We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Internet excess is free - THEORETICALLY!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Catalina Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Internet excess is free - THEORETICALLY!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

When we got there it did NOT work in the Maxine Bulding! So better ask th reception before you accept the room they want to assign to you whether the Internet IS in fact working - should you depend on it, like we did!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Good Afternoon Love and Light B,

Your feedback is so greatly appreciated!!! I apologize that you were not able to get a connection for the internet during the time that you were staying with us!!! We were in having issues with the internet that were out of our control. The company came out and fixed the issue and everything is back to normal again. We really hope that you would give us another chance!!!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    659
    334
    234
    359
See reviews for
215
715
166
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Actually, i really love the hotel room's service with a lots of employees working hard all the time. special mention for Juan (the receptionist )
The location was great and had a big oportunity to go for a walk in the beach; is near of many things !
for sure i'll be back too other times to explore, and have a great time with my parents and friends just relaxing and having fun together.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello So_Fiacha,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated!!! We are glad to read that you were completely content with the room's service and with the staff that was serving you!! I will let Juan know of your kind praise!! Our guests love the location of the property! We are in the middle of everything.

Please come back and stay with us!!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Catalina Hotel was definitely more than I expected. The service was great and delivered with a sincere smile. I had no complaints of our stay there. Happy hour was the Best time. Everything was in order and on point in the rooms and restrooms. Would definitely stay there again and have referred friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Good Afternoon LorieLewis,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your 5 star review in regards to your recent stay with us!! We are extremely glad to read that you had a fabulous time while staying with us!! Our staff is always eager to assist you and we are glad that you were given such service! Our cocktail hour is indeed amazing! It's also a great time for you to mingle and get to know your temporary neighbors!!

We can't wait to have you stay with us again in the future!

Have an amazing weekend!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Catalina for 1 night this past week. We booked through hotwire and were slammed with hidden fees the minute we walked in. $32 for parking..$100 deposit. nowhere on their website are these fees mentioned so it took a toll on the spending money we had for exploring and such. Plus a $15 hotel fee for the "free" happy hour they offer. So by the end of the stay it cost me a total of about $130...for this price i could of stayed at a nicer hotel with free parking...might or might not stay again..also found some type of bone or something in my food at Maxines, but the manager handled it perfectly :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello Jcardo01,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! Thank you for choosing to stay with us!! I apologize that Hotwire did not inform you of these fee's. That is bad service on their behalf. We do charge $32 for parking per night. It is not mandatory that you park with us though. There are also lots, garages and street parking that you can also use. We do also take a $100 hold from you for incidentals. The hold is released immediately as you are checked out. The $15 resort fee is indeed for all of the amenities that you love to enjoy! The R/T shuttle from MIA Airport, cocktail hour nightly from 7-8PM, beach towels and chairs, beach cruisers, etc. I am glad to read that the manager at Maxine's was able to handle the issue promptly!

We would hope that you would stay with us again in the future!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The location on the beach was really nice and the roof top pool was my favorite. It was a great vacation spot. But we ate at a place called maxines and it was probably the worst service I ever had. I would totally reccomend staying at this hotel because its in a perfect location and very nice inside but choose somewhere else to eat.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Good Afternoon Dongita,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback! I am extremely glad to read that you enjoyed the location of our property!! We are centrally located within walking distance to all of the action!! The rooftop pool is a great spot to sip on a refreshing cocktail while taking a dig into the pool!! Great for people that want to soak up the hot Florida sun!! I apologize that you experienced such service at Maxine's. Do you happened to know the name of the person that was providing you with such service? I would like to get to the bottom of that and figure out why.

I look forward in hearing from you!!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the hotel about a week ago. this hotel was awesome, the staff is very helpful and friendly. Juan checked us in, he was very good and helped us with every single question we had. we stayed at maxine building, it was a little dark but the beds were comfortable. Their amanities are very good and customer services was perfect. We had a little issue with the music but that was what we booked (rockstar). I could not sleep the first night but Juan changed us to an uper floor wich i loved. I would not recommend this hotel for a family because there is a lot of party going on but if you want to have a blast with ur friends this is your place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the Catalina for one week, the hotel was very good and fun. There was a very good deal going on with open bar from 7 to 8, free shuttle service to the airport and free chairs at the beach too. When we checked in with Juan Arias, he was very helpful and knowledgeable on his work, kind and respectful. He explained us all of the amenities very well. He was the best. I will come back for sure!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.