We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its your Birthday Baby! Maybe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Catalina Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
“Its your Birthday Baby! Maybe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I planned a vacation for my girlfriend on a budget! At first, I planned on taking her to the Ritz Carlton in Philadelphia. However, she wanted to go someplace warm! After looking at all of our options I planned a trip to Miami on a budget! I booked the Catalina Hotel. We used their Transfers to and from the airport. This was included in the hotel fees. Once we arrived we were upgraded to a larger room since it was her Birthday! It was the Rock Star Room! Very Nice, it overlooked the tree lined couertyard between two buildings. It had a small balcony as well. Very quiet! We did walk thru their restaurant to get to the elevator to get to our room. We thought it was super cool. The first night we used Tyrelle to book their party bus to Set Club. It was a fixed price per person and included all we could drink for two hours (Great Bartenders Adrian and Chloe!) and VIP entrance to the club. We had a great time! We could walk back to the Hotel as well. The next morning we used the Hotel Bikes to travel the streets of Miami. The bikes were included as well. We found a small boutique hotel The Berkeley. Which had a small Beach Cafe outside and had brunch outside for under $35.00!
We went to the roof top pool for Happy Hour which was included in price of hotel.
The hotel has outside seating to hang out. We enjoyed chilling outside, while I enjoyed a Stoogey. We Ordered a Pizza from Groovey's $14.00 with the works and chilled in the room the rest of the evening! The bedding in the room was super comfortable as well!
We used the bikes the next day as well as the beach chairs also included by the hotel!
The last day we were able to store our luggage so we could enjoy our last day in South Beach! Overall, I'd recommand Catalina Hotel to anyone traveling to Miami! Happy Birthday Baby!

Room Tip: Rock Star Room very big and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Good Afternoon Gregory,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am extremely happy to read that you changed your plans to go to Philly to come to South Beach! Our complimentary shuttle is loved by all of our guests! It's a great money saving service! Tyrell is great and provides great services to all of our guests. Adrian and Chloe are absolutely amazing bartenders! Our beach cruisers are great to use when you want to take your time and see South Beach- and they are FREE. It;s nice to sit outside the hotel and people watch. There's a lot of eye candy out there! We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    642
    326
    231
    357
See reviews for
212
703
164
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We arrived on the 29th December and stayed till new years day, 3 girls. We very very impressed with the efficiency and the welcoming atmosphere. The staff are helpful, warm friendly and a good laugh. Particularly Tyrell and Jonathan at the front desks who went that extra mile to assist us through out our trip. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be coming back. Thanks to everyone at Catalina for a great NYE!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello Shabz2012,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! We are very glad that you had a wonderful time while staying with us!! From being greeting by a warm welcome to the service that Tyrell and Jonathan gave you- we are very glad that you would recommend this hotel! We can't wait to have you stay with us again soon!

Have a great weekend!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here from the 18th for a few days prior to christmas. After a long flight from the uk we were collected by their courtesy bus from the airport.


I was quite surprised at check in. I have never stayed at a hotel that took so many security precautions with photocopies of all kinds and deposits for breakages as well as charging for the full cost for the room. The guy at check in was slightly off putting and was not friendly, I even commented that this was usually all done when we check out.

We had 2 rooms and they were in the Maxine part of the building. The lift was off putting and the corridor but the rooms were a pleasant surprise. Very comfortable and clean with modern decor.

Both pools were good but the roof top pool was best with great double loungers and a bar.

The hotel is very close to the beach and you have complimentary loungers but umbrellas are extra. They will even run you there and they also offer free bikes for you to hire.

We ate at Maxine's for breakfast and lunch and the food and service were excellent. Staff could not do enough for us. We ate on ocean drive too but I think Maxine's was much better quality. They had different entertainment each evening. The happy hour was great and we really enjoyed it.

I went to check out around 9 am and what a different experience, the 2 ladies could not have been more polite and helpful. Wish they had been on when we arrived

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Good Afternoon Fizzyfish67,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your feedback with us! We are glad that you had a nice stay with us!! I am glad that you had a nice time while staying with us! We apologize that you were not familiar with our check in process. Due to many past experiences with guests we have to take those kinds of safety precautions. Do you remember the name of the front desk agent that was assisting you? I would like to find out why you were not given amazing service by him. We do offer complimentary lounge chairs as the beach, and glad that you were able to take advantage! Maxine does have amazing food, and their service is up to par! Their breakfast tacos are so delicious! Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Have a great weekend!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Bordello Chic? Nope, just cheap bordello style that's ridiculously over-priced. Comments in other reviews are right:
--VERY unhelpful front desk staff: they promised to call when our room was ready for check-in but never did.
-- We paid for an "executive suite" but got a tacky "accessible" room that smelled of the same disinfectant used in night club VIP rooms. Basically room was dark and smelly.
-- Wifi didn't work in room.
-- Nice rooftop pool area with palapas but ground level pool felt dark and moldy.
-- This place might be fun for lifestyle events, but it's not suitable for tourist/business visits of more than one night. And it's not good for families.
-- Sneaky resort fee added to bill upon check out. RIPOFF!

