We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3925 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #68 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
channel islands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Im a bit late in writing this review, as it was last year we went. Have been 3 times now and have just booked to stay again next April. The Hotel is in a great location on Collins it is a great walk to SOBE along the Broadwalk, but will take about an hour. The staff at The courtyard were very accomadating, I would have given it 5 stars, but they thought it was okay to put us in a room with a king size bed for 3 of us, my Daughter is 14 and its been a long time since she slept with her parents! when i went to reception they told me "That is a family room"....really! However after a while they said the best they could do was bring up a camp bed, it made the room very cramped but we were only there a couple of days this trip so it was fine.The staff outside around the pool bar were extremely friendly and the food was delicious...Happy hour a must! cannot wait to go back in 2014.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Louloa99,

I Thank You for providing us your feedback. We appreciate that you chose our property and hope you return in 2014. I do apologize that we were not able to meet your requested room type. We look forward to your return.

Best Regards,

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    637
    208
    83
    43
See reviews for
425
473
48
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beware! - Stayed Feb 23-27. I booked the hotel and paid a premium for an ocean front room. This was a mistake. I knew that the hotel was under construction but my room was on the top floor facing the ocean and there was a building with construction workers 20 feet from my window blocking the Ocean view. Construction guys right outside the window, all day long. Had to keep everything closed. This was not disclosed and no alternative was offered by front desk/check in staff. The room I had should have been discounted, not a more expensive and it was very expensive! The pool was completely closed and access to the beach was from the front doors. Very disappointed. Our disappointment could have been avoided easily with a more transparent disclosure of the construction and by some form of compensation - different room, reduced rate, future credit.. something? Nothing was offered.

That aside, the Hotel is really nice, room was fine, staff were attentive, location great. If that building filled with construction guys wasnt there, we would have been really happy with everything. Unfortunately, it was a dissapointing experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is also known by the name Cadillac hotel. The location is in direct proximity of the beach with a nice walking area along the beach. There is no direct beach access. A bodega is in very close walking distance. The entrance is located multiple steps above the street level. There is another (almost hidden) step at the door, so entering the hotel is very inconvenient. The front door area does not make a good impression. The multiple men in dark not exactly clean blue shirts stand on the steps and do nothing most of the time. They are very helpful with luggage, though. Front desk staff is rude, but effective. There is a very small coffee-shop in the lobby and free coffee is served in the lobby area. The room was acceptable. However, one has to crawl into the closet to open the safe. Windows don’t open. The walls were somewhat dirty. Cleaning seemed generally acceptable, but there was dirt under the bed. There is a construction going on at the back of the hotel, so the “ocean view” rooms face the construction and – depending on the room – one may see not more than the construction (and no ocean). The swimming pool was closed due to construction. The hotel offered free pool in a place, which was few blocks away.

Room Tip: Be careful with "ocean view", because all you may see is construction works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Szynka,

Thank You for staying at our beautiful historic hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly review your comments with the service team. We are actually located directly on the beach with direct beach access. Also, all Miami Beach hotels are located off the street and the step (just below the door) is coded with yellow caution tape, so guests will know to use the step before they enter. Our front entrance maintains the moid century modern charm of Miami Beach and will remain that way. Again, thank you for your comments, we hope you give a second try as our construction project will be completed this summer.

Best Regards

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel. We read many hotel reviews before choosing this hotel. The valet was efficient and welcoming; be sure to tip them! The check-in process was smooth. Efrain made a fantastic effort in helping us get settled into the right room. We had a nice beachfront room with a king-sized bed with a terrace, which overlooked the pool (which was covered and unavailable due to construction). Since the pool was unavailable, hotel patrons were able to use the pool at a Marriott property a few blocks down at the Eden Roc and because of the construction, patrons were given a free pass to use the beachfront chairs. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the shower had good pressure and hot water at all times. There is a cooling unit, which is like a mini fridge, for drinks. There is a Carrabas in the lobby of the hotel, but there are many culinary delights not too far from the hotel. There is also a Tiki Bar, which is next to the boardwalk and overlooks the beach. That afternoon, there was a free popcorn in the lobby next to the Starbucks stand. We met Ivan, the assistant manager, who was friendly and walked out the front of the lobby to help point us to the direction of Walgreens. Across the street, there is Primo Cafe, which has sandwiches and breakfast offerings. Walgreens is just about 2-3 blocks away from the hotel to get forgotten essentials. You can easily walk, rent a bike (from bike stands), or take a cab to South Beach or to the heart of Miami Beach. Check out the Fountainbleu - a beautiful place with pricey restaurants. It was about a 5-10 minute walk on the boardwalk and we had dinner there, which was good, albeit very modest portions. Our waitress informed us that many of the staff were just hired for the spring break onslaught, so don't expect knowledgeable staff there. South Beach is a quick jog or a 20-30 minute walk in the opposite direction. As you approach South Beach, you'll start to notice hotels playing loud music in their pool areas. But, don't miss South Beach and all the fantastic restaurant offerings. We had brunch at the News Cafe (great prices for S. Beach). We also tried the Miami Culinary Tour, which was also a lot of fun. Visit Espanola Way and walk down Ocean Blvd. Overall, the construction didn't bother us b/c we didn't stay in the hotel during the day. There is a bit of dust on the terrace of our room, but that didn't bother us either. Try to reserve a room as high as you can. We were on the 6th level and we could still hear the din of either the ac/restaurant/hotel exhaust fans below when on the terrace.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Annapolissailing,

