We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest Staff in All of Miami Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Catalina Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Friendliest Staff in All of Miami Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I asked the staff if I could a a shirt with The Catalina logo on it for someone very special named, Catalina. They told me they don't sell shirts, but after I left Tomic from the front of the hotel chased me down and offered to give a new shirt that he had at home. So unexpected and over the top friendly! After that, we ate at The Catalina every day and found the food to be fantastic. Thank you so much Tomic for your generous gift that helped make my stay very memorable.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    688
    347
    239
    363
See reviews for
222
743
175
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Michael/Tony helped us with a last minute booking and offered a competitive price for a late night walk in! Location is a short walk to the beach, room was clean, everything we were looking for! Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Eramz19, this is one of my favorite reviews ever! Thank you so much for the five stars and the fantastic shout outs for Michael and Tony! You are absolutely right – they know everything there is to know about South Beach and will show you a Kanye-good time. Please let us know when you will be back and we will be sure to roll out our red carpet once again. See you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Catalina, never fails to impress, there are some less than flattering reviews here. But I challenge the accuracy and validity of them. I was promptly checked in reminded of the free happy hour, my room was clean and properly stocked with the necessary amenities. Jean, at the front desk was pleasent despite the previous customer being very nasty to him. Nothing in life is free, if they can accommodate you, they will. This is south beach, you want better service? Go to the setai and be treated to a dollop of arrogance and condescension by pretentious wannabe employees, for 1500 a night.
I will continue to stay at the catalina!

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, 4 days ago
This review is fabulous, Ed07093! We really appreciate your taking the time to write and highlight our attentive team as a high point of your stay – especially our wonderful Isa. We are so fortunate to have team members like him who genuinely care about each and every guest. SO glad you felt the love! Thank you so much and we can’t wait to see you for your next getaway!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We,my 31 year old son and I, got a room at the Catalina Hotel & Beach Club for $68.00 from Hotels.com/Expedia and it was truly exceptional in many ways. The bill came to $93.00 after taxes and fees and was a fantastic deal. First off, I had read previous reviews about parking problems. We parked in a large public garage on 16th St. just off Collins Ave. and walked the 5 or so minutes to the hotel. We were nearly and hour early for check in but the gracious young man behind the reservation desk found us a couple of available rooms and we took one on the second floor in the rear overlooking the pool. The only minor complaints was the small closet and the fact that the shower took a while to provide hot water. We had a small fridge and microwave oven and a stocked candy/liquor/drink assortment. Our 2 double beds ate up a lot of room real estate,as to be expected. The small bar in the deco themed lobby provides a happy hour from 7:00 pm until 8:00 with FREE vodka/rum/gin drinks. This hotel is pretty much in the middle of everything,with the beach and Lincoln Road Mall a 5 minute walk [or shuttle ride]away. The Ocean Drive craziness is about 15 minute walk. I look forward the retuning here soon and I can't emphasize this enough. It would be impossible for the staff to be any friendlier or helpful. My son wants me to point out that while Collins Ave. is less rowdy than the Ocean Dr. scene it can get loud. There was a pool party below our window the night we stayed,but I slept just fine. If you can get this room for less than one hundred like we did consider booking this fun, convenient hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, 4 days ago
longinas, you are a dream! Thank you so much for this amazing review! I am so glad to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and can’t wait for the opportunity to do it all again. We truly appreciate the insanely kind words and hope to see you and yours back here soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was in town with my coworkers for our company Christmas party. There were plenty of bars and the drinks were good and food so we had no need to leave the hotel before the party. We had a great time at the roof top pool. Jerry took great care of our group. There were at least 10 of us and he made sure we had all the food and drinks we needed. He was a total sweetheart.

I appreciated being able to leave our bags after check out since our flight wasnt until 4. Great hotel. Hope we stay there for next year's Christmas party.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Your review is lovely imani A!!! We are stoked that your time spent with us was such a fabulous one! Our team all work hard to provide an outstanding time! I will make sure that Jerry is aware of your kind words! Come back again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms look great, beds are excellent BUT very noisy room. Our window was on an alley with a constant factory like hum of all sorts of airco's and during nighttime a lot of overly loud, insanely drunk people from the club on the first floor. Maybe a good place if you're out partying yourself but otherwise consider to avoid.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello there Michiel1054,

Your review means the world to us, and we would like to thank you for sharing it! I am sorry that you found the rooms to be noisy. If we were aware of this while you were in house, we would have moved you to another room immediately! We hope that this wouldn't steer you away from staying with us again in the future!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there for 10 days in December 2014, during ArtBasel. Since we were working we asked for a quiet room, and GOT one. 3rd floor, Maxine's, very quiet.
We ate at Maxine's every morning, and most evenings, great food, no matter your preference you will find something you like, the menu is very extensive, and not expensive.
Please, remember that Catalina consists of 3 buildings, and though you check in at the Catalina proper you could stay in any of the three. They are all great!
The hotel is perfectly located, near the convention center, close to the beach, short walk from Ocean Dr. and short walk from Lincoln. All a big plus since driving and especially parking in the area is a nightmare.
The staff at the Maxine's are friendly, and want to be helpful as much as possible, in busy times however, be armed with patience, things take time. if I was on holiday, I probably wouldn't notice.
if you have a busy day ahead and would like to get going, please, allow yourself extra 15-20 minutes at breakfast, you will have a better day! ;-)
The restaurant at Maxine's is open 24h, so if you work late, or arrive late from a night out, there is always good food waiting for you, right where you are staying, which we considered a great plus!
We worked on our last day, needed a late check-out, while the staff couldn't wrap their head around it, (and we booked it that way through expedia, but it got lost in translation somehow) after a word with Sal, things were set up perfectly. if you have a problem, go see Sal, the man has a solution.
Also the restaurant has nightly live music at dinner time, perfect, calm, jazzy, bossa, acoustic, ;-)
Rooms are clean and spacious enough, but don't expect too much, didn't spend much time in the room except for sleeping so loved it. Good shower, hot water took its time arriving at certain times of the day, but again, patience, and starting the sink tap first speeds up the process.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room on the higher floor at Maxine's, no view, but peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, 1 week ago
What a lovely extensive 5 star review bartkarski!!! We are thrilled to read that you were content with everything about your stay! From the great food at Maxine's, the location of our property, and everything in between. Our team is aware of your review, and we thank you once again for sharing it! We hope to have you stay here at The Catalina Hotel again in the future!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.