We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality, great rooftop view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clevelander Hotel to your Saves list
Clevelander Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hospitality, great rooftop view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I decided to stay at the Clevelander for a couple nights so that I could be close to the beach. The room was so nice, the service at the front desk was top notch (They even upgraded me to a better room at no cost), and the service at the restaurant/bar area was great as well. The view from the rooftop terrace was breathtaking! I would definitely stay at the Clevelander again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    201
    68
    24
    40
See reviews for
25
197
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau City, New Providence, The Bahamas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Despite the fact that we were not supposed to be staying in this hotel (we'd booked their sister hotel, The Essex House on the internet and the reservation cancelled itself. TIP: always call in advance to ensure your reservation is still live) I cannot fault the accomodating nature of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them. In particular, Domingo and Jermaine but every staff member we encountered in both hotels were very friendly and helpful. The venue was a little loud for our taste and they did offer to move us to a room further away from the bars, dance floor and DJ! but we chose to stay put. If you like the party atmosphere, this is definitely the place for you. The room was clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. If you don't know South Beach, this location is right in the middle of amazing restaurants (Espanola Way is worth a visit), shops (Collins Ave and Lincoln Blvd) and on the beach. Deco bikes are a fun & easy way to explore (there is a station right in front of the hotel)

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and retire before other party goers, it is a good idea to request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Clevelander Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hi Shelley,

Thank you for reviewing The Clevelander! We are sorry to hear about your reservation trouble with sister hotel Essex House, but glad that our front desk associates were able to set you up comfortably.

Domingo and Jermaine are both all-star associates and we’re happy they were able to help you during your stay.

We hope that we can make your next trip to Miami a success whether at The Clevelander or Essex House.

Thank you!

Kelsey Jones
Clevelander & Essex House Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A few friends and I from Canada, party there on Monday night October 8, 2012. The music was great that wait staff was very friendly and attentive. The energy was addictive. I can't wait to go again. Rate over the top

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Myself and a friend stayed in the Clevelander Hotel for 2 night in September. On arrival we were greated with a lovely Frozen Pinocolada. Check in was quick and friendly but bare in mind you have to pay $100 per night cash or credit card against any damages.
Location was perfect right across the road from the beach. The beach was lovely but the sunbeds and parasols were very expensive $10 for a bed and $15 for a parasol. The Hotel provide you with beach towels so no need to bring one with you. The staff in the hotel were friendly and very helpful. They have Happy Hour everyday where snack and drinks are either half price or at a reduced price. The food is lovely and the portions are huge so great value for money.
We just had a standard room and tit was lovely and bright, with a sliding door of obscured coloured glass leading into a bathroom. Toiletries, Flat Screen TV Air con are all standard along with 2 Queen beds which were very comfortable. The corridor was a little noisey when people were making their way back to their rooms after a night out, but you dont stay in the Clevelander to sleep.
Another great plus is the rooftop terrace and bar. A lovely place to chill out on a sunbed during the day or to catch a cool breeze and view of the area at night.
I would definitely stay in the Clevelander Hotel for a fn break away as everyone seems to start off or end up here on a night out. I wouldnt stay here if I was looking for a quiet, relaxing, romantic getaway. The emphasis is on fun and music here once night time falls

Room Tip: Standard rooms are great value Pool view rooms would be noisy due to music at the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have always love the Clevelander for it's look and entertainment.... but this past weekend I got a chance to stay there... WOW! What energy, fun, entertainment and dancing until 5am! The staff was very attentive and really went out of their way to answer questions, assist and make us comfortable 24 hours a day. Every staff member treated us like we where their only guest... security and staff worked hand in hand to ensure that we had a great time an had access to the hotel's fun and night life while managing access from non-guests who could have overrun the place... but instead the staff managed it all and made it fun and a great experience for everyone!

Room Tip: keep in mind the higher up in the Clevelander the closer you are to the upper deck dance area... we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Let me start with Chad our room attendent for the weekend, was the best!! We arrived to pina coladas and shots! It was an incredible sleeping experience in the plush bed and sinkable pillows! We looked out our window and were adorned with the seductive view of South Beach; and the Clevelander outside bar area, where the party didn't stop! It was definitely a wonderful experience for my sister's 30th Birthday! Drinks & food at the Clevelander were wonderful also; there wasn't a real need to look for food anywhere else! I can't wait to go back next year!!!!

Room Tip: The Suite was a great value and enough space for our girls' weekend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Myself and three girlfriends stayed for 3 nights in September for my 40th birthday. We booked the Rock Star Suite because that seemed appropriate. The room was okay. Not great, not bad. The regular rooms are small. The Rockstar Suite had a separate sitting area so that was nice. Our Rockstar Host said it was the largest room in the hotel. Speaking of the Rockstar Host, it's a gimmick. He is the hotel concierge. The only thing he did for us was walk us up to our room. That is it. You don't get any sort of special access to anything anyone else staying in the hotel has access to. If you want a bigger room then book it for that reason only. One more thing, this hotel is VERY loud. They give you ear plugs in your room for the noise. Just an FYI. It didn't bother us, but I think it could be an issue for some people. The main bar/pool area was directly out our window and it stays open until 5am. Speaking of that, the bars are great. Definitely the place to be! Very expensive, but so is everything in Miami Beach. Their happy hour (Mon-Fri, 4-7pm) is half price drinks and some munchie food. For some reason the pool was closed the whole time we were there. No idea why. The hotel is directly located across from the beach and centrally located along the strip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clevelander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevelander Hotel

Address: 1020 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clevelander Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clevelander brings an adult playground experience to Miami Beach being the only legendary party hotel. A 70-year tradition of fun is enhanced more than ever thanks to a complete renovation of its boutique hotel featuring 60 cozy rooms, Rock Star Suites, ground floor poolside bars, Game On Sports Bar, C-Level Rooftop Terrace and SPF4 Sundeck. Clevelander is known for being at the center of it all on South Beach in the middle of the famous Ocean Drive. Clevelander is a full service nightlife venue featuring live entertainment 7 days a week. Clevelander is famous for epic bachelor, bachelorette, holiday, and birthday parties.Clevelander is a large and versatile venue hosting groups for corporate meetings up to 1000 guests. Clevelander Hotel accepts Bitcoin currency for all products and services on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clevelander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clevelander Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clevelander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.