We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3925 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer - Save More!
Ranked #67 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

We stayed at the Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront for 7 nights at the end of March 2009.
We thought the Courtyard was a really nice standard of hotel and in a quiet area of Collins Avenue and right on the beach aswell.
As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is about a 30 minute walk to Ocean Drive but there is a Bus stop on Indian Creek Drive 1 block away next to the river, and you can get buses to South Beach, Lincoln Road, Downtown, Bayside, etc from 1.5 - 2 dollars. Alternatively you can get a taxi to Ocean Drive for around 8-9 dollars.

We had a side view room with balcony so we had ocean and city view, the room was very spacious and the bed was perfect and very large.
We ate breakfast in the hotel everyday which was 12.95 and although very good it was always the same everyday, but that wasn't much of a problem for us as there was plenty of choice.
The pool area was good but we found the hot tub way too hot so never sat in there, there is a few spa treatments that they do next to the pool and there is the tiki bar behind which is a nice place to relax in the evenings.
The boardwalk along the back of the hotel is a great place to take a walk or just sit on one of the many benches and watch the world go by.
There is a few small supermarkets near the hotel and a Walgreens supermarket within 5 mins walk.

If we went back to Miami we wouldn't definately go back to this hotel as we couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    574
    190
    76
    39
See reviews for
373
428
47
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placentia, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

I'm giving this 2 stars because of cost; almost dropped dead when I got the check-out bill! Stayed only one night after a cruise. Room was nice, faced Collins Av; the windows were filthy. The maids don't vacuum under furniture, found out when I moved an armchair and was amazed at the dust bunnies! Don't run out of toilet paper since there was no spare rolls to be had in the room! Our room cost us $337+change! Buffet breakfast was $12.95 each but good. We booked through a travel agent and on our itinerary the room was supposed to be $199 or so plus tax; that's a far cry from $337+. Stay here if you like to waste money!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

We stayed at the Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront for 3 nights in March 2009 before we went oin a cruise from Miami.
We chose this hotel mainly because we knew, that its quite a bit awy from South Beach. we thought this might be good because of Spring Break, and we wanted to escape from the noice of partying people during night.

Rooms:
The hotel is nice and well maintained, check in was quick and without problems. we had two seaview rooms with a small balcony on 8th floor. Rooms are OK but on the small side. Beds were comfortable.Bathrooms are also small but clean and all amenities available.

Do not expect a Marriott standard because its a Courtyard.

Hotel and Pool:
The breakfast room was very basic copared to other Miami Beach hotel we stayed, so we chose to have breakfast on Ocean Drive, which is about 35 minutes walk or 10 minutes drive by Taxi.
The pool area is nice, but when the hotel is fully booked deckchairs run out very quickly. Since there is no pool attentend removing towels when chairs are not used for a longer time we also started reserving deckchairs in the morning. This was the only hange to get some after breakfast.

Pool Bar:
What we really loved was the Tiki Bar, its lovely and right next to the beach. Great food and drinks, sometimes live music and a wonderful view.

Location:
as I said, the hotel is located on Colling Avenue is a quite nother part. About 35 minutes waqlk from Ocean Drive and South Beach, about 10 minutes by Taxi or car. Very close the to Fontenbleau Hotel.
There is a nice shop and coffe bar on the other side of the street to get breaffast and really good coffee. No other shops or restaurants in the area except the Carrabbas Italien restaurant in the hotel.

Positive remark:
The staff in the hotel was very friendly, one girl at reception was even german speaking. And there are 4 computer in the lobby for free use to check mails and check in flights !

Overall:
We did know what we expected, so we were fully satisfied. If you are looking for a hotel with standard (which most privately runned hotels in South Beach do not guarantee), nice pool area and a location a bit away from South Beach noise, the Courtyard Oceanfront (former Cadillac Hotel) will be right for you.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

If you don’t want to stay in the noisy hart of the South Miami Beach, this is the place for you.
With helpful staff and relatively decent breakfast. With Cuban grocery shop over the street with pretty much everything what you might forgot for the beach and above all excellent espressos. With Italian restaurant for the dinner is just next door (not excellent but good enough).With Tiki bar which has limited food options but the food is decent and grill lovers will enjoy (Tiki is not cheap but is also not extremely overpriced). With poll which is aging but is very clean. With sandy area where kids can play in the shade of the palms. With Suites, which are renovated but are still typical Marriot. With beachwalk (25min to ArtDeco). But also with valet parking (27US$ per day), but if you are lucky you can also get free parking just behind the Italian restaurant.
The only issue that needs to be raised are noisy toilets. You bed is just few feet away from sh.t “rapidly and loudly descending” from the 10th floor. It’s a bit unpleasant to visualize on your bed what if….
At the end of the day this hotel is having a good price/performance balance.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

I've been to several Courtyards in small and large cities and this is pretty impressive for its rating. I accompanied my wife who had a 3 day business meeting at the hotel. Check-in was fast and easy and our rental was in and out of valet for the 3 days we were here. We had room 1002 and it was tiny. We had a baby with us and there was no room for a crib. We had an ocean front room with no balcony. Some of the rooms have balconies so make sure you get a room with a balcony. The room was clean and the bathroom was spacious. We looked at another room in the penthouse floor but it didn't have the same view so we decided to stay in the smaller room for a couple of days.

The Hotel has two Carrabba's restaurants. We're in Miami so we ate Cuban food for two nights. There's also a nice cafe/convenient store across the street. The Hotel has complimentary coffee but I opted for the good coffee across the street. They also have danishes and sandwiches.

The location is about 10 minute drive to South Beach and about 15-20 to downtown.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights in March 09. The hotel itself was comfortable however about 20 minute walk from South Beach so if you're only going to party I would recommend staying a little bit closer to the action.

Service was good, we had food from the restaurant Carrabas a number of times and it was always quite reasonable and very tasty.

The best part of the hotel was being right on the beach and the pool.

A nice hotel, good location if you want to relax. Would recommend it

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, BC Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

We stayed at the hotel after our carribean cruise and after doing a lot of research on the internet.

Location, location, location, the hotel is located directly on a beautiful stretch of white sand beach a 1/2 hour walk along the boardwalk to Miami beach. Stick to the boardwalk and not the street as the area is "in transition". Not seedy or dangerous by any means but not particularily nice; nothing on the street except residential buildings and traffic. The boardwalk is a great way to see other hotels, people watch and skip traffic.

A cab from the cruise terminal was $32 and took about 20 minutes. When we arrived, it was about 10 in the morning and didn't expect a room yet. However, the front desk welcomed us and suggested we could store our bags at the bell desk, sit by the pool and he would call us or we could check back in an hour to see if any rooms were available. We did just that and settled into a lounger around the pool. The pool and hot tub are great, surrounded by manicured grounds and palm trees. The loungers on the N/E side of the pool get the most sun as the others struggle for sun past noon. Past the pool are some large hidden sandy areas with loungers and palapas for shade. The pool area is separated from the beach by a boardwalk that links to Miami beach (a 1/2 hour walk. The beach is great and they rent out loungers and umbrellas or you can bring a pool towel to lay on. The Tiki bar sits between the boardwalk and the pool. (more on that later)

The hotel itself is an historical well preserved Art Deco building with two towers, and some rooms with balconies facing the ocean. The lobby is great, 2 floors high with a mezzanine and Art Deco accents throughout. You'll love it if you're a fan of archtecture, you may not if you don't like the quirks of an old building (some of the rooms are small and the walls are fairly thin but hey, it's an old building with a lot of history).

After checking back for a room at noon, we got a great room overlooking the pool. We were told to check back the next day for a free upgrade to high floor ocean view (which we did and got with no problem). The rooms are typical courtyard with flat screen t.v's and comfortable furnishings. Our first room was fairly large and had a comfortable layout. Although next to an elevator we never did hear it. The next room was in the other tower and had an amazing view of the ocean. The second room was quite small and only really had room for the bed and desk, although the view was worth it. Both rooms as well as the hotel public areas were spotless. They were well appointed and met our needs nicely. One word of advice, the walls are thin so bring ear plugs if you don't sleep well. (it's an old building!)

The restaurant in the hotel is called Carraba's Italian and has some of the best pasta I've ever had. Reasonable price, great atmosphere and service, and huge portions. The Tiki bar has food service from Carraba's (burgers etc) and is an outdoor bar with a thatched roof overlooking the pool and boardwalk. The prices were fairly reasonable and they have a happy hour daily. 2 for 1 which means you pay for the first one and the second one is free. (Can't split it with the other person...) Nice ambience at night when the torches light up. The hotel also has breakfast buffet which is kind of pricey fo what you get. $30 for two, (I've had better).

There is nothing around the hotel except for other hotels and some fast food places down the block. On the south side of the hotel there is liquor store with cheap prices.

Overall a great hotel away (but not too far) from the hustle and bustle of Miami Beach. Definetly recommended for the pool, beach, staff and relaxing atmosphere. We had a fabulous stay and would highly recommend it. Two tips: (1) take the elevator to the top floor for the table and chairs on the roof with a great view and (2) taking a cab ($25) to the airport is cheaper than $28 a night for parking.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3925 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach Marriott
Miami Beach Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.