We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay to stay if you get a good rate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Catalina Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Stamford, CT
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“okay to stay if you get a good rate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed for three days for the conference in Miami Beach convention center. Big advantage of the hotel is location - two blocks away from Convention center, one block away from the beach. Otherwise, everything is quite average. Friendly staff at the reception. Rooms are appointed in the Art Deco style, but overall are run down. My room had no drawers (lots of clothes had to stay in the suitcase). Bathrooms are okay, but shower has very strange open configuration (also the shower head was not in a great condition). If you are looking for quiet stay, you need t make sure you will get the room away from the bars, as the place gets very noisy.

I would recommend this place if you are in Miami for a short stay and can get a good rate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello TravelerFromStamford,

We look to see our feedback from our recent guests! Thank you for sharing it with us! We are glad that you chose to stay with us for the conference at the Miami Beach Convention Center!! Our location is great! We are 2 blocks away from the Convention Center which makes it very convenient for guests staying with us, that are going to go over there. We are proud to read that you were given good service by our front desk staff!! They are always eager to serve you, and always with big smiles!!

Your feedback is greatly appreciated!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    774
    399
    265
    389
See reviews for
259
816
203
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I love this place im goin back next year first off the service is excellent from the moment the cab drops you off at the airport the workers take your baggage out and take it in for you, and also when you check in they assist you to your room. :), i love how they have happy hour every day, and that they have three hotels next to each other that you can go back and forth too however many times you like, they have a little car thingy that can take you too different streets close by. You can also use the bikes for free which is great just go over to the lovely guy named Tyrell (concierge) , hes a nice young man who will show you the robes when you want to borrow one, and he helps with many other things as well :) hes very very pleasant two thumbs up for him. I have photos that i would love to upload but my cpu is not acting right lol sorry, if you love to see photos they have alot listed already. They are great examples of photos of the experience youll have at the Catalina. Loved my experience cant wait to go back next year!

tee ;)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Good Afternoon Tee1987tee,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback for all of our future guests to read! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! We are extremely glad to read that you had such a great time while staying with us!! Our staff is always eager to serve you from the moment you step foot on our property! Our complimentary cocktail hour is a great way to mingle with your temporary neighbors and get to know them. Our beach cruisers are a great way to get around South Beach and really explore our wonderful city! There is so much to see and so much history! Tyrell is such a great asset to our team and we are glad that you thought the same! I will let him know of your wonderful feedback!

We look forward in having you stay with us as a 2nd timer! :)

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very nice hotel for the price. Well located, but with 3 different buildings: reception in one, rooms in another, and breakfast in yet another building!!! they are not far from each other but it is not very pleasant to have to switch from one to the other... very noisy in the evening and at night, even though we enjoyed the live music, I trust this is not the kind of hotel for a quiet, calm weekend !!! The room even though quite simple and with only enough furniture was sapcious with a very confortable king bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Good Afternoon Jackal83,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback with us!! We love to hear what our recent guests have to say!! We are glad that you had a nice time while staying with us!! The location of the property is great! We are located in the heart of South Beach within walking distance to almost everything.

Please come back and stay with us again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

we had a great time in miami. the hotel is in a perfect spot, short walk from the beach and a busstop in front of the hotel to get to bayside/downtown as easy as you want.
the beds are to die for. so comfortable! one minor thing? not always hot water for the shower

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Jude567,

We are glad that you chose to share your feedback with us! We are very content to know that you had a great time while staying with us! The mattress's that we use are only the best! We only use Temper- Pedic mattresses. They are so wonderful and all of our guests love them!!

We hope to host your next visit to South Beach!!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were a family of 4 on an overnight stay/coach trip in Miami. We found the Hotel dark, loud and not good if you're up early to travel to the Keys, however I loved Miami and we were close to south beach which was great. Younger couples without kids may find being in the heart of the night life an attraction but we didn't.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Catalina is an awesome choice! When coming back to miami beach, there is no doubt i'll stay there... the rooms in the Catalina building are nice and clean, and the location of the hotel is great - it's very close to the beach and to Lincoln...
the staff is also incredible, mainly Juan, who helped us a lot!
we had a great time in Catalina!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Good Afternoon Marina S,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated for all of our future guests to read! We are glad to know that you made an awesome choice and that was to stay with us! :) We are very glad that you were content with your room and the cleanliness of it!! Juan such a great worker and his great definitely shows! We will let him know about your feedback! :)

We can't wait to have you stay with us again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I really enjoyed the happy hours that the hotel provides they add a lot of fun to the experience of being in Miami Beach. The roof top pool was great it had a great atmosphere and the bar was awesome! Keith Delgado was always on top of things and was very enjoyable in helping us find places to go at night and much more. Thank you for the great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Anica H,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated for all of our future guests to read! We are very glad to read that you enjoyed the complimentary cocktail hour that the hotel provides from 7-8pm nightly. The rooftop pool is definitely a great spot to hangout at! It's nice to watch the sunset from up there while sipping on a refreshing cocktail! :)
I will inform Keith of your wonderful praise! His hard work definitely paid off!

We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.