We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great great great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Catalina Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great great great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Great location! Great room! Grrrrrreat staff! Great price vs value! Awesome restaurants, rooftop terrace, pool ect...! Great driver in in the icar. simple...we had an awesome stay! Make sure you stay in the Catalina section though ;) we loved it and we definitely will go back!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    700
    356
    242
    370
See reviews for
231
755
179
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conway, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We stayed one night at the Catalina Hotel last week prior to boarding a cruise and it worked out very well for us! I had reservations at another hotel - but about 5 days before our trip, I found a super discounted price on online for the Catalina and switched to it. This group of hotels (SOBE?) is certainly doing something right. Where most hotels are cutting amenities, Catalina had them in abundance. We used the FREE shuttle bus from MIA to the hotel. Took advantage of the free wi-fi (worked great) and the free drink at night from 7-8. The resort fee is much less than at other properties - we used the towels and lounger at the beach location about one block away - oh, and they even have a golf cart to shuttle you to the beach or other local areas. The garden pool has lounge beds in each corner. There's a roof-top pool that we didn't even check out.
The hotel itself is a bit quirky and confusing for those visiting the first time. It's actually in 3 buildings and we had to get to our room in another building by walking through a bar/restaurant area. But I had asked for a quiet room and it was! Very comfortable beds, ample hot water, large closet, and overall cleanliness all contributed to our satisfaction. We ate breakfast at the sidewalk restaurant in front of the hotel and it was very good. They even gave us a late check out - no problem!
The only down sides were pretty minor: We had a long wait to check in - apparently the people checking in before me were trying to set up a split billing and it took for-ev-er. We could have had more assistance in getting the direction to our room (but wouldn't be a problem for returning guests). Also, there was a bit of a strange odor in the hallways - told ourselves it was the cleaning fluid they used. And I had to have one of the keys re-keyed twice. All in all, it was a great bargain in a great location in what can be a very expensive city!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

this hotel really is the best among so many hotel, offering free airport shuttle and free wifi discounted outdoor activities with free happy hour from 7 to 8 pm, The food at the restaurants is amazing specially chicken fingers also i should mention sushi restaurant is the best, i should not forget the front desk guys were the best, they were smiling all the time and giving the proper advises, i will return to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a great stay these past 2 dates, the concierge Aaron was undoubtably one of the best people to assist us with anything! Rooms are simply but clean and the for the price and location you cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Layton4403, thank you for this absolutely beautiful review! Thank you as well for your kind words regarding our superstar Aaron! You said it best - he is truly the epitome of good service and spirit and we are beyond lucky to have him on our team. I sincerely appreciate that you took the time to recognize him and look forward to your next visit!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Staff continues to be spot on all the time specially Grisel C. and Jean. Accommodating at every turn with a constant smile. Always clean and prompt! Beyond impressed! Free happy hour is great. Food at FKU is good. But the front desk staff makes the grade above most area hotels. Thank you Grisel and Jean again! Shining stars of the Catalina! I will continue to return!

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello there Ed07093,

Your review is absolutely amazing!! Thank you for sharing it with us, and all of our future guests! Our team all work hard to make sure that everyone is having a great time!! We offer a load of amenities, to all of our guests and I can see that you were able to take advantage of a few of them! I will make sure to inform the mentioned staff about your kind praise!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I just stayed at Catalina for the 3rd time and, as usual, I enjoyed my stay. The ECar shuttled us between properties, the bartenders (especially Delaney) were extremely nice to us during happy hour, the concierge (Tyrell) gave us tips on which nightclubs to go to and even helped me buy tickets to my first Miami Heat game! The food at the restaurants is amazing and I don't mind the automatic service charge because it makes it easier to tip! I spent my mornings at the rooftop pool and the service there was amazing as well. And did I forget to mention the awesome complimentary airport shuttle?! The wifi was spotty at times and the bathroom in the standard room needs a ventilation system but aside from that, no complains! The front desk staff was super helpful as well as the rest of the staff. Even with three buildings there's still an intimate feel. I always feel right at home whenever I'm at the Catalina. I'll be back soon ;)

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for the time you took to share your feedback with us Shadyra C!! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed everything that we have to offer! From the service that our team provides, to the amenities,and the food that is served at the restaurants! We hope to see you again sooner then later!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Catalina Hotel right after New Years and thought the property was great for the value. The hotel consists of 3 buildings. The main one, in the middle, is where the lobby is located. We found it to be very cute and modern upon walking in and much more updated than some of the other small boutique hotels on SoBe. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the small side but I feel this is the case with most of the hotels in the area. The bathroom was very small as well and the one complaint I have is that the toilet wouldn't flush very well until we messed around with the lever and then it was okay afterwards. We only came for a few days so had very little luggage but I would say that if you have more than one regular size suitcase it might be hard to find much space in the room where to place it. The room overall, however, was very modern and clean and nicely furnished. The other two buildings both contain pools. One has a bigger, ground floor pool surrounded by lush trees and is very nice looking. The pool in the 3rd building is on the roof with a huge patio area which we thought was beautiful and relaxing and allows for more sun than the pool on the ground floor in the other building. Some people in previous reviews have complained that once they got to the main building lobby they were moved to one of the other buildings for their accommodations. I don't see a problem with that as all 3 buildings are right next door to each other and they all seem equally as nice. They apparently also have a few chairs saved for the resort on the beach but we didn't take advantage of that. There are a few cute restaurants in 2 of the buildings as well that looked really cute but we didn't get a chance to eat there. I would definitely stay here again and think it's a great value for the rate they charge, especially considering all the other over-priced accommodations in the area.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, yesterday
Natalia S, you are a dream! Thank you so much for this amazing review! I am so glad to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and can’t wait for the opportunity to do it all again. We truly appreciate the insanely kind words and hope to see you and yours back here soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.