We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanfront location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3925 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #65 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Oceanfront location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Spent a great long weekend at the Courtyard. True to previous reviews the staff was great at checkin and was able to move our room to an ocean view with balcony. Also enjoyed great monitors and fish tacos at the tiki bar.

The location was a bit away from all the great restaurants and shopping but an easy taxi for under $10. As we wanted an oceanfront property I thought the $13 per chair plus $19 for umbrella was excessive. I understand there is not a resort fee but on average those run $20-25 per day not $45. Thus although a nice hotel it brought the rate over other nice oceanfront properties closer to the main drag so consider the whole package prior to making your reservations in Miami Beach.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Traveler5VA,

Thank You for staying with us during your recent visit to Miami Beach. I am excited that we were able to place you into an oceanfront room. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope that you visit our property upon your next visit to Miami Beach.

Best Regards

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    461
    156
    61
    30
See reviews for
284
345
40
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DeSoto, Texas, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Bought a 3 night stay on Groupon.check-in was smooth although at check-in they only had me booked for one night but I showed them my Groupon receipt and they accomodated me for 3 nights with no problem and gave us an upgraded room with a beach view. Staff was nice. We didn't have any problems while there. Hotel is at the end of the renovation construction so a little noisey in the daytime but we didn't mind because we spent most of the day out. The beds are super super comfortable. Walk to the beach is steps away from the hotel throw the pool area. Carrabba's Italian restuarant is onsite and had the BEST drinks at happy hour...Carrabba-Rita!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Hope M

Thank You for staying with us during your visit to Miami Beach in September. We appreciate the feedback and hope you return as our property expansion is nearing completion. We are excited that you were able to enjoy the outdoor activities in Miami Beach and enjoyed a great room experience.

Best Regards

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here sept.20-23 of this year for the long weekend. They are doing alot of construction around the hotel. They are building a new tower and expanding the pool and carabas tiki bar area which once all done, will be amazing. With this new tower up it turned our ocean front room into a partial ocean view. Also they are completely renovating the hotel next door. The noise isn't that much of a problem.

Hotel is very nice. Rooms are very clean. its about 5-7 minutes by cab to the main strip (ocean ave, collins ave and washington ave), around $8-10 each way.

The pool is nice, with a bar next to it. (has the green construction privacy screens around it for the construction which once all done will be amazing). There is a walkway to the carabas tiki bar and deck area which is really nice to grab drinks and food.

Beach is literally steps past that. Nice boardwalk to walk down past all the hotels. (cool to walk on after its not so hot out). The beach is really clean although they charge $45 for an umbrella and 2 chairs even to hotel guests. That was annoying but you get it until 6 pm.

were both in our 20's so we relied on yelp to get us clubs, lounges and bars. we went to mansion and got really cheap tickets on stubhub.com at the last minute. if you like edm, deep house, trance, than check out mansion, story or set. Bamboo looked amazing also. The bars are hit and miss with alot of dives so bar hopping is kind of hard. they have rooftop bar/ lounges but those close at 2am where as the clubs and bars close at 5am. Drinks are pricey so pre gaming is probably wise.

defiantly check out lincoln avenue mall. its a must. all shopping and endless food. italian, cuban, argentinian, brazilian food. street runs for like 8-10 blocks, all closed off with the restaurants and hookah lounges all having there tables and umbrellas everywhere.

also check out ocean ave off the strip for side walk restauants and great lunch specials. we had amazing paella.
BE AWARE that they put gratuity with every bill for food and drinks even for only 2 people and even for 1 drink. so double check ur bill so you dont wind up leaving massive tips.

another word of advise is to not fly into fort lauderdale. priceline sent us there because it was cheaper but the car service ride was $65 each way. (about 35 minutes) they said the taxi's would run the meters and it could be anywhere from $75-90.

definitely would stay here again. location is great and its very quiet and its close enough to the strip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear NYGiants 2010,

Thank You very much for choosing our property. I appreciate all of your feedback and hope we see you back in the near future. I do apologize for the early closure of the beach chairs, however the city does mandate the operating times as all Florida beaches are public. Thank You again for your stay, we will be sure to pass this along to the staff.

Best Regards

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood Park, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel was at the end of their renovations to improve the hotel. While it still has it's amazing view of the ocean, nice comfortable rooms, good fitness room, good food, and mostly great customer service. The hotel staff seems either overwhelmed or out of place. Smiling faces from the past no longer existed even though the same workers were there. No one seemed up to helping anyone out. For a hotel going through a large renovation the customer service should have been at an all time high. We have been staying here for years and will give them one more chance to see if the renovations not only improve the facilities but also the attitudes. The saving grace was the general manager who personally spoke with us as we were waiting for our car to head back to the airport. Hopefully all will be well next year, but we still love Miami Beach.

Room Tip: Rooms higher will have a nicer view but an extremely long wait for the slow elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Eric H

Thank You very much for your feedback and decision nto stay in our hotel. I am very excited about the future of this hotel as our property beautification efforts are almost complete. I am surprised by the staff attitude and will be sure to address the lack of welcoming service. I hope you give us another opportunity.

Best Regards

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Tiki Bar was superb! The food and service was awesome and the bartender ( Cha Cha) was by far the best on Miami Beach! She created a friendly atmosphere and introduced several guests who were from same area. If you are in the area, please consider this spot for some memorable experiences:-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sarita D

Thank You for staying with us. I will certainly deliver your kind words to the service team at the Tiki Bar, especially (Cha Cha). We hope to see you return in the near future.

Best Regards

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was staying in the hotel for a week, during the week I received twice phone calls around 7 a.m. to urge me to pay valet parking. The staff put their routine tasks superior to guests' interest. When I complained to the manager asking not to call me in the early morning, she responded that 'i am sorry i have a reason that you might check out and don't pay us. this is our procedure.' I am having an Audi with them, how could I just ran away without my car? this is nonsence. The employee of the hotel just started work around 7 and found some guests hadn't paid for the valet. Then pick up the call and complete their daily task. That's the attitude of the hotel. The hotel is okay, kind of upgraded version of Extended Stay. Room deco is quite old, but neat to be honest. One strange thing I noticed is that there is one step at the front door entrance. Everybody has to watch the step when opening the door. I was wondering how come there is no ramp covering the step to avoid injuries. Also there is no entrance facility for disable people. All the luggage has to taken over the steps from ground. This means everybody has to pay for the tips for door boy. Aha! Every Friday morning, there is an alarm test lasting for 30 minutes or so. Yet nobody notifying the guests that is an alarm test but rather leave it on for 30 minutes. I wa running out of the room until the moment they announced it was a test. However, after the annoucement, the alarm was still on. Obviously the hotel management doesn't care that there are hundreds of guests sleeping at the moment. All these reflect poor attitude. If you go on Thursday, get prepared for the alarm on Friday morning. The hotel staff acting very cheap, no decency to be honest. During my stay in the hotel, some of the swimming area was under construction. Yet I was not informed about such ongoing construction job at all.

Room Tip: the room was okay, very old though. I don't like the hotel at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Jessica S,

Thank You for staying with us during your visit to Miami Beach. We appreciate the feedback and sincerely apologize for any challenges you may have encountered during your stay. We strive to provide a safe and friendly environment to all of our guests. Our facility is completing the final stages of a property expansion, we apologize if you were not notified prior to your visit; the hotel website has had a construction message since March 2012 and all guests are notified at check-in. The hotel is also a historic hotel and the steps at the buildings entrance are protected; we also have an accessible lift at the main entrance. The alarms which you heard was a fire safety test and is not a daily occurrence. Lastly, I apologize for any inconvenience you may have had endured, I would welcome a call to discuss the parking charges. I can be reached at 305-538-3373. We hope that you allow for a second chance in the future.

Best Regards

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our priority: The Beach. It was beautiful, sandy, not overcrowded (July), and water was clear.

Location: As mentioned North of South Beach (a good thing for family’s). Right on the beach. Short drive to Miami downtown and Miami beach shopping. Walk to CVS, Baskin Robbins, some smaller restaurants.

Staff worked hard to help. Rooms are on the smaller side, but typical of the area. Great for families.

Once construction is complete, I would highly recommend. Of course I’m sure the prices will sadly increase as well!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear declue,

Thank You for your feedback and for choosing our hotel during your visit to Miami Beach. I agree, the location of the hotel is great (close to all of the attractions). I will be sure tio deliver your feedback to the service team at the hotel. Thank You for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3925 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach Marriott
Miami Beach Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.