We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3925 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #65 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We read a few reviews before the trip and knew (in advance) that the hotel was undergoing a major addition/renovation. We were completely unaffected by the construction. Our room was on the front corner of the hotel on the 8th floor. Not much of a view, but plenty of room, clean and lovely decor. The towels were soft and fresh. We were greeted at the rental car by "Famous Shamos" the "only Irishman in Miami", a fun-loving cheerful doorman who instantly made us feel welcome by offering ice mini-bottles of water to my husband and myself right out of the cooler by the front door. The nice ladies at the reception desk explained the benefits of our wrist bands and the times for the free shuttle to other Mariotts in Miami Beach, where we could use the pool (since this pool was under construction). We changed and went right out to the beach...walking distance just around the corner of the building, where we spent most of our time. We fell in love with the beautiful blue surf, the soaring pelicans...and were mezmerized by the wind surfers and parasailers. A quick walk to the left (up the beach) was a jet ski rental...too fast for our taste...but if you're going to try it...this is the place...gorgeous surroundings and no , bridges or bolders to run into. On the beach we had the pleasure of meeting Gregory and Vinny. On our first day, Gregory made us feel right at home...he explained that we could order food right from the beach or walk up to the bar/ Carabbas. We had the fried calamari...which was just okay (nothing to brag about)...but still...eating outside by the shore was wonderful. On day two we splurged and asked Vinny to set up the Cabana (bed with awning) by the water for us. He was incredibly attentive. I can still hear him saying, "you two just REEELLLLLAAAAXXXX" while I take care of this. He even rolled up a few towels for neck and lumbar support and positioned them...promising that this added support would assure a nap within minutes. It did...he was right!!! He checked in on us from time to time..friendly, courteous...even picked up all the other chairs/cabanas on the beach at quitting time, and let us stay until the absolute last second on the beach in our cabana. Kudos to Vinny for making our stay so relaxing and enjoyable. The folks back inside gave us info (from the computer) on taking a cab vs. rental car to Joe's Stone Crab (if you haven't been...GO!!!) An elegant...yet pricey...night you will NEVER forget...ambiance, romantic, great food & awesome service. We also enjoyed a night of dining amongst the many cafes on Lincoln Road at De Lucas (I think was the name of the cafe...the cafe right in front of the little Community Church). They got great reviews on the Food Network! The only thing I didn't like about our room was the sound of the elevator door (which sounded like a rusty door opening and closing) right outside of our door, but we got used to it. The lobby and hotel were beautifully decorated in art deco, characteristic of the Miami South Beach area...we really liked it...nice water wall in the lobby, too! We hope to return one day when all of the construction is complete. But, truthfully...the construction gave us some discounts (like on the cabana rental fee) that we may not have been able to afford otherwise. I loved this place! Thanks for a great time! God bless, Sharon and Gene Davis

Room Tip: get a room on the front of the hotel away from the construction (in the back)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Sharon12345,

Thank You for staying with us during your most visit to Miami Beach. I see that you were able to enjoy the best of Miami Beach (Sun, Beach and Nightlife). I hope to see you back in the near future at our beautifully restored property. I will be sure to pass these comments on to Seamus, Vinny and Gregory.
Thank You Again

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    492
    160
    65
    32
See reviews for
307
357
42
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois City, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The location of this hotel is actually great, right off the street to Miami Beach and close to all attractions. The rooms are very small and lack maintenance, air conditioning was old and not functional too. Breakfast buffet is definitely not worth the money, pool area is nice but easily completely overcrowded. The Tiki Bar was nice, great atmosphere and happy hour drinks, food is soso. They have sports games on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Chris D,

Thank You for staying with us during your stay in Miami Beach. I will be sure to follow-up on your comments with Carrabba's as we appreciate the feedback. I truly apologize about the air conditioner in the guest room. We are also constructing a new pool which will allow us to handle more pool guests. I hope you give us another try on your return visit to the Beach.

Best Regards,

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

First I have to say I cannot believe the negative reviews I am reading about this hotel. I travel alot and I found this to be very nice and better than I expected. I stayed at this hotel in early March for 2 nights. They were very kind and accomodating from the moment I walked in the lobby. It was under construction with a remodel of the pool area, I was told up front. It was not a big deal to me because the beach is beautiful. The lobby is beautiful and has an art deco feel just as you would expect in Miami. The coffee shop in the lobby was great for coffee and a breakfast sandwich and the staff was great. The room was very clean and spacious and the bed was amazing! I want to make mention of the desk employee named "Efrain", he was so helpful and kind. I walked to South Beach on the boardwalk and it was a very nice and safe walk, lots of people jogging and walking. I would definitely stay in this hotel again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear JodiS1183,

Thank You for choosing our property during your most recent visit to Miami Beach. I will ensure we recognize Efrain for his great impression. I truly appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you back in th near future.

Best Regards

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pte., Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our room was not ready until 5:00p.m. They sent us to the Tiki Bar which was near the pool that was under construction. The view from our room was partially blocked by new construction.The room itself was nothing like the photos. It was small, dark and unattractive. The lobby of the hotel was also nothing like the photos---it was plain and unattractive. This was the worst Courtyard we have ever stayed at. The only good part was that Carabba's was in the building and the breakfast was good. I would be more upset if we didn't pay for it with Marriott gift cards!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear LindaM2,

Thank You for staying with us during your most recent visit to Miami Beach. I apologize for not providing access to the guest room at 4pm, I will ensure we follow-up with the front desk. Our property beautification alert has been posted for over 1 year and all website pictures are relevant and reflect the true art deco look of this historic property. I apologize for any disruption this may have caused you. I hope we receive a second chance in the future.

Best Regards

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Because of construction the place is a disaster and shouldn't even be open! Lets call a spade a spade. The pools closed, to get to the beach you have to walk south of the hotel, down the dirty road and back again, same for the dilapidated Tiki bar. And lets face it the tiki bar is beyond worn out! The hotel is relatively cheap but a complete disappointment, again stay away until the constructions complete, some time in late fall I was told.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Rcrumb,

Thank You for staying with us during your most recent visit to Miami Beach. I am sorry if the beautification hampered your visit, however this information is posted on our website and has been for the past year. We pride ourselves with the best section of beach in Miami and our warm service. I hope you return for a second chance this year.

Best Regards

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I chose the stay at this hotel 1 night after my cruise I was traveling with 2 kids and 5 adults I was nervous about booking the room because i saw such mixed reviews I really liked this hotel our rooms were spacious and clean I had a room by the elevator which i do not recommend because it was noisy I knew the pool was closed but when we got there they said we could use the pool at a sister hotel which is the eden roc they provide a shuttle to the hotel but its not a far walk the pools at the eden roc were amazing ! There is a cafe across from the hotel to get good breakfast and yummy cuban coffee I liked the location of this hotel nice beachfront and away from the craziness of south beach but close enough to still be able to check it out I would def stay here again !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Susan B,

Thank You for staying at our property during your visit to Miami Beach. We are all very excited to see the finished product once our historic hotel completes the addition of a beautiful new oceanfront tower. I appreciate your feedback as the cuban coffee's in the area are great. We hope to see you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerum, Sweden
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at the Oceanfront late March this year,read prior to our stay that there could be some construction work ongoing near the hotel that may cause some inconvinience. Hmmm.... the whole pool area was under construction, so there was no pool at all, so we were directed to swim at a another hotel if we wished to use a pool.Otherwise the hotel was good.Clean rooms and friendly staff. The breakfast was really good, lots too choose from.

Room Tip: As high as possible to avoid the sounds from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Rambam48,

Thank You for choosing our beautiful historic Miami Beach location. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have received as a result of the on-going beatification efforts on property. The notification is posted on our website and simply reads 'pool closed' with additional information. We are offering guests another offsite pool and provide transport service to and from. I hope to see you back as renovation work will conclude this summer.

Thank You,

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3925 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#59 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach Marriott
Miami Beach Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.