We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My room was awesome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Catalina Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My room was awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

So i arrived at the hotel and i was received by am awesome staff, the bellman Eddie greeted me and helped me with everything. I was checked in by a really nice guy named Andres he helped with everything! Walked us to our room and made sure we had everything we needed, offered us the party bus and checked on us the next day and made the extra effort and it was a big plus! Tyrell also helped he knew everything and made it all happen, thanks bro!... Only bad thing was that my key would get deactivated every day and it was kind of annoying.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    765
    612
    317
    226
    350
See reviews for
200
680
161
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Positives: Near beach, Lincoln road shopping, and staff was overall friendly and accomadating.
bathroom was clean, no mold evident in shower or musty smell. Fresh and bright painted room, small refrigerator, room safe, hair dryer, high ceilings and beds were very comfortable.

negatives: Bedroom is a very confined space. This is a 1950's building, with not many upgrades, tired carpeting and a 1970's decor. Not much insulation between the walls so arguments, discussions, etc easily recognized. This hotel, despite it's glitzy name is tired, worn down, and in need of refurbishing. The entertainment /music played far too loudly each night from the front desk/lobby/bar area until 3:00 a.m! which permeated down the halls and vibrated all through the my wing. Sleeping comfortable was an enormous challenge, due to the noise and the a/c not functioning. The room thermostat is inoperable. It was 80 degrees in the room when we arrived at 3:30 pm, and despite my attempts, it was still 80 degrees 8 hours later. I had asked front desk for engineering assistance when nothing happened after trying to jump start it. They arrived with a box fan as a solution, but due to a language barrier, the engineer departed with the fan, instead of leaving it with me and the hot air in the room remained.


Overall the hotel and the room was small, hot, and loud, with dirty carpeting. this is fine if you are a college student on spring break, and not expecting to spend time in your room, but not adequate for adult or family friendly.

Room Tip: avoid rooms on the north side of the hotel - the music vibrates down the hall. sleeping was a challe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

The smell was terrible a serious mold problem. Add 25% to your room for parking or be prepared to walk blocks for parking. You can get the same price if you walk in off the street
Dont waste your time there are hundreds of hotels side by side in the same area, anything would be better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Good Afternoon Henry Y,

Your honest feedback is greatly appreciated and we are extremely glad that you chose to share it with us! I am terribly sorry to read that you had experienced such a smell. We are working on changing the carpets in the hallways. Our guests walk in wet straight from the beach or from the pool. The constant water that gets dripped on the carpets causes this. We try to inform all of our guests to dry off completely before going into the hallways. We are working on correcting the issue and the project will be completely within no time. We do offer valet parking at the hotel for a fee. There are other lots and garages around the property, and our complimentary go shuttle would be more then happy to pick you up after you have dropped your car off, or need to pick it up.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is disgusting and I would tell anyone thinking about booking it to go elsewhere, the only thing good about this hotel was the location, since it was only 5 mins from the beach, Lincoln Ave and about 10 or so mins from Ocean Drive, other… than that nothing else good about this hotel. First off they charge a resort fee and there is nothing of a resort feel at all. Secondly, when I first booked this hotel I had asked for early check in since we were only staying for 2 days and were getting a early flight in. The hotel had said it would be fine, and put a note on our booking confirmation. So we got to the hotel around 830am, and the person at the desk mentioned check out was at 11am so that they would have a room ready for us around noon, we were fine with this since we decided to go have breakfast and lounge on the beach, even though they shouldve had the room ready. We went back to the hotel around noon and there was a different guy at the desk and we asked if our room was ready and he said check in was not til 3pm we told him the guy in the morning told us he would have a room for us by noon, this guy didnt want to help at all and said he wasnt sure why he would say that since check in was 3pm and that was final. I have never been to a hotel were early check in was ever a problem. Anyhow this guy was like ok come back in an hour and they would have the room ready. We came back a little more than an hour later and the room was still not ready and they didnt seem to have any kind or organization at all. So in the end we got our room at 245pm when we were told by noon. Ridiculous, then once we got to the room the room was very small the sink was clogged and the light in the shower would go on and off so showered in the dark here and there and at one point the water got cold as well. Room seemed really outdated and just looked old and dirty regardless if it was cleaned or not. And they offered shuttle service to and from the aiport which we were not informed and asked for a credit which the original front desk guy agreed to and said upon checkout he would give us the credit. Also the day we were leaving we were renting a car to drive to Orlando, since we werent going to airport just Hertz about 6-7 blocks away we asked if we could be dropped off there instead of airport and the initial front desk guy said yes that wouldnt be a problem. On morning of checkout nor did we get a ride to Hertz we werent offered any credit as promised since it was the 2nd guy at front desk that didnt care about service, also not sure why they dont keep notes since them they wouldnt have a problem when one guy offers something and the other guy apparently doesnt have a clue and refuses to offer it. So overall this hotel sucks it is nothing close to 4 star, I would say max 2.5 star and max 3 because of the location. If you wanna waste your $$$ then book this hotel, total dump and hotel room pics look nothing like the room we had, this hotel is way overpriced considering it is so crappy! If you are looking for a place just to crash and dont care about the rooms being old, smelly, ugly, and outdated and front desks not being organized and providing no service at all then this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Go stay somewhere else unless you are out of the room all day and all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Unfortunately, we found this hotel through Orbitz during Techno Week. This is a BIG money maker for South Beach. The music assaults and pounds and distorts from noon to 5 AM daily in and around our hotel. Even the lovely beaches were assaulted with the pounding. We had to run many blocks away to hide from these sounds. The hotel seemed to be one of the centers for this .....music?

