamour photographer, and I was at the Clevelander with my wife and also a model (who had a separate room). Our mission was sunrise shooting on South Beach, so we needed to get up early. This fact is relevant to my assessment of the hotel.

We rented two Rock Star suites. One of the rooms is the room that has a balcony facing Ocean Drive. We stayed for two nights.

What I liked:
1) The Staff. The staff members are great. In fact, it was the Clevelander’s excellent restaurant staff that convinced me to stay there as a guest in their hotel. On a previous trip, I ate at the Clevelander’s restaurant and their service was by far the best I’d ever had in South Beach. Note, for those of you who have never been to South Beach: the service in South Beach is horrible on average. The Clevelander is a shining example of how service ought to be done in South Beach.
2) Clean and comfortable: The hotel was very, very clean. More importantly, our room was spotless and fresh. The bathrooms were large, which is rare in South Beach. The bed was very comfortable, which was nice.
3) Size of room: The room was very big, especially for South Beach standards.
4) Safe: The hotel seemed very safe. In the evenings, and perhaps before, the hotel has staff members at the front of the hotel and they check IDs of everyone who enters.

What I didn’t like:
The rooms overlooking the pool are super loud. Our suite was literally right over the DJ booth. I probably slept 2-3 hours at night and that was it. By checkout day, I was exhausted. The hotel provides earplugs, but they didn’t work well for me. However, my wife and also our model friend told me that the earplugs worked very well for them. To be fair, I am pretty sure that rooms that do not face the pool would be fairly quiet. If I decide to stay there again, I will definitely not stay in a room overlooking the pool.

Bottom line: Would I stay there again? Maybe. I like staying at different places in South Beach so I can check out new places. If I could get a very quiet room at the Clevelander, I would almost certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a quiet room! Call the staff before you book and make sure you get a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Clevelander Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello Blake,

Thank you for the your review of The Clevelander South Beach! We like to say that we are at the center of it all, but we are quite flattered by your comparison of The Clevelander to the heart of South Beach.

Great customer service is a top priority for us, and we are very happy to hear that you believe we set the standard on South Beach for exceptional housekeeping, front desk associates, servers, and bartenders.

The Clevelander hosts a party that never stops, but we would be more than happy to help you book one of our quieter rooms during your next visit. Also, our sister property Essex House is very peaceful and features the same great service as The Clevelander. I encourage you to book directly through our reservations department at 1.877.532.4006 Monday – Friday, 9am-6pm EST. Our in-house reservation agents will be able to point you to the room that best suits your needs.

Thank you again for your wonderful review. We look forward to your next visit to Miami!

Best wishes,

Kelsey Jones
Clevelander & Essex House Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    330
    185
    62
    26
    36
See reviews for
24
176
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Best hotel on Ocean Drive!!!! Domingo and Scott are the BEST. We arrived early due to hurricane Sandy from VA for the HEAT game.Scott was really helpful with letting us check in early. Domingo gave the best service, anything we needed he was there from check-in to check-out. Clean rooms, great bar,great staff,great location! You have a customer for life!!!!!! Only wish we had more time.

Campbell (VA)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The Clevelander is the best place to stay if you're planning to party in south beach! the hotel has a great outdoor/lounge, food and drinks are awesome. Its right across the street from beach with bike rentals. Its on the major lounge and restaurant strip.

Btw our group age range was 25yrs-54yrs and we all loved it!!
The staff are friendly, accomadating and professional! Domingo is our favorite =).

You will not regret your stay...if you are looking for a relaxing scene I recommend hotel Essex on Collins but south beach Miami is not really for relaxing lol

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It is noisy. It is crazy. If that is what you want, do not look any further. But do not expect to sleep until 5 am either. How many hotels give you ear plugs? I moved out after the first night but I freely admit that it was my own fault booking at Clevelander without proper research. Rooms are small and basic, but extremely clean and everything is in great working order. Even towels are good. WiFi is very slow and there is no place to work. Bottom line: Dance, drink, crash. Don’t try to do anything else there.

