We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went there for an event PURE DISAPPOINTMENT” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Carlton South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Carlton South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Went there for an event PURE DISAPPOINTMENT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Traveled as part of a group and for two afternoons a "pool party" was held at this hotel. The bar was gouging guests for drinks $15.00 for a daquiri in a six ounce cup. The pool's filters, if it had any, were not working so all kinds of crap were floating in the pool. A number of the lounge chairs were in disrepair. The second "pool party" event that was advertised as a cook out, the hotel provided pizza set up in a corner in 100 degree heat and everyone just walked over and helped themselves. UGH!!!! Just seeing how individuals were treated for these two events does not lend any confidence in staying in that property. However, the one good thing is that it is fairly close to the beach. That's all I got.

Room Tip: I did not stay at the property but attended an event there. Based on the "service" of thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    12
    13
    12
See reviews for
10
17
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was horrible. We didn't have any wash cloths, lucky to have a towel our first night. Went to front desk did not have anymore. In the ad from Booking.com said you got a small refrigerator and they had a pool. We got there was no refrigerator, no pool (closed the entire time-looked like closed for a long time) and more than half the outlets didn't work. We picked it because of the pool and refrigerator then there wasn't any. Room was like a box and dirty. The noice at night was loud. Like I said run from this one.

Room Tip: No tip for a good room. I am sure there aren't any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Naomi had the best customer service ever. She made our stay worth every penny. The hotel was clean and nice in the center of south beach close to everything. I would definitely stay there again and again. Highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is right where you'll want to be, on South Beach. It's close enough that all of South Beach is in walking distance, but not in the middle of the noise so you can sleep easily at night.

The hotel is nice. It's not fancy, but it's clean. I didn't spend much time in the hotel, I was busy running around Miami. The cable channels are limited. I missed a basketball game that was on TNT/TBS. That's a basic cable channel. I didn't go to the bar or the pool and the food options were ridiculously priced. They only have 8 parking spots so you'll probably park in the big garage two blocks north. $16 a day. They charge a "resort fee" for wifi, that's a joke. But the wifi was strong enough for my three devices.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Arrived earlier than expected happy to get early check in but was charged a resort fee upon check in...? Resort fee really this was more like a $20/nite motel.... Ive been to miami plenty times i can honestly say this was the worst! continental breakfast haha no more like "pay per eats" bed comforters had make up from previous guest. Air conditioner was blowing out warm air not to mention THE WINDOWS DID NOT OPEN so we were smothered television only had 5 channels available and when asked what happen to the other channels listed their response was "your in Miami who needs TV" then sent a man who didnt speak english to the room to fix the phone that didnt work..... We asked for towels after visiting the pools at 2pm. three calls later and a walk to the front desk finally got towelsat 1134p.m. Reps sitting at front desk playing on phone. If they didn't charge my card I would have demanded a refund!!!!!!Horrible service nothing g like a resort

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was the worst ever I wouldn't refer this hotel to anyone. Customer service was horrible the phones didnt work we had to call the the front desk from are cell phones it took them almost 12 hours to give us extra towels for room.and then when we call front desk about the channels on tv they said they would send someone up in 15 mins never sent anyone. Then when we got tired if the wait webt to front desk for them to tell me its miami and people don't watch TV and they can't do nothing about the channels. anyone

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

good location. room small but adequate. shower-toilet very small and inadequate. hardly any room to put your shaving cream and deodorant etc. not even a place to put the soap bar to keep it from falling in the sink. 2 very cheap towels that dont absorb water and a shower with such low pressure that it takes a long time to shower and still not feel clean.

i am always surprised by mandatory extra resort fees that i dont notice on travel reservation sites when i book. here $14.14 per night and says for pool access, wifi, breakfast etc. then further down its says $6.95 for breakfast, even that is just a danish and coffee sitting at 5 bar stools in the lobby. by the way, the wifi that you just paid for only works in the lobby

there is a pool with space for about 20 people to sit around but its in shade for most of the day. i went to the beach instead which is 5 minute walk. so much for resort fee

overall, it's good if the price is right and you don't care much about lousy shower, and don't plan to use the pool or prefer to use the pool in shade. location is the only good thing.

Room Tip: if you can afford it, stay at the Loews, a much nicer but more expensive hotel. If you stay at the C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Carlton South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton South Beach

Address: 1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlton South Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton South Beach, located in Miami Beach’s Art Deco District, is an historic hotel located close to the ocean, near great bars and eateries, and within blocks of great shopping on Lincoln Road. Hotel amenities include built in flat screens and wireless, as well as a large swimming pool adorned by tropical foliage. The lobby is filled with art exhibited in cooperation with major galleries, and has a juice bar serving fresh drinks and other light snacks. The Carlton-South Beach is a perfect destination for travelers whether they are seeking respite for business or pleasure. Parking is available on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Carlton South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Miami Beach
Carlton Hotel South Beach
Carlton Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.