We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Catalina Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

cheap place and it reflects. looks shady and there were small bugs flying/walking around in the bathroom. you have to get into another building close by named maxine and walk through a bar and an old elevator to get to your room.. loud and just don't feel good. if you are travelling with family, not recommended. if you are travelling with someone you don't care, and just spend the night, go for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello Coder888,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! I am sorry that you experienced little bugs in your bathroom. Did you inform the front desk or the manager about the incident? If so, do you remember who you spoke with? We are a 3 building hotel and depending on the room type that you booked determines which building you will be in.

Happy New Year!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    686
    347
    239
    363
See reviews for
221
743
174
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I thought the catalina was a perfect setting for our introduction to miami.
close to all amenities - all in walking distance, great rooftop pool (the lower bamboo pool was a little disappointing), great service from the staff in the bar/restaurant and a superb selection of drinks in the happy hour! :)

the only fault I can think of is, as mentioned, the lower bamboo pool as it felt a little neglected. the sun couldn't get through the tree canopy which meant no sunbathing and no pool time! - it was far too cold with no pool heating and no sun!)
the lift/corridor areas between the guest rooms were in need of a little TLC too.

other than that, great place! I'd definitely go again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Good Afternoon Helenfriar,

Thank you for posting your wonderful feedback for our future guests to read! We are very glad to read that your stay was perfect!!! I see that you enjoyed it all, from the rooftop pool, to the amenities that we offer, to the service. We want our guests to be able to enjoy the best of both pools. Some guests want to enjoy the sun while they are in the pool and other want to have more shade. I am sorry that the ground floor pool wasn't your style.

We hope to see you soon!

Happy New Year!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel for all ages. Stayed here with my girlfriend, brother and parents and we all had a great time. The rooftop pool is superb and a sun trap! The bamboo pool isn't as good but could see its use when the temperature gets up!
The food available at Maxine's is great and real value considering the other restaurants nearby.
The section of beach is also really great. It's 5 mins walk and there's also a buggy ride to get there is you don't fancy it.
The only complaint is the distance to ocean drive, it's a good 20 mins walk but this hotel is superb!
Also the free drinks 7-8 is great!

I would definitely recommend this hotel as value for money and a great laugh before heading out

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello Stuart,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your feedback for all of our future guests to read! I am very glad to read that you had a great time while staying with us! The Catalina is a place for all ages. We have many families, couples, singles, business people, etc come to stay here. The rooftop pool is a great place to hangout and catch some rays. The bamboo pool is also great. It all depends on what you are looking for. Some people want to take a dip in the pool with less sun around, others only want sun. So we offer the best of both worlds. :) Maxine's food is delicious! They have such a huge menu to choose from- and you can never go wrong. Everything is just so tasty! I am very glad that you were able to take advantage of our amenities!! All of our guests seem to love those. We hope to see you soon!

Happy New Year!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

For price 54$ you get clean room with fresh towels. ( in our room we had 8 towels)
Nice pool on the roof.I do not recommended room on first floor, very noisy and smells like sushi.
Great location. Parking lot is not free. 32 $

Room Tip: ask for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello Odavidov,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated!!! I am very glad to read that you had a nice time while staying with us! Our location is great and all of our guests love it. We are in the middle of it all. We do offer valet parking to our guests at $32 per night with as many in's and out's as you'd like. Valet parking is not mandatory. There are several lots, garages and street parking as well. We would hope to be able to host your next visit to South Beach!

Happy New Year!!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Södertälje
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My room was quiet which I had requested and it had à standard well above the price. Service was very good as the staff was focused in the customer. However,the lady who checked if I was still in the room at 11 PM could be less arrogant. Then it took time to find The luggage which I had lyft for storting but minor remark

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hello Leif,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am extremely happy to read that we exceeded your standards! I am very glad that you were presented with good service by our staff. We work hard to give each and every guest the service that they deserve! We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I choose the Catalina for the location, amenities, and decent ratings.

Shuttle on time +

Room + Just fab, clean, nice shower, comfy with the same mattress I have at home.

Everything is within walking distince+ Beach, Walgreens, Eats, Liq store, Cuban coffee!

Service + I have stayed at 4-5 star resorts and have had better service at the Catalina.
Bar: Keith & London, what can you say, they have experience with getting things going, and then some. Oh, I almost forgot George, thanks for running/walking blocks for what I needed...

Door service, front desk, concierge+++

Roof top pool+++ Keith, thanks again, still recovering

Overall, it was a great stay with execellent service which had exceeded my expecations.


For those with the negative comments who have stayed here with young children, why would anyone book a room anywhere without doing the research... This property welcomes all but caters to the young at heart hipsters who dont have to pay the hip price!

See ya soon Catalina!

Room Tip: Room 200 "White RM", in the main bldg, faced the street, single large room with solid wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Good Afternoon Dwhitnj,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are very glad that you chose to share it with us! I am very glad to read that you enjoyed the location of the property as we as the amenities that we offer. We are in the middle of it all. Keith and London are amazing bartenders. They definitely know how to keep our guests happy and make wonderful memories with them! I will let them know of your kind praise! Come back for another wonderful getaway!

We hope to see you soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Unless you are a single backpacker, STAY OUT of this hotel!
Dirty, dark, noisy, staff with attitude, no view from your room window, etc...
Pictures in the hotel web page DO NOT show the real quality of this Hotel. The cheap closet, the broken thermostat that keeps the room at 50ºF or 60ºF at best, the cheap linens, the smelly and dark corridor, the "view" of a wall 3 meters away from your window, all that they don't show you. Instead they photoshop and trick pictures to show rooms bigger than what they are. BEWARE, they tricked me and I am in the Hotel trade, so if you want to have a nice vacation in Miami Beach, STAY AWAY from this property more a Hostel than a Hotel. It is NOT worth the money you will spend!

Room Tip: There is NO WAY you will find a good room in this "Hotel" STAY AWAY from Catalina Hotel an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Good Afternoon Germanolava,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! We are very sorry that you had the wrong impression of our hotel! We are a boutique style hotel therefore our rooms are smaller then your average hotel room. We advertise our style on every site. We are currently working on adding more lighting into the hallways. I will inform our staff about your comment in regards to the attitude that you were given. Was it a staff member in particular that you were experiencing a problem with? If so, please provide me with his/ her name. I would like to look further into that.

I look forward in hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.