Room Tip: Basic rooms are small. Maybe luxury end is much better. But they are all will be too noisy to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My beau and I had 3 nights at The Clevelander. Prior to the trip I contacted Chad, the concierge -- he was more than amazing, arranging a couples massage, making reservations at the hottest restaurants in South Beach and mosrtly. Thanks for the special attention Location across from beach is amazing, and across from bike rental stand (you must ride along the beach!). Noisy until early morning hours so if you are a light sleeper, forego the ocean view. Best part: Roof-top lounge. You can do just about ANYTHING up there, everybody minds their own business and the staff is discreet.

Good: Privacy, attentive friendly staff, location, discretion, roof-top
Bad: DJ until 5am, smaller rooms, mediocre restaurant with mostly bar food
Ugly: shower has no pressure, no ice machines on floors

Room Tip: Ask to upgrade to Rock Star Suite -- not a suite really but approaches a normal size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Let me break down some Clevelander rules for someone who has never been there. My 12 friends and I just got back from a 4 day bachelor party weekend and stayed there.

1) Stay there if you want to party and only will go to sleep when you are passed out drunk. Music and partying will not stop until 5am. You have been warned. No complaining about the noise.This is not a family place. (My 2 friends did stay at the Essex which is next door and another good option)

2) Beware of the call girls that ride up and down the elevators after 3am. They are not girls who are genuinely interested in you, just your wallet.

3) Happy hour I think was from 5-7. I can't really remember. But it was half off everything.

4) Recommend when ordering a mixed drink, make it a double for $2 more. This will save your wallet in the long run. In south beach the drinks are reasonably priced here. Remember that tip is included. Mixed drink will run you about $10 and a beer $7.

5) Do not eat here. Food is expensive, small portions, and awful. Even during happy hour with $5 selections the food is not worth it. There are very affordable and great places to eat at in south beach. Just take a walk a couple blocks in from the strip. Check out a few of my other reviews for good spots.

6) If anyone you are with is interested in any "recreational" party favors do not buy any from the people right outside the hotel. They are cops.

7) Pool party on Saturday is awesome. Go with buckets of beer. They have decent DJs and entertainment.

8) If you are sharing a room, under no circumstance drop a number 2 in the bathroom of your room. The doors are see through, do not really close, and there is no vent fan. Use the lobby or pool bathroom. Who designed these bathrooms? The worst concept ever!

In general the service here is outstanding. Everyone from the bar tenders, check in, and cleaning staff were first rate. The rooms were also nice. Beds are very comfortable. Go with the pool view, it is worth it. Do not try to fit more than 2 in a room as the rooms are small and they have a weird policy that if you do 3 a room, you have to pay more but do not get a cot. Then what is the extra money for? Makes no sense. They have a no food or alcohol policy at the hotel, but as long you are not out in the open about it and causing a scene, you are good to go. Highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking to party and who wants a great, affordable, home base in south beach.

Room Tip: Pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I decided to stay at the Clevelander for a couple nights so that I could be close to the beach. The room was so nice, the service at the front desk was top notch (They even upgraded me to a better room at no cost), and the service at the restaurant/bar area was great as well. The view from the rooftop terrace was breathtaking! I would definitely stay at the Clevelander again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clevelander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevelander Hotel

Address: 1020 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clevelander Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clevelander is bringing the adult playground experience back to the beach. A 70-year tradition of fun is now enhanced more than ever thanks to a complete renovation of its boutique hotel featuring 60 cozy rooms and Rock Star Suites, the ground floor poolside bars and new Clevelander Café, the Game On Sports Bar, and the new additions including the C-Level Rooftop Terrace and SPF4 Sundeck, and the property's first indoor nightlife venue – 1020 Music Boxx. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Clevelander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clevelander Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clevelander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.