We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run while you can!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlton South Beach to your Saves list
The Carlton South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #174 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Run while you can!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Totally not what was shown on the website and nothing but excuses! No Bar or Cafe in the lobby as told on the web. Had to fight for maids to clean my room everyday! No wash clothes! Broken AC in room! Broken Clock Radio! Broken Shower! Broken Ceiling Fan! Nothing worked there but me fixing everything that was broken!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    24
    22
    38
See reviews for
16
37
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Where do I begin.......First of all when we arrived the room key would not unlock the door. Front desk staff came up to assist and they did open door ......but the battery in the door lock was low so you had to jiggle the handle to open it. I explained to staff that was unacceptable and we would like another room. We did get another room which was much better than the first......this one had a tub not just a shower. Only two bath towels no wash clothes......we requested more towels. The rug was dirty the air conditioner was very noisy and did not work properly. Television worked although two channels did not work at all. No coffee maker in room which they had in the first room........we asked for one it never came. The phone did not work either so I had to call about that also......The ice maker went out so there was no ice for a day or so......they only have one ice maker for the whole hotel!!!!!! Shower curtain was dirty also. The best thing about hotel was the pool...... very nice.......if you can get a pool towel......they were in short supply also. The bed linens did not fit the bed properly either. My advice check out other places.

Room Tip: Ask for the writers suite of available.......I requested it was not available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

location is great.. hotel is way over priced.. im not very picky.. but I do like to be treated right.. took for ever to get a room.. rooms are very small.. beds didn't even have head boards.. cheap tables.. bugs... smelled moldy.. only stayed for one night.. got up to take a shower.. had no wash clothes... went down to the front desk to tell them... their answer was ..." house keeping crew wont be in until 8" that's it.. not we will try to find you some.. crazy.... oh yea... remote for the tv didn't work either..then on the way out told me I had to pay another $14 for the wifi ... which I didn't use... oh yea... the elevator broke down while we were there.. they did get it fixed in a couple hours..

Room Tip: don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Don't l'ost your money in this bad hotel

You cant open the Windows in this hotel and No Windows in the bethroom!!!!!!

You cant cancel your booking!!!!!

The pool Is verry bad and not clean

I paye around 1700 euros for à week

Oh m'y gooodddddd

Adios this hotel

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited with four ladies for a recreational trip over Easter weekend and Luciano at the front desk took care of us the entire time. He made sure we had any supplies we needed, replaced keys, was incredibly knowledgeable, patient and friendly. The location of this hotel is amazing. The rooms do leave much to be desired (no water pressure or mini fridge) but the location and friendly staff are worth the stay. Thanks again Carlton South Beach!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

During my stay at this hotel, i had read some bad reviews, and thought, there is always a few people that are just finicky and love to complain, i am not that person.
I tried to get a better room, but there is no better room!
The "Plumbing is OLD" as quoted by the manager himself so water temperature may not be constant through your shower, and you WILL be burned during the shower, at least once.

Do yourself a favor and don't stay here!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The location is great but I was disappointed with the room. I was there during spring break music festival. The room was very small with plastered walls painted white...room and bathroom needs to be updated. The air conditioning kept going off. We ha to keep getting up throughout the night to turn it back on. Not a nice room. Small beds.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlton South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton South Beach

Address: 1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlton South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton South Beach, located in Miami Beach’s Art Deco District, is an historic hotel located close to the ocean, near great bars and eateries, and within blocks of great shopping on Lincoln Road. Hotel amenities include built in flat screens and wireless, as well as a large swimming pool adorned by tropical foliage. The lobby is filled with art exhibited in cooperation with major galleries, and has a juice bar serving fresh drinks and other light snacks. The Carlton-South Beach is a perfect destination for travelers whether they are seeking respite for business or pleasure. Parking is available on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Carlton South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Miami Beach
Carlton Hotel South Beach
Carlton Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.