Room Tip: stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Good Afternoon Raherold,

Thank you for taking your time to post your honest feedback! I am sorry to read that you did not have an amazing time while staying with us!!! I apologize greatly that the front desk did not call you when your room was ready. Do you remember the agent that was assisting you with your check- in? I would like to find out why your request was not fulfilled. Did you call the front desk in regards to the WiFi not working in your room. Perhaps it was an issue with your computer and our password setting. We like to give our guests the options to enjoy both ambiances of the pool. Our rooftop pool is for those who would like to enjoy the sun and catch some rays and our bamboo pool is for those who want to relax and take a swim. We offer the best of both worlds. We cater to all kinds of guests from families, to couples, to the single party goers, etc. We are sorry that the hotel was not fit for you. Our resort fee is stated at the point of check in. It includes all of the amenities that you like to enjoy- R/T shuttle, cocktail hour, beach chairs, beach cruisers, etc.

Have a great day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Although the initial room rate was reasonable, a $15 resort fee and a $32 parking fee jacked the price considerably. Don't plan on arriving early because they charge an "early registration" fee if you check-in before 3 pm. When we checked in later, the rooms were clean but quite cramped. We had some difficulty getting to sleep because of the loud music playing in the lobby that echoed throughout the building. Sometime after midnight the fire alarm went off. Most of the guests wandered into the halls but since there was no smell of smoke, most wandered back into their rooms. The fire alarm went on and off intermittently for the next half hour. Interestingly, the building's fire alarm does not seemed to be tied into the fire department because there was no response from the police or fire department. I certainly won't stay in this fire trap again!

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Good Afternoon Gerald,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are very glad that you chose to share it with us! We do offer valet parking at the hotel, but it is not mandatory. We charge $32 for you to be able to take your car in and out as many times as you'd like in a day. There are several garages, lots and street parking around the hotel. They charge one price every time you would like to take your car out. Our $15 resort fee is for the amenities that you love to enjoy- R/T shuttle, cocktail hour, beach chairs at the beach club, etc. We do not charge extra if you decide to check in early. We do charge extra if you would like a later check out time. We were experiencing some false alarms and it is indeed tied up with the fire department. Whenever the fire alarm goes off we get a call from the station making sure that everything is ok, or if they need to send someone out. We would hope that you understand that technical difficulties do happen and that they are out of our control.

Have an amazing day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I decided to take a little get-away without the kids. I am six months pregnant, so rest was somewhat important to me. We also wanted a location within walking distance to all the main attractions.

Catalina had an amazing deal that week and we booked it. The location is perfect - within walking distance to Lincoln, California and Espaniola Way - good pedestrian streets. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to several sister-hotel locations on the South Beach strip. Additionally, they offer a shuttle service to the airport, which came in handy.

We got lucky and ended up in the Dorset building of the hotel. Our room was D105 - the last one to the right of the bar. It was away from all the noise. If you are traveling with children and need to be away from the noise, ask for the room around that area.

The decor is minimal and functional. The rooms are furnished with a contemporary IKEA feel; nothing too fancy. Don't expect any expensive furniture or an executive look - these rooms are very basic. We couldn't really open the window curtains because our window faced another hotel room. Our room had a separate bathroom and a walk-in shower. Although the renovations were done, the bathroom felt really old. Shower was very spacious. Counter space for the sink was not huge.

The hotel has 2 pools: we laid out on the roof of the Dorset building one day, which had nice pool-side beds. There is also beach access. You can get beach cards and towels at the downstairs bamboo pool. Beware, you can get longe chairs on the beach, but umbrellas and tents will cost you extra.

There is a happy hour 7-8 at the hotel (all bars). They only include vodka and rum with all the mixers. You can't get anything fancy, but can sit down for a drink before dinner. The restaurants to the hotel also have some happy hour snacks. All three hotel restaurants had very poor reviews on Yelp so we didn't eat at any of them.

Staff is extremely courteous and friendly. We always got good service. The concierge was very helpful as well.

There are a few nice eateries around the hotel - there is a french cafe 2 blocks north on Collins with the most amazing baked goods. There is also a small coffee shop in the loby, but we never ordered from there.

Room Tip: Dorset building room D105 was very quiet - away from all the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Good Afternoon A S,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful extensive feedback for all of our future guests to read! We are very glad to read that you chose to stay with us on your getaway! Our location is prime! We are in the middle of all of the action- yet far enough to get a great nights rest! Our amenities are loved by all of our guests! The complimentary R/T shuttle is a money saver- and who doesn't like to save money! Both of our pools are great! The rooftop pool is great if you want to enjoy the Florida sun and get a tan and the bamboo pool is great after a long day in the sun- to just go and lounge around with the nice breeze that passes through. Our complimentary cocktail hour is also one of our guests favorites! It's a great way to mingle and get to know your neighbors. We would of hoped that you would have given our restaurants a try. They offer a wide variety of things to chose from. We are very glad to read that you were given the great service that you deserve!! We would hope to have you stay with us again, on your next getaway to South Beach!

Have a great day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

cheap place and it reflects. looks shady and there were small bugs flying/walking around in the bathroom. you have to get into another building close by named maxine and walk through a bar and an old elevator to get to your room.. loud and just don't feel good. if you are travelling with family, not recommended. if you are travelling with someone you don't care, and just spend the night, go for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello Coder888,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! I am sorry that you experienced little bugs in your bathroom. Did you inform the front desk or the manager about the incident? If so, do you remember who you spoke with? We are a 3 building hotel and depending on the room type that you booked determines which building you will be in.

Happy New Year!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.