We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations - for a certain type of traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Catalina Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations - for a certain type of traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Overview: The hotel consists of 3 buildings (South - with rooftop pool and Kung Fu Sushi restaurant; Middle with Red Bar and main lobby; North with other pool and Maxines). We stayed in the North building for 2 nights in April. The hotel is very lively. With 3 bars/restaurants, 2 pools, etc, you will not get bored here. However, it is made for a younger traveller (for example: there is a very lively bar right in the lobby).

Rooms: We had a comfort room. It was quite nice. Impressed with the size (for South Beach). The internet was spotty (but this seems to be a problem at most places). The bed was very comfy. The room was clean. Warning: we had a room that faced away from the bar (Maxine's) so it was quiet and we had no problem with noise. But at the other end of the hall you could definitely hear the music coming from Maxine's (its not over-bearing but something to be cognizant of). Just another sign that this is a place for younger travellers.

Amenities:The amenities are fantastic. We made full use of the rooftop pool (which is beautiful - relaxing in the morning and lively with drinks and mixed music in the afternoon). Both Maxine's and the Red Bar have live music. Red bar has a free happy hour 7-8pm (no catches) with live music which was really good). We also used the free rental-bikes (no catches - and very easy to use) and the beach chairs on the beach. This hotel has got it all.

Service: The front-desk staff wasn't the most polite, but the concierge (Mike) made up for that. He was very attentive and worked hard to make us happy. Other services were fine, but Mike was exceptional (he made up for the lack of enthusiasm from the front-desk).

Location: Perfect. Steps from Lincoln Road Mall. Across the street from the beach.

Overall: We really enjoyed our stay here. It was clean, the people were nice, and there was always something to do. If you're a young traveller (single or a couple), it's great value. If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing time, then this probably isn't for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sutter93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello Sutter93,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post such an extensive review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us! I am very glad to read that you were content with the room that you were given and the size of it. We do cater to all types of guests from the business personnel to the young party goer. I see that you were also content with the amenities that we offer to our guests. Our rooftop pool is a great place to soak up the Florida sun! All of our bars provide complimentary cocktail hour to our guests from 7-8pm nightly. We do also have beach cruiser bikes for our guests to ride around South Beach and enjoy, as well as beach chairs. The location of our property is very convenient as we are just a walk away from all the hot spots here on South Beach. We hope that you come and stay with us again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I visit the Catalina so frequently during the year, that I have to wait a significant amount of time before I can write a review again... When visiting the Catalina last June, I never ceases to amaze me how impressive the staff is there. They remember me all the time and thank me for coming back again. I even recommended a friend to travel there this past winter for a Patriots vs Miami game and they were very courteous, helpful and over accommodating to him as well. They only reason why I rate this very good this time was due to the actual room we were in (do not spend that much time in the room to begin with so that is why this does not make or break my rating), my friend and I had to call the front desk a few times due to power outages. Our room was in the Dorset section which is not my favorite section of the hotel because it is rather loud....I understand that it is Miami, but sometimes on vacation you look for a bit relaxation in the early morning. Other than that I plan to be back so very soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Good Afternoon BostonAC,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! Thank you for taking your time to post it! I would also like to Thank You for being a loyal returning guest!! Our staff is always eager to serve you and they always remember the guests that return! :) I am terribly sorry to hear about the power outages that you had experienced while staying with us! We were having some electrical issues that were fixed by our wonderful maintenance team! We do provide rooms in each building that are for our guests that don't want to be bothered by the noise. You can request one of those rooms the next time you come to visit, and we would be more then happy to accommodate you! Some of our guests are here to party and do not mind the noise. We are here to accommodate each and every one of our guests! We cannot wait to have you again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our third time at the Hotel Catalina - and it was as marvellous as ever.

Arriving dog tired from a transatlantic flight, the combination of the friendly staff, the welcome drink and a great meal in Maxines was the best way to unwind.

