We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap dump atmosphere, high prices” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Catalina Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Cheap dump atmosphere, high prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Bordello Chic? Nope, just cheap bordello style that's ridiculously over-priced. Comments in other reviews are right:
--VERY unhelpful front desk staff: they promised to call when our room was ready for check-in but never did.
-- We paid for an "executive suite" but got a tacky "accessible" room that smelled of the same disinfectant used in night club VIP rooms. Basically room was dark and smelly.
-- Wifi didn't work in room.
-- Nice rooftop pool area with palapas but ground level pool felt dark and moldy.
-- This place might be fun for lifestyle events, but it's not suitable for tourist/business visits of more than one night. And it's not good for families.
-- Sneaky resort fee added to bill upon check out. RIPOFF!

Room Tip: stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Good Afternoon Raherold,

Thank you for taking your time to post your honest feedback! I am sorry to read that you did not have an amazing time while staying with us!!! I apologize greatly that the front desk did not call you when your room was ready. Do you remember the agent that was assisting you with your check- in? I would like to find out why your request was not fulfilled. Did you call the front desk in regards to the WiFi not working in your room. Perhaps it was an issue with your computer and our password setting. We like to give our guests the options to enjoy both ambiances of the pool. Our rooftop pool is for those who would like to enjoy the sun and catch some rays and our bamboo pool is for those who want to relax and take a swim. We offer the best of both worlds. We cater to all kinds of guests from families, to couples, to the single party goers, etc. We are sorry that the hotel was not fit for you. Our resort fee is stated at the point of check in. It includes all of the amenities that you like to enjoy- R/T shuttle, cocktail hour, beach chairs, beach cruisers, etc.

Have a great day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    774
    648
    339
    246
    358
See reviews for
199
678
161
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Although the initial room rate was reasonable, a $15 resort fee and a $32 parking fee jacked the price considerably. Don't plan on arriving early because they charge an "early registration" fee if you check-in before 3 pm. When we checked in later, the rooms were clean but quite cramped. We had some difficulty getting to sleep because of the loud music playing in the lobby that echoed throughout the building. Sometime after midnight the fire alarm went off. Most of the guests wandered into the halls but since there was no smell of smoke, most wandered back into their rooms. The fire alarm went on and off intermittently for the next half hour. Interestingly, the building's fire alarm does not seemed to be tied into the fire department because there was no response from the police or fire department. I certainly won't stay in this fire trap again!

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Good Afternoon Gerald,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are very glad that you chose to share it with us! We do offer valet parking at the hotel, but it is not mandatory. We charge $32 for you to be able to take your car in and out as many times as you'd like in a day. There are several garages, lots and street parking around the hotel. They charge one price every time you would like to take your car out. Our $15 resort fee is for the amenities that you love to enjoy- R/T shuttle, cocktail hour, beach chairs at the beach club, etc. We do not charge extra if you decide to check in early. We do charge extra if you would like a later check out time. We were experiencing some false alarms and it is indeed tied up with the fire department. Whenever the fire alarm goes off we get a call from the station making sure that everything is ok, or if they need to send someone out. We would hope that you understand that technical difficulties do happen and that they are out of our control.

Have an amazing day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I decided to take a little get-away without the kids. I am six months pregnant, so rest was somewhat important to me. We also wanted a location within walking distance to all the main attractions.

Catalina had an amazing deal that week and we booked it. The location is perfect - within walking distance to Lincoln, California and Espaniola Way - good pedestrian streets. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to several sister-hotel locations on the South Beach strip. Additionally, they offer a shuttle service to the airport, which came in handy.

We got lucky and ended up in the Dorset building of the hotel. Our room was D105 - the last one to the right of the bar. It was away from all the noise. If you are traveling with children and need to be away from the noise, ask for the room around that area.

The decor is minimal and functional. The rooms are furnished with a contemporary IKEA feel; nothing too fancy. Don't expect any expensive furniture or an executive look - these rooms are very basic. We couldn't really open the window curtains because our window faced another hotel room. Our room had a separate bathroom and a walk-in shower. Although the renovations were done, the bathroom felt really old. Shower was very spacious. Counter space for the sink was not huge.

The hotel has 2 pools: we laid out on the roof of the Dorset building one day, which had nice pool-side beds. There is also beach access. You can get beach cards and towels at the downstairs bamboo pool. Beware, you can get longe chairs on the beach, but umbrellas and tents will cost you extra.

There is a happy hour 7-8 at the hotel (all bars). They only include vodka and rum with all the mixers. You can't get anything fancy, but can sit down for a drink before dinner. The restaurants to the hotel also have some happy hour snacks. All three hotel restaurants had very poor reviews on Yelp so we didn't eat at any of them.

