We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, better people...loved the staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Catalina Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place, better people...loved the staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at The Catalina only for one night as it was a stop between travel. When we realized it was $32 for overnight valet we were a bit taken back but were to tired to tackle what was sure to be a nightmare of finding alternative parking. The point I want to make clear is that the Catalina staff are a team of well functioning customer service guru's! From the valet attendant, the desk staff, the concierge, bartender, bellman....great staff. I must say the 2 people who stood out and were especially amazing were Tyrell and our bartender (I can't remember her name but she worked the evening of Nov. 27th...you know who you are:). They both went out of their way to accommodate us. We had packages to be posted Tyrell insisted that he would handle it. He did by the way, everything arrived in one piece and on time. Thank you Tyrell, you save us on that one! Nd to our bartender, thank you for taking care of our dinner and making us feel like the only people there, although it was a packed house. You guys really made us feel welcomed!
Before dinner we had a walk around Lincoln and both agreed that we were very happy to pay the $32 for overnight valet realizing that it was in fact a great deal ;-)
The beds are so comfortable and the rooms have a very cool personality...the Complimentary bottle of chilled vodka in our room was a very nice touch as well, lol! And yes I'm serious, a cold bottle of Kettle One was in our room!
If you take my advice and try this place out say hello to Tyrell and the rest of the staff from the couple in Cayman Islands!

Room Tip: The rock star room is good but a little noisy....so not exactly for those looking for peace and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Good Morning Tonya,

Your feedback is very important to us and we are very glad that you chose to share it!! We are pleased to read that you chose to stay with us for your stop between travels! We strive to give our guests to best customer service that we can provide! I will definitely inform Tyrell and the bartender about your kind praise! They love to hear what our guests have to say! Our parking is actually a great deal. We allow you as many in's and out's as you'd like per day! Other lots and garages normally charge you every time that you want to take your car out. Your booked the Rock Star room and it includes a complimentary bottle of Vodka to get the South Beach vibes going! We are very happy that you had such a great time with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Have an amazing weekend!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    769
    637
    337
    245
    356
See reviews for
197
676
161
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed in the Catalina's sister hotel 'Maxine Bistro & Bar'. Only stayed for one night as part of a Miami trip whilst staying in Orlando. Beautiful bedrooms, amazingly comfy bed. The bathroom was stylish - big shower, but felt like it was too big for the room. For the night we stayed there it was perfect, don't know if it'd been as good for a week or more. The corridors to the room were all dark and musty. Plus we had to walk through the bistro to get to the lift to our floor. The Catalina was a much more beautiful building and although we only saw the lobby and reception area it seemed much brighter and welcoming. Excellent location for walking around Miami.

Room Tip: If possible get a room in the actual Catalina, from talking to others it's definitely better the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Good Evening Kaite,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor! It seems like you enjoyed the hotel and your room. We are currently working on adding more lighting in all of the hallways and we are picking out new carpet to replace all hallways as well. This project is going to take some time but should be done within the next few months.
We hope to have you stay with us again!

Have a good night!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Location of this hotel is absolutely fantastic. Literally a block away from the beach and 2 blocks from all the shopping and restaurants in the area e.g, Lincoln road or Espanola way etc...
I was shocked to find out that the Hotel charged $32 for the valet parking, but since we arrived in the evening we just paid for it. Though to the credit of the front desk the guy did tell me about the $16 public parking about 2 blocks away, which is what I went to the next day.

The first room we were given was appointed in a stylish manner yet it was too cramped with two queens and a crib (they provided a wooden crib and not just a pack-n-play, full marks for that) hence we requested to be shifted to a room with 1 king bed as that would save space. The helpful front desk obliged quickly by giving us a choice of 2 rooms of which we picked the nearest. When we moved to this room I noticed a line of white-ish ants near the luggage area. I wasn't sure if these were termites or not hence i immediately called the front desk again and wanted a different room as my son is allergic to some termite chemical and we didn't wanna take any chances.
Again the front desk person upgraded us to a larger room in the first building (they have 3 bldgs) above the sushi restaurant, without any hassles. That sort of service, in my view goes a long way in making your stay memorable and wonderful and hence my 5 stars review to the hotel.

They gave complimentary beach cruisers (we didn't take those) as well as free beach towels and beach chairs which was pretty nice. They also have 2 pools one of which is a rooftop. Rooftop pool has good lounge area as well as decent view. They also had 7-8 happy hour with all the drinks (except very few) on the house. We did avail ourselves of this comfort and were happy with the service and < $5 appetizers..

The only complaint I have is that the entrance to the rooms is through their restaurants which gets awkward at times (more so at the lounge and bar in the first building). Otherwise their staff made our 4 days stay memorable.

They don't have microwaves in any of the rooms that we saw (not that they claim otherwise) hence people travelling with kids should make a note (there is always the hot tap water :D)

There's a ton of stuff to do in the vicinity of the hotel so you'll literally rarely be 2-3 blocks away from here. I even loved the wack to the parking lot 2 blocks away. Will def return here next time and spend more time on the beach :D

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms not facing the road as it can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am very glad to read that you had a fantastic stay! Most, if not all hotels charge for valet parking. There are other options such as municipal parking, lot parking and garage parking. I am very sorry that you were not explained this at the time of check- in. I am sorry to hear that the room type that you chose was not big enough for your fit. On another note I am extremely happy to read that the front desk attendant was able to accommodate you with a room that was fit for you. I am very glad that you were able to take advantage of the beach cruisers that we have for our guests to ride around on, as well as complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM!
We hope to see you again sometime soon! :)

Have a great evening!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

So first and foremost, this is South Beach. We weren't really expecting much more from our hotel but a comfortable sleep, reliable info and excellent service.

