We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Catalina Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good staff, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I only stayed here one night but I'd stay here again based on the location alone. The staff during the day was ok, not the best, but the overnight staff was very helpful. The bar had a free happy hour in the evening which is always great and the room was as expected. Free wifi :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AssiaMoretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Staff at Catalina Hotel is what makes the hotel so awesome. They showed me such a warm welcome and guided me through my whole experience in South Beach, from excellent concierge service to new linens in the night. The rooms are great and the red theme of the hotel gives a great positive vibe. The staff was always polite and most important helpful. One staff member that really stood out to me was Juan at front desk. He was so knowledge and always eager to help me with any questions I had. Juan was obliging and helpful with my luggage and car valet, as well as giving tips to the best local places to visit! Juan went above and beyond, he made me feel as a very special and important guest! Also you can’t beat the location! Right by the beach. We stayed for 3 nights and every day was a joy! The restaurants at Catalina are great, with how quick the service was to how good the food tasted. The bar downstairs is very convenient and the outside sitting area has an amazing relaxing view. I really enjoyed my stay. And definitely will stay there again! (Thank you Juan for such a great experience!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ofelia702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

So i arrived at the hotel and i was received by am awesome staff, the bellman Eddie greeted me and helped me with everything. I was checked in by a really nice guy named Andres he helped with everything! Walked us to our room and made sure we had everything we needed, offered us the party bus and checked on us the next day and made the extra effort and it was a big plus! Tyrell also helped he knew everything and made it all happen, thanks bro!... Only bad thing was that my key would get deactivated every day and it was kind of annoying.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilonperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Positives: Near beach, Lincoln road shopping, and staff was overall friendly and accomadating.
bathroom was clean, no mold evident in shower or musty smell. Fresh and bright painted room, small refrigerator, room safe, hair dryer, high ceilings and beds were very comfortable.

negatives: Bedroom is a very confined space. This is a 1950's building, with not many upgrades, tired carpeting and a 1970's decor. Not much insulation between the walls so arguments, discussions, etc easily recognized. This hotel, despite it's glitzy name is tired, worn down, and in need of refurbishing. The entertainment /music played far too loudly each night from the front desk/lobby/bar area until 3:00 a.m! which permeated down the halls and vibrated all through the my wing. Sleeping comfortable was an enormous challenge, due to the noise and the a/c not functioning. The room thermostat is inoperable. It was 80 degrees in the room when we arrived at 3:30 pm, and despite my attempts, it was still 80 degrees 8 hours later. I had asked front desk for engineering assistance when nothing happened after trying to jump start it. They arrived with a box fan as a solution, but due to a language barrier, the engineer departed with the fan, instead of leaving it with me and the hot air in the room remained.


Overall the hotel and the room was small, hot, and loud, with dirty carpeting. this is fine if you are a college student on spring break, and not expecting to spend time in your room, but not adequate for adult or family friendly.

Room Tip: avoid rooms on the north side of the hotel - the music vibrates down the hall. sleeping was a challe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoosierdaddy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

The smell was terrible a serious mold problem. Add 25% to your room for parking or be prepared to walk blocks for parking. You can get the same price if you walk in off the street
Dont waste your time there are hundreds of hotels side by side in the same area, anything would be better.

Helpful?
1 Thank Henry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Good Afternoon Henry Y,

Your honest feedback is greatly appreciated and we are extremely glad that you chose to share it with us! I am terribly sorry to read that you had experienced such a smell. We are working on changing the carpets in the hallways. Our guests walk in wet straight from the beach or from the pool. The constant water that gets dripped on the carpets causes this. We try to inform all of our guests to dry off completely before going into the hallways. We are working on correcting the issue and the project will be completely within no time. We do offer valet parking at the hotel for a fee. There are other lots and garages around the property, and our complimentary go shuttle would be more then happy to pick you up after you have dropped your car off, or need to pick it up.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is disgusting and I would tell anyone thinking about booking it to go elsewhere, the only thing good about this hotel was the location, since it was only 5 mins from the beach, Lincoln Ave and about 10 or so mins from Ocean Drive, other… than that nothing else good about this hotel. First off they charge a resort fee and there is nothing of a resort feel at all. Secondly, when I first booked this hotel I had asked for early check in since we were only staying for 2 days and were getting a early flight in. The hotel had said it would be fine, and put a note on our booking confirmation. So we got to the hotel around 830am, and the person at the desk mentioned check out was at 11am so that they would have a room ready for us around noon, we were fine with this since we decided to go have breakfast and lounge on the beach, even though they shouldve had the room ready. We went back to the hotel around noon and there was a different guy at the desk and we asked if our room was ready and he said check in was not til 3pm we told him the guy in the morning told us he would have a room for us by noon, this guy didnt want to help at all and said he wasnt sure why he would say that since check in was 3pm and that was final. I have never been to a hotel were early check in was ever a problem. Anyhow this guy was like ok come back in an hour and they would have the room ready. We came back a little more than an hour later and the room was still not ready and they didnt seem to have any kind or organization at all. So in the end we got our room at 245pm when we were told by noon. Ridiculous, then once we got to the room the room was very small the sink was clogged and the light in the shower would go on and off so showered in the dark here and there and at one point the water got cold as well. Room seemed really outdated and just looked old and dirty regardless if it was cleaned or not. And they offered shuttle service to and from the aiport which we were not informed and asked for a credit which the original front desk guy agreed to and said upon checkout he would give us the credit. Also the day we were leaving we were renting a car to drive to Orlando, since we werent going to airport just Hertz about 6-7 blocks away we asked if we could be dropped off there instead of airport and the initial front desk guy said yes that wouldnt be a problem. On morning of checkout nor did we get a ride to Hertz we werent offered any credit as promised since it was the 2nd guy at front desk that didnt care about service, also not sure why they dont keep notes since them they wouldnt have a problem when one guy offers something and the other guy apparently doesnt have a clue and refuses to offer it. So overall this hotel sucks it is nothing close to 4 star, I would say max 2.5 star and max 3 because of the location. If you wanna waste your $$$ then book this hotel, total dump and hotel room pics look nothing like the room we had, this hotel is way overpriced considering it is so crappy! If you are looking for a place just to crash and dont care about the rooms being old, smelly, ugly, and outdated and front desks not being organized and providing no service at all then this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Go stay somewhere else unless you are out of the room all day and all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Unfortunately, we found this hotel through Orbitz during Techno Week. This is a BIG money maker for South Beach. The music assaults and pounds and distorts from noon to 5 AM daily in and around our hotel. Even the lovely beaches were assaulted with the pounding. We had to run many blocks away to hide from these sounds. The hotel seemed to be one of the centers for this .....music?

The staff was VERY accomodating and tried to be helpful during our five dreaded days. They get an "A" plus for kindness.
If you must travel to South Beach during this event do not book rooms between 10th and 20th streets or bring EAR PLUGS. Now I need another vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back less noisey. There is no fitness center or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha3028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Good Evening Natasha3028,

We thank you for taking your time to post your honest feedback for all of our future guests to read! We were indeed in the middle of Winter Music Conference and it's the biggest festival of the year here in Miami, bringing people from all over the world to attend these events. We did have DJ's spinning in the lobbies during those 2 weeks and is a huge money maker for all of South Florida. I am glad that you found our staff to be accommodating. They are great and are always willing and eager to assist you! We hope that you would come and stay with us again, and experience what the hotel is really like when the conference is not going on.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#71 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 2,361 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Hotel Chelsea
#82 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Circa 39 Hotel
#42 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#29 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#97 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $18.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing