We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is friendly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Catalina Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff is friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We really enjoyed the location. Very close to nightlife. The staff was great too. Miguel, our go to guy for everything including concierge, taking care of our luggage, giving us great tips on local events and always being helpful! We also really liked our served at Fku. He is from Guatemala... don't know his name but very kind and helpful. Food was great, so was free drinks at happy hour!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
This review is fabulous, edabija1801! We really appreciate your taking the time to write and highlight our attentive team as a high point of your stay – especially our wonderful Miguel. We are so fortunate to have team members like him who genuinely care about each and every guest. SO glad you felt the love! Thank you so much and we can’t wait to see you for your next getaway!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    829
    420
    269
    400
See reviews for
288
862
214
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Our stay was very good at the hotel. Nice design, good atmosphere, good service, very well located, divine pool bamboo and their hospitality was perfect. Especially like to thank Michael for his help in everything, just made good suggestions. I'm definitely going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Good Evening Alberto C,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We are delighted to read that you had a good time here with us. We offer unbeatable prices, for a great time, in a fantastic location. I will make sure that Michael is aware of your kind praise! Please come back again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
114 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Me and the Hubby went there to eat late night as their outdoor patio is open 24/7. This review is late as we stayed in Miami Beach in May. I had a salad and the Hubby had a pizza. The waiter Louis was very accommodating but the Bus Boy Harrison impressed me the most! He was very polite and helpful and I hope this job is helping to put him through school because from speaking with him, I could tell he is a very intelligent young man with a great work ethic! We each had two mojitos which were amazing and the bill total without tip was $72.90. Yes, again, it was pricey but hey, remember, you are on vacation! Have fun and live it up!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hello there Lee B,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us! Maxine's Bistro and Bar are open 24/7. They serve a variety of dishes, all largely portioned and reasonably priced. Miami Beach is pretty expensive in general. I will make sure that Louis is aware of your kind praise! A late review is better then no review! :) We hope to see you again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

From the moment I arrived I knew I was going to have a blast. I really had a wonderful time, the staff were very helpful and nice, specially Juan Arias (manager). The location is perfect and the hotel is very chic & different.

They had many party at 3 of the locations, complementary drinks from 7-8. Free chair & towers, great music, 1 1/2 block away from the beach & like 3 mins from the nightclubs life.

Everyone is fun to be around & free spirit people. Hope my review help.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
What a great review Bellaeli!! Thank you for sharing your 5 star experience with us! We are beyond stoked to read your lovely review! Our staff all work hard to provide each and every guest with the best! We want to make sure that everyone is having a killer time here at The Catalina Hotel! It seems like you enjoyed everything that our hotel has to offer! Please come back again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tandil, Argentina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

giselle at the front desk was really nice and helpful!! juan and johnathan were great too!! friendly, solved all our requests and always in a very good mood!! we stayed 2 days at the maxine, room 279 and 2 days at the catalina, room.214. catalina was better than maxine. make sure you send my.regards to them!!! mariela from.argentina.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Great review mariv1974!! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent experience! Giselle our front desk agent is absolutely wonderful, along with the rest of our team! I will make sure they are all aware of your kind praise! See you soon! :)

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My husband and I were originally placed in the Maxine building and we were horrified. It was dark, smelly and cramped. I read previous responses to the bad smell complaint from Katrine who mentioned that the carpet is being replaced but we saw no evidence of this. Giselle (we believe was her name) managed to move our room to the main building which smelled a lot better and was a lot brighter. We appreciated her help!
The Maxine building really is the black eye of the hotel. Whenever we walked by the restaurant, we had to hold our breath because it smelled so bad. There is some kind of liquid leaking onto the sidewalk on both sides of the building that smells awful.
Now onto the good, happy hour is awesome and the drinks are strong in the main building. The FKU sushi restaurant was amazing and the service was excellent. We enjoyed riding the complimentary bicycles/using the complimentary beach chairs and the airport shuttle worked out great. Tyrell was also very helpful with helping us book excursions. He really went out of his way to assist us. On a side note, you do want to pay cash for your activities since it will be cheaper. The fee goes up for credit cards.
Overall, it was a decent value for the money but I would have much preferred to pay a little bit more and stay in a better maintained hotel. The staff was great and was very accommodating, it is not their fault. I blame the South Beach Hotel group for providing such run down and smelly accommodations. I don't think they've done work to the hotel in decades.

Room Tip: Request the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello there travelcara100,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We are indeed changing the carpets of the hallways. As I mentioned we are taking certain sections at a time, so that we do not inconvenience our guests. I am glad that Giselle was able to assist you in freshening your room. We offer a lovely complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM. It's a perfect time to mingle around and get to know your temporary neighbors. Tyrell is lovely and all of our guests seem to think so as well! I will make sure that both him and Giselle are aware of your kind praise!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

From the moment we arrived at this hotel, we knew we chose the right spot. My first impression was everyone was very welcoming and fun! We went from courtesy shuttle to pool top bar with ease. Relaxation was immediate. We were so happy to see the beach was so close and EVERYTHING you need was within 10 minute walking. No need to rent a car. If you do need to get around, they have a tourist desk right in their cute lobby. I would recommend this place to all my friends and family.

Room Tip: Hotel can be a little noisy at night. Walls are thin and there is lots of partying going on. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your beautiful review, Jennifer L! It’s so great to hear that you had a great time, and felt well taken care of the whole time. There is no need to rent a car, as everything in South Beach is conveniently close to each other. Again, we really appreciate the love and hope to have you back to see us soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#66 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,916 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
#87 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#120 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Hotel Croydon
#18 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#62 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.