The service is great. The bellmen are very helpful and welcoming. Receptionists might seem stand-offish at first but they're just juggling a lot of things; once they give you their attention they give it to you fully! Be aware they do take a $100 Incidental deposit (which you'll get back so long as you don't wreck your room).

We had room #126 which was at the end of the hallway. The room itself was nice, the bed was huge and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small but not that bad, our only complaint about the bathroom was the shower. The shower's only partition is a piece of glass with no door or curtain; so what ends up happening is the bathroom floor gets totally wet and potentially slippery. We ended up putting towels around to circumvent but coming back to a bathroom with damp towels later on was a bit irky.

This room in particular had air conditioning via vents as opposed to some other rooms that had dedicated air conditioning units. It was nice coming back to a nice cold room after the beach but halfway through the night we were FREEZING.

Another thing about these rooms is that the walls are paper thin. You can hear everything going on outside of your room. The hotel's bar and it's sister hotel's (Dorset & Maxines) has a happy hour 7pm-8pm which is awesome but if you're trying to sleep at those times... good luck!

The housekeeping did a great job cleaning the room every morning. So that wasn't an issue whatsoever.

Ultimately, we're happy with the hotel, the staff was very charming.

It's not that far from the beach and conveniently located so you're only a few minutes away from Walgreens, Liquor Stores, Lincoln Rd and Food.

We recommend going to Ocean Drive for food, its a bit further out but worth it.

If you're staying here, go to the Bamboo pool and get beach chair vouchers for the beach, it's a big win to have chairs to hang out on the beach with (for free!).

Room Tip: Rooms at the further end are quieter. Avoid the rooms near the bathroom. Not views from any of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Good Evening,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback for all of our future guests to read! I am glad that you found the service to be great! All of our bellmen are at the door ready to assist you with your luggage or just to open the door for you. In regards to the shower- we are currently working on some additions to the showers to prevent this from happening in the future. I would love for you to come back and stay with us again. If you choose to do so please contact me directly and I will make sure that you have an amazing stay.

Have a great day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed there for 4 days. Great Location from Restaurants to shopping everything is just mins away.Everthing is at walkin distance so we saved lot of money from Taxis, free Shuttle to and from airport was added advantage.
Just awesome, Had lot of fun, the conciere fixed VIP passes for Mango and Mansion, besides they arranged couple of tours for us at good prices.
The Staff was also very helpful. We has lots of fun there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Good Afternoon Deepak,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am extremely happy to read that you had a lot of fun while staying with us!! Our location is great- we are in the middle of everything. Walking distance from Lincoln Road shopping, Convention Center and many many restaurants, shops and clubs. Did you have an amazing time at Mango and Mansion? We hope to have you stay with us soon!!!

Have a great day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed a Hotel Catalina in October for our annual girls trip to Miami. The hotel is close to the beach, has lots of pools and a really great atmosphere. The highlight for me though was the K-Money club. We partied every opportunity we could. The happy hour between 4-6 is THE Best happy hour on Collins. Definitely recommended for those who love High Energy and awesome tunes.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinareviews, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Good Evening Trish,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read. I am very glad that you and your girlfriends had a great time while staying with us! We hope you and the ladies come back soon to stay and party with us!

We hope to see you soon!

Have an amazing weekend!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

sadly we only stayed one night on a florida dolphin tour break last week but we are already planning to go back there. A fabulously chic hip and cool hotel that's exciting and vibrant. The staff are friendly and laid back, the room was not small as said in previous reviews. They should stay at one of my previous reviews hotels for small. The room was ace, white and red. Brilliant rain forest type shower. Mini bar that was described by the rep as expensive (it wasn't) and had a fab range of food and drink. The swedish bed was luxury. Absolutely loved it, We had the most expensive breakfast ever in the maxine's but it was also the best ever in my life... and we did have 4 mimosa's miss it and miss out... The hotel is three diff hotels in a line and each has it's own charm, the pool in the maxine is a bamboo cool one very pretty but the rooftop pool in the Dorset was lush! Happy hour really is happy with free drinks and shots. The barmaid with the supercool hair is so adorable. Don't forget to tip her, she deserves it. We sat outside watching southbeach walk by on hip sofas drinking free drinks and thinking we were dreaming. Loved it so much, it has such character and I will book this myself in the next year or so when we go to Miami for a more extended stay. ps can I say thankyou to all the hotels for their excellent choice of vegetarian foods. The best we found in florida.

Room Tip: we met a couple with a suite in the dorset which was nice but we actually loved our very own budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinareviews, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Good Evening.

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our guests to read. I am so glad to read that you are already planning on coming back to visit us! :) I am glad that you found everything to be great- our staff, shower, room, the bed, etc. It's nice to sit outside and people watch. A lot of foot traffic going on around here. We hope to have you back with us soon!

Have a wonderful weekend!!!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.