Thank You for your concise and candid feedback. We appreciate the fact that you chose our property during your recent visit to Miami Beach. I hope you return in the near future and visit us again at our beautiful historic hotel.

Thank You Again

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
195 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here during a conference and was very happy with the faccility. Beds were nice, staff was great and the location was easy to get around the area from. I had a room that overlooked the pool area and did not have any issues with excessive noise or late nights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear GoDawg44,

Thank You for your feedback. I appreciate you choosing our property during your visit to Miami Beach. We hope to see you back in the future. I will be sure to review this message with the service staff.

Best Regards

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here pre-cruise for one night. We always stay at Marriott properties but wanted something less-busy than Sobe. The check-in was excellent. Nice greeting, nice valet, nice front desk staff. The room was just fair. I would hardly call it remodeled, but the view of the water was nice. The problems came when we needed our car to go to dinner. The valet was awful. He had an attitude. The car was evidently parked off premises. It took over 20 minutes. Then the car came JERKING down the road to the side. THE VALET COULDN'T DRIVE A STICK SHIFT!!!!!! We went to the car rather than have him bring it around the block to prevent more damage.

That night, there was a heavy smell of cigarette smoke in our room. THIS IS A NON-SMOKING PROPERTY and I'm highly sensitive. Called the front desk. Got a verbal shrug. Nothing was to be done, they said. We called in the morning to complain and still nothing was done. We checked out and complained again. Just a shrug (in person this time).

Then came the wait for the car. I arrived 45 minutes later. We'd have gladly walked to it if they'd tell us where it was but they wouldn't do so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Travel Junkie 1209,

Thank You for staying with us prior to your cruise. I truly apologize for any wait you experienced while waiting for your vehicle. We provide each valet customer a ticket at check-in which states a suggested 25 minute call ahead time for your vehicle - 45 minutes is a long wait and I sincerely apologize. We take the smell of smoke very seriously and issue a smoking fee for anyone caught in the act. It is very challenging to do so, if the guest is on the balcony - we should have offered a room move which I apologize that the desk agent did not offer. As a fellow traveler I apologize for any challenges you may have had. We hope you give us a second chance upon your next visit to Miami.

Thank You

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The last couple of times I stayed in Miami Beach.. we stayed much closer to all of the action on Ocean Blvd and closer to South Beach. But this hotel was perfect! It was just far enough to be away from all the commotion, but a 20 minute walk, 10 minute bike ride or $8-10 cab ride to be part of all the action again. The beach was BEAUTIFUL. No seaweed, not crowded at all. Of course you do have to pay for the umbrellas and lounge chairs but that's expected on South Beach. The pool didn't offer much but I'm not much of a pool person anyways. The Tiki Bar was fun - although maybe a little overpriced but they did have happy hour specials. The room was small and clean - nothing special but satisfactory nonetheless. The restaurant on site, Carabba's, is great too for a cheaper meal on a night that you just want to take it easy. Also, this hotel is a 2 minute walk from the Fontainebleau. Me and one of my girlfriends visited the Spa there (a MUST DO.. absolutely amazing) and were given free pool passes for the next day. I highly recommend this hotel. Great value!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Amanda V

Thank You for staying at our great property. We are excited you were able to visit during the cold New England winters. I very much appreciate the feedback and look forward to meeting you upon your return visit.

Best Regards,

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#84 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#100 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Oceanfront
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3925 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach Courtyard
Miami Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.