An excellent night's sleep on the wonderful beds (the best I have found in a hotel) and a trip back to the airport on the complimentary shuttle bus the next morning to catch our onward flight completed the stay. We wish that we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnR9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

i went to the Catalina With 7 friends to celebrate my 30th birthday. It was my first time in MIAMI and boy did we have agreat time The hotel rooms were cute the hotel had great style and class I took several pictures of diffrent areas for my photo books.THE STAFF WAS GREAT they gave us great service at all times attending to our needs. Helping us with daily activties and suggestions of places to visit. the Hotel was very clean and the Food at Maxaines was awsome I ate there everyday. The location of the hotel was also great right in the middle of it all a block away from the beach about 2 blocks from shopping clubs and MIAMI fun The bartenders were fun and energetic and made the best drinks I've had. I really loved the Catalina and cant wait till next summer to vist again love the new 30 :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hello Corline C,

Your kind and honest 5 star feedback is greatly appreciated!!!! Thank you for choosing to share it with us and all of our future guests! HAPPY LATE 30TH BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am glad that you were content with your room and the decor of it. Our staff is great and they are always eager to serve you! Maxine's does have a wide variety of great food and they are conveniently open 24 hours. The location of our hotel can't be beat! We are within walking distance to it all- beach, shops, restaurants, clubs, fun!!! Please come back and celebrate another memorable time with us!!!!!!!!!!!! We hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club for five days and had an awesome time. We spent most days at the rooftop pool/bar where Keith made THE best drinks and always made sure our glasses weren't empty. Couldn't have had a better bartender. We didn't see the need to go anywhere else during the day with a great atmosphere right there. Great location to everything and the sushi was fabulous also. Loved it! We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Good Afternoon Lauren R,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your 5 day getaway! :) I am so glad to read that you had a great time while staying with us!! Keith at the rooftop pool is great and he works hard to ensure that everyone is having a great time!!!!!!!! Our location is prime and we are in the heart of South Beach just steps away from all the action! We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed in a family room which was really quiet overlooking the pool. Given that the hotel is right on Collins and two minutes from Lincoln Mall that is an achievement! We were also only a minute from the beach where we got complimentary towels and chairs. The room was a little tight for 4 but great value. The attached restaurant Maxine's had good food and friendly service and is a great place for people watching. We also enjoyed live music during the complimentary happy hour. The concierge was really helpful and when my daughter left her phone in the room the hotel kindly offered to mail it back to the UK...THANKS! Looking at other reviews I agree the corridor is alittle dark...but not the end of the world and nolight pollution in your room when jetlagged. Its worth noting that our rooms had really good blackout blinds and the beds were super comfy. I'm sure its easy to find a few other small faults but given what we paid that would be churlish....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveldadLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hello TaveldadLondon,

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star feedback! We are really glad to read that you had a great time while staying with us! We are conveniently just steps away from Lincoln Road and other hot spots here on South Beach. The amenities that we offer are great and all of our guests love them. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary beach chairs and towels. We do offer rooms that are larger in size for those guests that want more space. Maxine's restaurant has a wide variety of great food and they are open 24 hours. We are working on adding more lighting into the hallways of the hotel. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel looks great as you go in and the location is good. The corridors are dirty with the carpet looking like it hasn't been hovered in a year. The room was dark and small and just felt dirty. On pulling the top bedding back there were a couple of dark hairs on the sheet and dirt where peoples feet must have been in the bed. We were only staying one night (thank goodness) so put up with it. The walls were paper thin and you could hear all your neighbours.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluesky77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Good Afternoon Bluesky77,

Your honest feedback on Trip Advisor is greatly appreciated! Thank you for sharing it with us and all of our future guests! I am very glad to read that you were content with the location of our property! We are in the heart of South Beach within walking distance to all of the hot spots around town. I am terribly sorry that you found the corridors of our hotel to not fit your standard for cleanliness. We do deep clean our carpets on a daily basis, and we do have a professional company come out to clean them on a weekly basis. We are working on changing the carpets in the hallways. We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then the average. We do offer rooms that are larger in size. Perhaps you chose one of our smaller rooms. Our room attendants change the sheets every day, and the rooms are inspected by a supervisor before they are given to other guests. We hope that you would give us another chance in the future.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#72 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,374 reviews
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#99 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Circa 39 Hotel
#44 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $18.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Low Cost Holidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing