We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a pre-cruise stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3925 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #64 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florence, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for a pre-cruise stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed March 3rd for just one night before our cruise out of the Port of Miami. As soon as we arrived, everyone was so helpful. At check-in, they immediately explained the construction (we were already aware) and offered an alternate location if we wanted use of a pool (we didn't care, wouldn't have time anyway). My husband & I were upgraded to a room with a balcony and a view of the beach, so that was a nice surprise since we weren't expecting it.

It's not modern, but an older 'art deco' style hotel, and we liked that about it. Our room was nice and comfortable, not huge, but about what we expected. Parking was high, but I'm sure in-line with any other hotel in this area. This hotel is not right on South Beach, in case you're looking to be in the middle of the action, but we were perfectly happy with the location.

Unfortunately, our first time visiting Miami was during a cold spell, so we didn't get a chance to hang out at the tiki bar, which we were looking forward to. We did have a great time hanging out at the bar in Carrabbas and also had dinner there, which was very good! That evening, depsite the cool temps, we took a walk on the boardwalk and beach (we were the only dorks out there, haha). Had it been warmer, we probably would've walked all the way down to South Beach, just to see it. We would definitely like to come back and stay a little longer once construction is finished, so we can enjoy everything this hotel has to offer and explore the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear JPPMP,

Thank You so much for choosing our wonderful property in Miami Beach. I appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back during your next visit to South Florida (our work is expected to be completed in August of 2013). I will be sure to pass along your comments to the staff.

Best Regards,

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    454
    155
    61
    30
See reviews for
278
341
39
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed here in December 2012 for a few days on business; while the hotel was clean and pleasant, the construction that started early in the morning was a bit of a surprise. I'd double check on the status of the construction and renovations before booking this place if you are planing on sleeping in. In fairness, at check in they offered me some additional Marriott reward points to compensate for the construction and they did upgrade me to an ocean front room (with a clear view of the construction).

The rooms were clean and pleasant, typically what you would expect of a Marriott Courtyard. The lobby and front entrance are still classic art deco (this was originally the Cadillac Hotel). There is a decent size pool with a hot tub, and the Hotel is right on the beach with access to the board walk. It is a bit north of the SoBe scene and there are not a lot of bars or restaurants within walking distance. But if you are looking for a good value right on the beach (where you can earn or use Marriott reward points) you could do worse than this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Malcolm NYC,

Thank You for staying with us during your most recent visit to Miami Beach. We appreciate the feedback and hope yo return soon especially after the conclusion of our beautiful property expansion. The construction work you mentioned in your review has been posted on our website for over 1 year and is drawing to a close this summer. We appreciate your loyalty and hope to see back with us again in Miami Beach.

Best Regards,

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatontown, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. Housekeeping department was extremely friendly. The location was north of South Beach. The rooms were comfortable. They neglected to inform us of the construction that was going on at the building directly in front of the existing hotel in front of the ocean. They are building an expansion of the existing hotel with a whole new building. The pool area was closed off and there was noisy construction the entire visit. The outside tiki bar restaurant was very very good. Happy hour prices at the tiki were attractive. There's a wonderful boardwalk to walk or jog that is directly along the ocean. I would highly recommend this hotel if you're not interested in a pool for the moment. A bit noisy.

Room Tip: Choose a south exposure and a higher floor room and you're able to see the ocean from the small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Jerzee 13,

Thank You for visiting with us during Spring Break. I am excited to see you had a great time. We are now closing in on full completion of our new tower addition, which has been posted on our website since early 2012. I will be sure to inform the Tiki Bar staff and Housekeeping team of your feedback. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back in Miami Beach.

Best Regards

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, the staff was accommodating and the room was clean. That was our experience. The ratings above are from our

Another family in our group had the opposite with a toilet that would not flush, and a peeping Tom from the construction site next door looking directly in to their room.

Then while she was explaining all this to the front desk, they said that they had not paid for their breakfast when in fact, I saw her pay with cash.

In closing we had a great experience while the other family had an awful one - they are still trying to prove that they paid as I write this review.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear JeannieJay,

Thank You for staying with us during your most recent visit to Miami Beach. We appreciate the comments and will use this to ensure we continue to improve our service. I apologize for any inconvenience with your friends; I can be reached at 305-538-3373 if they would be willing to provide more detail into their challenges at the property. Thank You again for staying at our beautiful historic hotel on Miami Beach, we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Cadillac Hotel, or Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, has a great location half way between north beach and south beach. You get the best of both worlds, staying at the less hectic end of the beach but within walking distance of all the action.
Outside, the mosaic looking driveway tells you this is not your average Courtyard hotel! Valet only parking is pricey but worth it in Miami Beach. The valet/doormen are welcoming with a complimentary bottled water and a helpful hand.
We called the hotel several time before our stay and Robie patiently addressed all of our concerns. With the pool under construction they offered shuttle service to Eden Roc to use their pools. Do it! You will love it. We walked there along the beach and it wasnt too far. (see my review of our eden roc stay )
In the afternoon, in the lobby they had a bartender making complimentary root beer floats, to highlight the history of the Marriot family. Nice touch!
Rooms on the higher floors facing south have a great view of beach and city, and they are quiet since the construction is on the oceanside of the hotel.
We were very happy staying here.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the south side of the building are quieter and have nice sun exposure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear 18kimmr,

Thank You for staying at our property and enjoying the sights and scenery of Miami Beach. We truly appreciate your feedback and I will definetely send a thank you to Rhoby. I hope to see you back in Miami Beach very soon.

Best Regards

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed one night pre-cruise which we purchased through NCL. We arrived on a Friday lunch time and our room was ready, clean but quite small particularly the vanity area and we waited a long time for our luggage to arrive. We called down after about 20mins and then our cases were delivered. While there was construction ongoing at this hotel, not unlike many others along the oceanfront, and the pool was closed we were provided with black "Cadillac" wristbands to use the pool facilities at Eden Roc, just a short walk from the Marriot and free loungers with umbrella if we chose to lounge by the ocean, which we did. We ordered food from the outdoor grill which was delivered to our loungers and was not bad. My daughter enjoyed the calamari. For one night the location was great, the staff were friendly and welcoming, the cold bottled water was a nice treat after a day out and the lobby was welcoming with free tea and coffee and afternoon cookies. An added perk was the Starbucks kiosk in the lobby which provided my daughter with her favourite yoghurt and granola snack. Check out was a breeze, doormen were efficient to obtain us a taxi to head down to the Wolfsonian and then onto Lincoln Road for dinner. Once the renovations are complete and the pool reopens we will return to give this oceanfront hotel another try.

Room Tip: ask for a city view to avoid the noise of construction.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Haggis 678,

Thank You for the feedback from your most recent stay. I am excited you chose our property and I hope to see you in the future. I do apologize about the long wait for bell service, i will ensure this message is relayed to our service team. Thank You for choosing our property.

Best Regards

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel celebrating my daughters Sweet 16 birthday. The room they gave us was huge, the bathroom had a little mold or dirt in the grout of the tile, but it was livable. The hotel is nice but appears to need updating. The pool was closed due to construction, but the staff offered to take you to their sister hotel from the hours of 9am-3pm; which I did not think that was the most convenient time. This appears to be a business hotel,as there were several groups checking in while I was there.
The staff at the hotel was very friendly and accommodating. Valet parking was awesome and always greeted you with a smile no matter how many times during the day they had to park the car. The $32 + valet fees were pricey, but worth it.
Overall, the girls enjoyed their stay. I don’t think this would be my first choice of a hotel to stay if I return to South Beach to visit. Maybe when the renovation is completed I would consider staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Kianna134,

Thank You for staying with us and we do appreciate the feedback. A sweet 16 is a very special occassion and I am excited you chose our property. I will ensure your feedback is relayed to our housekeeping staff, in addition I do apologize about the bathroom, we will work to ensure this does not happen. Our valet charges are very much reasonable for Miami Beach. I hope you you return to see us in the future as our property beautification project is drawing to a close. Thank You for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Best Regards,

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3925 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach Marriott
Miami Beach Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.