We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Catalina!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Catalina Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Love the Catalina!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Great location and VERY friendly/helpful staff! The hotel has a very cool atmosphere and the two pools are amazing. It is a very short walk to the beach, shopping and great night life. The hotel restaurant was great for all meals and there are multiple bars (one is on the rooftop!) that offer free happy hour every night which was an added bonus! I'd definitely stay there again and would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinarelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Good Afternoon Julie,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your positive feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read. I am extremely happy to read that you love The Catalina! :) Did you get to spend any time at the pool and catch some rays? If so, which pool did you enjoy the most? We cannot wait to have you stay with us again soon! Have a wonderful day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    855
    428
    271
    405
See reviews for
303
882
221
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brigantine, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Hi all! If you are coming to Miami/South Beach area and don't want to have to put guess-work into finding out where to eat/stay/play, come to the Catalina! The hotel is SO cute...it's right on Collins avenue which is where all the action is! The lobby is colorful and decorated with very trendy fixtures. The bar has a free happy hour for guests from 7-8pm EVERY night, along with 3 different bars for you to choose from for said happy hour :)

The rooms are also great. My boyfriend and I booked a room (200) with 1 king bed and it was gorgeous! The tempur-pedic mattress was super comfortable along with the down comforters and lots of pillows. The bathroom was a perfect size & the shower was really nice. We also ate at the kung-Fu Sushi restaurant and it was great! The outdoor seating cannot be beat.

The lobby has somewhat of a bar/club-atmosphere at night with awesome music playing and people just having a good time. I have to say I have never stayed somewhere as multi-faceted as the Catalina! I absolutely loved everyone there and could not have asked for a better stay. The only thing I wish they had was a designated parking area, but they DO have Valet... after all, it's South Beach! Trust me, no complaints here and if you are a single or a couple looking to be in the center of everything South Beach has to offer, you need to stay here!

Thanks!

Hallie M. , Atlantic City, NJ

Room Tip: Room 200 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinarelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Good Afternoon Hallie,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am extremely glad to read that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us! Our guests love our location. We are right smack in the middle of it all. Walking distance to almost everything. We hope to have you and your boyfriend stay with us again soon!

Have an amazing day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

The hotel was really fun. I would recommend only for younger people wanting to have a party based vacation. Definitely not low-key. The rooms were pretty nice for the price and the location was great being just one block from the beach, which was beautiful. The nightly happy hour was wonderful, as drinks were expensive everywhere!

The only negative was the non-stop club music played at the roof top pool. I like a good time and loud music but constant house music blaring wasn't relaxing at times. I would suggest keeping at least half the rooftop more relaxing or with other types of music.

Room Tip: Higher up the better :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Hello…Our stay was awesome! We loved the room (all white) & the customer service all around (from the bell boy who handled our luggage, to the two Front Desk personnel, Lori & Cruz (nickname), to the bartender, and last but not least the Valet Man). Everyone was very kind and showed wonderful customer service skills.

We LOVE LOVE LOVE the hotel, our stay, the rooms, the service, ALL. 5 stars all day any day! :) *****

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at this resort but the pools and beach shut down @ six. So have your towels in by six in order not to be charged an extra fee. This location is one block from the Beach which wasn't bad. You can have breakfast out on the patio and enjoy the streetside view. I recommend eating out on the patio at any location that have that option. Free Drinks every evening for one hour...not the high quality liquor but it will keep you Happy for the Hour. Just blocks from Lincoln Road, Lobby is small but has 3 other hotels in the group that is located next door to one another and each offer a variety of restaurants for different food selections. You're welcome to visit and lodge at all three. One has a pool on the terrace if you did not like the ground view pool at the Catalina. Wasn't sure when I purchased by tickets on Bookit.com but once I got to Miami, I was very pleased with this resort in South Beach. It offered a complimentary shuttle voiucher from the airport since we decided not to take a vehicle to this locaiton.

Room Tip: Spa is offered in room only; no fitness center at this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Came from the UK and stayed here the weekend of the 14th Jan before we took a Caribbean Cruise. Great location , Rooms and staff were excellent. All round an excellent experience and will stay here again. They do some really godo deals at the big clubs with happy hour at the bar and its worth doing getting discount entry to some of the big clubs.

Special Mention to Robert and his female companion at the roof pool. They did a great job of serving us drinks, food, ice water. Never had to get up form the sun bed. The roof Pool is great to unwind and they play some cool music for you to chill out too in the sun. Really good service up there and worth a special mention. Will defo come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinarelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Good Afternoon Rob,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback on Trip Advisor for our future guests to read! I am extremely happy to hear that you had an excellent stay with us! Very glad that you got to enjoy our complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM.
I will let Robert know of your positive praise. He will be happy to hear it! We hope to see you again soon!!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

This is the classic example of the bait and switch hotel tricks they employ in Miami. My husband and I were not familiar with this property in Miami so when we looked at the photos on line through tripadvisor, it looked very beautiful. Little did I know when we showed up that there were 2 separate buildings. One was this old, dated, dirty hotel and the other building was the updated, modern, clean hotel. Well, guess which one we stayed in...the room had this damp stale air, the built in hair dryer did not work, the bathroom was semi-cleaned, the staff was curt and unhelpful. It was pouring down rain the first day we arrived, I asked if the hotel had any umbrellas we may borrow, the front desk girl who checked us in said no but that they had ponchos we can purchase for $5 each. These ponchos were a glorified plastic trash bag with a hole cut out for the head! I told her I just saw one of her staff give those same ponchos to two girls for FREE. She then looked at one of her co workers and rolled her eyes. She reluctantly gave me one but said she could not give me two for free. We would not stay with this hotel again or recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure you know which building you are being booked. It's a night and day difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinarelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us! The Catalina is a 3 building hotel with rooms to accommodate all of our guests. Depending on the type of room that the guest has booked will determine which building they will be staying in. We have rooms that accomodate the guests that are just here to party that won't spend much time in there rooms, they usual get the smaller rooms which have decor that is livid and funky. We also have guests that are here on business or with their families and will use the room a little more, and the decor in those rooms are more calm and tranquil. I apologize that you got a room that was not for your fit. I would love for you to come back and stay with us again, in a room that will suit you. I would love to offer you a complimentary night stay valid for a one year period. Please let me know if you would like to take that offer. If so, please email me directly at: catalinamarketing@southbeachgroup.com

Have an amazing day!

Kind Regards.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#63 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,981 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
#81 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#121 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,293 reviews
City Center
Hotel18
Hotel18
#97 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#17 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732-1756 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.