We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Carlton South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Carlton South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I would definitely recommend this place!
It is very good quality place for the money, location is just great, rooms clean and service very friendly. Especially CJ – front desk person, was so knowledgeable and helpful. It was great pleasure to stay!
Me and my husband had amazing time during the stay and all stuff were extremely helpful on every matter.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    12
    13
    12
See reviews for
10
17
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The Carlton - South Beach is a perfect location near the beach and all the action and at a good value. Clean rooms, helpful staff, fun bar and pool. Overall excellent and relaxing experience for a fun weekend getaway in SB!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Carlton is about a five minute walk away from the beach on one side, and a five minute walk to the car and club scene on the other. Despite all that, the rooms are very quiet during the day. The location is great and everyone there is very relaxed and pretty helpful. The rooms are really airy and big, and there's a nice bar in the lobby that during the day services blended juices. It was perfect for what we were looking for.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The check in wass perfect, but the rooms deserve renovation and room service must be improved (3 hours to get towels in the bathroom!). No double glazing in all rooms, plumbing must date from the 60s ....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Naomi and CJ from the concierge staff make everything good. They are pleasant and knowledgeable about the area. Great front porch for hanging out and people watching and just steps from the white sands of south beach. Could not pick a better location.
PJ Mass

Room Tip: 1st floor, no steps, no elevators,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Rooms are a million yrs old, no renovations, walls are paper thin and hotel is noisy as hell.. And I'm a young person who likes to party! But not when it disturbs neighbors and those trying to sleep. Loudest door slams I've ever heard because of badly constructed old hotel. Back faces a noisy alley where trucks go up and down doing either construction or pickup up garbage. Front faces noisy collins ave. Upon check in, came to room only to find a repairman trying to fix what seemed to be hunred yr old safe, were not told anyone would be in the room. The window blinds were rusted to a brownish color and old. Straight dreary type of accommodations. Pool is nice size though and bar seems to have good happy hr prices. But for the cost of a room? Hell no, go somewhere else more modern and better maintained. Hotel needs serious renovations that aren't happening fast enough, especially knowing it's now owned by The Betsy Hotel right behind it, one of the best hotels on South Beach!! It's a disgrace really. Pass on it. There are tons of better ones for same price range or cheaper.. Chesterfield is better option for same type of hotel.

Room Tip: don't stay here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

If you are looking for luxury accommodations stay somewhere else. This hotel is affordable and in a great location. But you get what you pay for. It was clean with simple accommodations. The hotel needs updates and we had a view of a back alley. Our windows were made out of plexi glass. It was loud at times with noise from the street and people partying in the hotel. I would suggest ear plugs if you plan to stay here. The staff at the hotel were extremely nice and friendly. We were not in our room much at all, only to shower and sleep, so we were fine with the accommodations we chose. Miami is expensive and we chose use our vacation $$ to go out for nice meals and dancing. Beware of restaurant bills. Some include gratuity. Some have a suggested gratuity of 40%. Just read the bills carefully. We must have blown a $100 dollars because we didn’t. The beach is also very beautiful and clean. It is a short walk to the beach and you can rent chairs and an umbrella there. They are sell water and lunch at the beach. Also, plan to wait for things. People there are on “Miami Time”. I would return to this hotel if I was on a budget. But next time I will save and stay some place nicer like Lowes or the Surfcomber.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Carlton South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton South Beach

Address: 1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlton South Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton South Beach, located in Miami Beach’s Art Deco District, is an historic hotel located close to the ocean, near great bars and eateries, and within blocks of great shopping on Lincoln Road. Hotel amenities include built in flat screens and wireless, as well as a large swimming pool adorned by tropical foliage. The lobby is filled with art exhibited in cooperation with major galleries, and has a juice bar serving fresh drinks and other light snacks. The Carlton-South Beach is a perfect destination for travelers whether they are seeking respite for business or pleasure. Parking is available on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Carlton South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Miami Beach
Carlton Hotel South Beach
Carlton Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.