The staff was VERY accomodating and tried to be helpful during our five dreaded days. They get an "A" plus for kindness.
If you must travel to South Beach during this event do not book rooms between 10th and 20th streets or bring EAR PLUGS. Now I need another vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back less noisey. There is no fitness center or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Good Evening Natasha3028,

We thank you for taking your time to post your honest feedback for all of our future guests to read! We were indeed in the middle of Winter Music Conference and it's the biggest festival of the year here in Miami, bringing people from all over the world to attend these events. We did have DJ's spinning in the lobbies during those 2 weeks and is a huge money maker for all of South Florida. I am glad that you found our staff to be accommodating. They are great and are always willing and eager to assist you! We hope that you would come and stay with us again, and experience what the hotel is really like when the conference is not going on.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I booked a room not knowing that music is played here until 5AM in the lobby, which means no way to watch TV, relax, or sleep. The base is so loud, it resonates in my brain even with ear plugs. It is horrifying.
Who cares about the look of the room (which I found very small and not cosy) when one cannot rest.
The fact that the hotel charges an extra $35 for overnight parking is a rip off!!!

I discourage anyone wanting a calm night stay to book here

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello Slavicainc,

I am terribly sorry that you were not aware that we are in the middle of Winter Music Conference and Ultra. Our website mentioned this and also stated that there would be DJ's spinning all throughout the night. Unfortunately we use an outside company that handles the parking for us and they do charge $35.00 per night to park. We hope that you would give us another chance in the future, to experience what the hotel is really like when the music conference is not going on.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I booked hotel through Hotwire. It is the first time I used Hotwire and picked based on location, which was perfect and 3 1/2 star rating, which this hotel was not. Right on Collins Ave. 2 blocks form Lincoln Rd. I couldnt ask for better spot. The hotel is 3 buildings and all are a little run down. They definitely had the vibe of retro South Beach and with a little updating would be very cool. I liked the Maxine building's restaurant and lobby bar. They were perfect for south beach. The hallways were very dark and my room also was. I was given a handicapped room even though I'm not handicapped. The bathroom was large, but basically one big space for a shower, toilet and sink. The floors got very slippery after the shower. The towels and bathroom toiletries were below par. The bed was comfortable, but everything from the TV to furniture was dated. The pool above the Dorsett building was nice, but not alot of spots to around pool. Decent music. The bar was nice, but two bartenders didnt know how to make simple drinks. Staff was decent.

Room Tip: Front of hotel can be loud with music and festivities. If you want quiet get room towards back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello AllanH328,

Your feedback is appreciated and we thank you for taking your time to share it with us! I see that you were content with the location of our property! We are in the heart of South Beach, within walking distance to all of the hot spots. Maxine's Bistro & Bar is great and they have a huge menu with so much to choose from! We are currently working on adding more lighting into the rooms and the hallways. We hope that you would stay with us again in the future!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.