Staff is extremely courteous and friendly. We always got good service. The concierge was very helpful as well.

There are a few nice eateries around the hotel - there is a french cafe 2 blocks north on Collins with the most amazing baked goods. There is also a small coffee shop in the loby, but we never ordered from there.

Room Tip: Dorset building room D105 was very quiet - away from all the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Good Afternoon A S,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful extensive feedback for all of our future guests to read! We are very glad to read that you chose to stay with us on your getaway! Our location is prime! We are in the middle of all of the action- yet far enough to get a great nights rest! Our amenities are loved by all of our guests! The complimentary R/T shuttle is a money saver- and who doesn't like to save money! Both of our pools are great! The rooftop pool is great if you want to enjoy the Florida sun and get a tan and the bamboo pool is great after a long day in the sun- to just go and lounge around with the nice breeze that passes through. Our complimentary cocktail hour is also one of our guests favorites! It's a great way to mingle and get to know your neighbors. We would of hoped that you would have given our restaurants a try. They offer a wide variety of things to chose from. We are very glad to read that you were given the great service that you deserve!! We would hope to have you stay with us again, on your next getaway to South Beach!

Have a great day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

cheap place and it reflects. looks shady and there were small bugs flying/walking around in the bathroom. you have to get into another building close by named maxine and walk through a bar and an old elevator to get to your room.. loud and just don't feel good. if you are travelling with family, not recommended. if you are travelling with someone you don't care, and just spend the night, go for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello Coder888,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! I am sorry that you experienced little bugs in your bathroom. Did you inform the front desk or the manager about the incident? If so, do you remember who you spoke with? We are a 3 building hotel and depending on the room type that you booked determines which building you will be in.

Happy New Year!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I thought the catalina was a perfect setting for our introduction to miami.
close to all amenities - all in walking distance, great rooftop pool (the lower bamboo pool was a little disappointing), great service from the staff in the bar/restaurant and a superb selection of drinks in the happy hour! :)

the only fault I can think of is, as mentioned, the lower bamboo pool as it felt a little neglected. the sun couldn't get through the tree canopy which meant no sunbathing and no pool time! - it was far too cold with no pool heating and no sun!)
the lift/corridor areas between the guest rooms were in need of a little TLC too.

other than that, great place! I'd definitely go again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Good Afternoon Helenfriar,

Thank you for posting your wonderful feedback for our future guests to read! We are very glad to read that your stay was perfect!!! I see that you enjoyed it all, from the rooftop pool, to the amenities that we offer, to the service. We want our guests to be able to enjoy the best of both pools. Some guests want to enjoy the sun while they are in the pool and other want to have more shade. I am sorry that the ground floor pool wasn't your style.

We hope to see you soon!

Happy New Year!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel for all ages. Stayed here with my girlfriend, brother and parents and we all had a great time. The rooftop pool is superb and a sun trap! The bamboo pool isn't as good but could see its use when the temperature gets up!
The food available at Maxine's is great and real value considering the other restaurants nearby.
The section of beach is also really great. It's 5 mins walk and there's also a buggy ride to get there is you don't fancy it.
The only complaint is the distance to ocean drive, it's a good 20 mins walk but this hotel is superb!
Also the free drinks 7-8 is great!

I would definitely recommend this hotel as value for money and a great laugh before heading out

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello Stuart,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your feedback for all of our future guests to read! I am very glad to read that you had a great time while staying with us! The Catalina is a place for all ages. We have many families, couples, singles, business people, etc come to stay here. The rooftop pool is a great place to hangout and catch some rays. The bamboo pool is also great. It all depends on what you are looking for. Some people want to take a dip in the pool with less sun around, others only want sun. So we offer the best of both worlds. :) Maxine's food is delicious! They have such a huge menu to choose from- and you can never go wrong. Everything is just so tasty! I am very glad that you were able to take advantage of our amenities!! All of our guests seem to love those. We hope to see you soon!

Happy New Year!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

For price 54$ you get clean room with fresh towels. ( in our room we had 8 towels)
Nice pool on the roof.I do not recommended room on first floor, very noisy and smells like sushi.
Great location. Parking lot is not free. 32 $

Room Tip: ask for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello Odavidov,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated!!! I am very glad to read that you had a nice time while staying with us! Our location is great and all of our guests love it. We are in the middle of it all. We do offer valet parking to our guests at $32 per night with as many in's and out's as you'd like. Valet parking is not mandatory. There are several lots, garages and street parking as well. We would hope to be able to host your next visit to South Beach!

Happy New Year!!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.