We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of positives but the negatives leave a lasting impression.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Catalina Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Ashville ny
1 review
“Lots of positives but the negatives leave a lasting impression.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

What makes this trip most memorable is the excellent service from the concierge Tyrell and JP, bartender Amit, and front desk Christian. They went above and beyond to help us enjoy our trip. Our room in the Maxine building was nice but smelled terrible and it was not the carpet as they say it smelled like mold, vomit, and rotting cheese. The smell is even outside of the building. We did get moved but our room was very noisy in the main building. The beach club was nice but the umbrellas are not included which is unfortunate. At the end of our trip we were given the wrong information about the shuttle back by Tomic which caused us to rush to get ready early only to be told there wasn't enough room. Do not rely on this guy to help with the shuttle. Front desk staff is more helpful in that aspect and have the correct info. The mini bar manager was also very rude when we used our cooler for our own water. Make sure to call to have him take it out so you don't get attitude from him. To sum it up JP, Tyrell, Amit, and Christian made the experience wonderful but probably won't come back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Good Afternoon SarahhCP,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We really appreciate your taking the time to write and highlight our attentive team as a high point of your stay – especially our wonderful Tyrell, JP, Amit and Christian. We are so fortunate to have team members like them who genuinely care about each and every guest. We are currently working on changing the carpeting. We are taking sections at a time so that we do not inconvenience our guests. I am delighted to know that you were able to switch your room. I will make sure that all of our team is aware of the shuttle information. Tomic has been working here for years and the shuttle schedule has never changed. I would love for you to give us another chance. I would love to personally handle your reservation, and make sure that your time spent with us is fantastic! Please let me know when you will be in Miami again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    766
    394
    264
    385
See reviews for
255
807
198
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

The room was small, too much furnishings, dark and musty. Bad smell in restaurant and pool area (stagnant water). Staff was somewhat arrogant. We had rain storm which caused leak in window and puddles on floor. Called front desk and never had anyone follow up even after 3 hrs. Used towels to mop floor and keep windows dry all day. Maxines was good place to eat but be aware of 18% service fee which we were not informed of (verbally or in writing). Pool was best part of stay. Unfortunately, it rained. Don't think we'll be back; disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello there Rosalba S,

We are terribly sorry that you did not have a 5 star time here with us! Our rooms are smaller then your average hotel rooms, as we are a boutique hotel. We do offer rooms that are larger in size, for those guests who want more space. Our Living Large rooms are 245 sq ft, and our El Grande rooms are 280 sq ft. We strive to provide outstanding service so it pains us to read that is not what you were given! We do charge guests a service fee when dining at our restaurants. It is not mandatory you pay this though. You can simply cross it out, and place what you feel is desired. I wish that you would provide us with another chance. We would love to make sure that your time spent with us is an all-out success!! Please contact me directly and I would love to personally handle your reservation!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing experience at the Catalina Hotel & Beach Club for our friend's bachelorette weekend celebration. Tyrell, JP, and Fred really rolled out the red carpet for our group. Tyrell especially showed us a fantastic time, accommodating our every need and making sure we had the best of plans locked down each night. I think everyone in our group would return, I know I certainly will. The location, restaurants, ambiance, and most importantly the staff were all great and made the trip so special. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
There is nothing that we love to read more then wonderful 5 star feedback! Thank you for sharing yours with us Margaret M!!! We are stoked to read that you and the girls chose to stay with us for such a lovely occasion! :) Our team all worked hard to make sure that you and the girls had a memorable time! We would love to host your next visit to Miami!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

A couple friends and I stayed at the Catalina for a week. Best vacation I have ever taken. Location is amazing. Roof top pool was very unique. The best service we had was the bartender, Andre Chirinos. He was so friendly and helpful. He even remembered all of us just passing through. Informed us of the best clubs and of different things we could do around the area. We went to the bar every night when he was working. He’s a good time and fantastic at his job. Definitely made the stay that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
What a killer review AmandaEads!! Thank you for sharing it with us and all of our future guests! The location of our property is definitely prime. We are just blocks from pretty much everything. The rooftop pool is a lovely space. Perfect to hangout and grab a cocktail, and soak up the summer sun! You are absolutely right – Andre knows everything there is to know about South Beach and will show you a Kanye-good time. Please let us know when you will be back and we will be sure to roll out our red carpet once again.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Please take my advice and never stay this disgusting hotel. The rooms are dirty, very small and dark. The staff in the front desk are not helpful at all. The rooms are very close to each other and there is a bar in the first floor of the hotel and you have to pass this bar to get your room. We booked here via priceline but we could not even stay even a night and they did not refund us. This hotel makes Miami beach bad.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Good Afternoon sevinc A,

We value all of our guests feedback! We are terribly sorry that your stay was less then enjoyable. Our team do in to deep clean each room before handing over to a new guest. I am terribly sorry that you did not experience that. I will make sure that the Director of Housekeeping is aware of this! We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then your average hotel room. We have larger rooms for those guests who need more space. Our Living Large room is 245 sq ft, and our El Grande room is 280 st ft. I apologize that The Catalina Hotel was not for you.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We had such a great stay at the Catalina. We had a big group of 11 girls over Fourth of July weekend for a bachelorette party and the hotel was extremely helpful and accommodating! They offered a ton of great perks and made sure all of us had a great time! The location was perfect and the rooms were clean. Tyrell was amazing and helped to make it a memorable trip for all of us! I would definitely recommend it!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Killer review Carr S! Congratulations to the Bachelorette!! There is absolutely nothing that we love more, then wonderful 5 star feedback! Fourth of July Weekend on South Beach is always a great time! We offer a load of great money saving amenities! We are glad to read that you and the girls had such a memorable time! Tyrell is a great asset to our team! I will make sure that he is aware of your lovely praise!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We were trying to book a hotel on South Beach for a 10 hour layover in Miami. Called the hotel about 14 times the day before...could never get the front desk reception to ever answer. Finally was able to speak to someone and get the rundown of the hotel and the shuttle to/from the airport. The plus side is that there was a free shuttle to/from the Miami airport. Would have been helpful if the staff knew the times that the shuttle ran from the hotel :) We were told the shuttle began at 7am from the airport, after waiting an hour, we called to find out that it does "start" at 7am, but really starts at the airport at 8am.
Checkout is 11 or 12pm. We paid $20/hour for an extra 2 hours, so that we could sleep that morning after the redeye. We were awoken by housekeeping twice, the front desk called and woke us up twice to find out what time we were checking out!!! Ridiculous to have to pay for a late check-out only to be harassed by the staff asking when we were checking out!!! Front desk management did NOTHING to relieve the frustration.

Would not recommend for families, rooms are small.
Probably ok for young people who want to be a block from the beach, and want free transportation to/from the airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Good Afternoon sandiegofamily6,

We value each and every one of our guests feedback. Thank you for sharing yours with us! We apologize that you were not able to get a hold of the front desk. We were experiencing some issues with our telephone system. Our IT department has resolved this, and everything is back to normal. I see that you were able to take advantage of the shuttle service, that we offer. We have had many families stay with us, just depends on what they are looking for. I will make sure that the General Manager is aware of your feedback!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.