We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlton South Beach to your Saves list
The Carlton South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very well located. it is steps away from the beach, we could also walk to get to Ocean drive, Lincoln Road etc. The room was clean, very big, lots of space. We didn't use the pool since the beach was so close by. The people at the reception were helpful, always answered our questions with a smile.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    22
    20
    32
See reviews for
15
33
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for 4 nights while attending a show in Miami. The website shows a bright, attractive hotel. This is misleading. On arrival, albeit in the evening, the hotel is dull and dreary, loud music playing to an empty area AND an empty, unstocked bar.

The staff were very efficient and friendly on check-in and with subsequent questions I had. However, I find it really odd that there was no uniform. This added to the lack of attention showed by the hotel and it's owner/s.

The room itself, while spacious smelt a little damp. A separate walk-in wardrobe with 4 hangers and no hairdryer, robe or ironing board disappointed me as these are all stated on the website as standard. An iron was present and had been used I guess as there were 2 large iron burns on the carpet in the main bedroom area! The carpet had seen better days. There was also a large crease which was threadbare. The room itself was tidy and clean enough but not as clean as I would like.

The bathroom was essentially the same. The shower curtain was grubby and the shower base could do with a good scrub!

I had booked and pre-paid for breakfast which is offered when booking. Again, there is no restaurant or bar area to offer even a coffee let alone pastries. This was dealt with extremely well by the staff and all resort fees were waived to cover this.

All in all, the hotel could do with some real TLC and a little money spent on it. Apparently the sister hotel is The Betsy which sits directly behind The Carlton overlooking Ocean Drive. This is a gorgeous old colonial hotel with very high standards - obviously this is where all the money has been spent!

I would not stay here again if it stays as is but on the plus side, it has a great location!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is really nice placed, the rates are ok, and the front desk staff rocks.

It is located in the back of Ocean Drive, three blocks south from Lincoln Road and one from Espanola Way

BUT there is stuff that needs to be improved, for example there is no trashcan in the room only in the bathroom, They ran out of hand soap for the guests, we had to ask for towels and the a/c was not working properly.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who comes to South Beach short on time

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here in February 2015 with 2 other friends. The reception area is just an empty hall with a ugly stainless steel desk in it. The receptionist wasn't really friendly either.

We had a double queen room and it was disgusting. Squeaky old doors, nasty curtains, old stained bathroom with horrible plumbing and a crappy shower. The pool was dirty and looked like it had no maintenance at all in the past few years.

The beds are from IKEA and housekeeping is slow as hell. No extra/roll away beds available so 2 of us has to share a bed.

There is no bar/restaurant in the hotel itself which is not really a problem as it's a 2 minute walk to Ocean Drive.

Spent a little extra and get another hotel.

Room Tip: Just don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

This place is a dump. They tripled their rates because of the Miami boat show and my friends assumed they were booking us into a decent hotel. This place is dirty, the shower swings from scalding to freezing water, the sink was falling off the wall, the shower knob did fall off, disgusting looking pool, etc. The people who own this building should be ashamed of themselves for renting it out, especially for the rates that they charge. In addition, they charge a resort fee, a real laugh. We learned that this dump is about to be torn down, hence no effort to make it acceptable for guests.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Stayed one night before a cruise. Desk clerk, Hosea, was very courteous and helpful. Room was very clean overlooking the pool area. Very nice veranda with comfortable chairs for people watching. Excellent area, close to beach, restaurants, shopping and bars. Would definitely stay there again. It's hard for me to believe this is the same hotel some other reviewers described. If I hadn't checked this place out and only went by the reviews I definitely would not have stayed there.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

We decided to book this hotel because it was very central and within our budget. Also, it stated its a 3 star hotel. It is literally a motel. The carpeting is terrible, the AC made an annoying noise that wasn't fixed, the staff is unpolished (at best). To sum it up, we were booked to stay for 4 nights, but ended up checking out after 1 night. There are definitely better hotels in the area with similar price point!

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlton South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton South Beach

Address: 1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlton South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton South Beach, located in Miami Beach’s Art Deco District, is an historic hotel located close to the ocean, near great bars and eateries, and within blocks of great shopping on Lincoln Road. Hotel amenities include built in flat screens and wireless, as well as a large swimming pool adorned by tropical foliage. The lobby is filled with art exhibited in cooperation with major galleries, and has a juice bar serving fresh drinks and other light snacks. The Carlton-South Beach is a perfect destination for travelers whether they are seeking respite for business or pleasure. Parking is available on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Carlton South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Miami Beach
Carlton Hotel South Beach
Carlton Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.