We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to SoBe fun without the noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3925 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer - Save More!
Ranked #67 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
VA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Close to SoBe fun without the noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel. We read many hotel reviews before choosing this hotel. The valet was efficient and welcoming; be sure to tip them! The check-in process was smooth. Efrain made a fantastic effort in helping us get settled into the right room. We had a nice beachfront room with a king-sized bed with a terrace, which overlooked the pool (which was covered and unavailable due to construction). Since the pool was unavailable, hotel patrons were able to use the pool at a Marriott property a few blocks down at the Eden Roc and because of the construction, patrons were given a free pass to use the beachfront chairs. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the shower had good pressure and hot water at all times. There is a cooling unit, which is like a mini fridge, for drinks. There is a Carrabas in the lobby of the hotel, but there are many culinary delights not too far from the hotel. There is also a Tiki Bar, which is next to the boardwalk and overlooks the beach. That afternoon, there was a free popcorn in the lobby next to the Starbucks stand. We met Ivan, the assistant manager, who was friendly and walked out the front of the lobby to help point us to the direction of Walgreens. Across the street, there is Primo Cafe, which has sandwiches and breakfast offerings. Walgreens is just about 2-3 blocks away from the hotel to get forgotten essentials. You can easily walk, rent a bike (from bike stands), or take a cab to South Beach or to the heart of Miami Beach. Check out the Fountainbleu - a beautiful place with pricey restaurants. It was about a 5-10 minute walk on the boardwalk and we had dinner there, which was good, albeit very modest portions. Our waitress informed us that many of the staff were just hired for the spring break onslaught, so don't expect knowledgeable staff there. South Beach is a quick jog or a 20-30 minute walk in the opposite direction. As you approach South Beach, you'll start to notice hotels playing loud music in their pool areas. But, don't miss South Beach and all the fantastic restaurant offerings. We had brunch at the News Cafe (great prices for S. Beach). We also tried the Miami Culinary Tour, which was also a lot of fun. Visit Espanola Way and walk down Ocean Blvd. Overall, the construction didn't bother us b/c we didn't stay in the hotel during the day. There is a bit of dust on the terrace of our room, but that didn't bother us either. Try to reserve a room as high as you can. We were on the 6th level and we could still hear the din of either the ac/restaurant/hotel exhaust fans below when on the terrace.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Annapolissailing,

Thank You for your concise and candid feedback. We appreciate the fact that you chose our property during your recent visit to Miami Beach. I hope you return in the near future and visit us again at our beautiful historic hotel.

Thank You Again

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    586
    191
    77
    39
See reviews for
380
440
47
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here during a conference and was very happy with the faccility. Beds were nice, staff was great and the location was easy to get around the area from. I had a room that overlooked the pool area and did not have any issues with excessive noise or late nights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear GoDawg44,

Thank You for your feedback. I appreciate you choosing our property during your visit to Miami Beach. We hope to see you back in the future. I will be sure to review this message with the service staff.

Best Regards

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here pre-cruise for one night. We always stay at Marriott properties but wanted something less-busy than Sobe. The check-in was excellent. Nice greeting, nice valet, nice front desk staff. The room was just fair. I would hardly call it remodeled, but the view of the water was nice. The problems came when we needed our car to go to dinner. The valet was awful. He had an attitude. The car was evidently parked off premises. It took over 20 minutes. Then the car came JERKING down the road to the side. THE VALET COULDN'T DRIVE A STICK SHIFT!!!!!! We went to the car rather than have him bring it around the block to prevent more damage.

That night, there was a heavy smell of cigarette smoke in our room. THIS IS A NON-SMOKING PROPERTY and I'm highly sensitive. Called the front desk. Got a verbal shrug. Nothing was to be done, they said. We called in the morning to complain and still nothing was done. We checked out and complained again. Just a shrug (in person this time).

Then came the wait for the car. I arrived 45 minutes later. We'd have gladly walked to it if they'd tell us where it was but they wouldn't do so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Travel Junkie 1209,

Thank You for staying with us prior to your cruise. I truly apologize for any wait you experienced while waiting for your vehicle. We provide each valet customer a ticket at check-in which states a suggested 25 minute call ahead time for your vehicle - 45 minutes is a long wait and I sincerely apologize. We take the smell of smoke very seriously and issue a smoking fee for anyone caught in the act. It is very challenging to do so, if the guest is on the balcony - we should have offered a room move which I apologize that the desk agent did not offer. As a fellow traveler I apologize for any challenges you may have had. We hope you give us a second chance upon your next visit to Miami.

Thank You

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The last couple of times I stayed in Miami Beach.. we stayed much closer to all of the action on Ocean Blvd and closer to South Beach. But this hotel was perfect! It was just far enough to be away from all the commotion, but a 20 minute walk, 10 minute bike ride or $8-10 cab ride to be part of all the action again. The beach was BEAUTIFUL. No seaweed, not crowded at all. Of course you do have to pay for the umbrellas and lounge chairs but that's expected on South Beach. The pool didn't offer much but I'm not much of a pool person anyways. The Tiki Bar was fun - although maybe a little overpriced but they did have happy hour specials. The room was small and clean - nothing special but satisfactory nonetheless. The restaurant on site, Carabba's, is great too for a cheaper meal on a night that you just want to take it easy. Also, this hotel is a 2 minute walk from the Fontainebleau. Me and one of my girlfriends visited the Spa there (a MUST DO.. absolutely amazing) and were given free pool passes for the next day. I highly recommend this hotel. Great value!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Amanda V

Thank You for staying at our great property. We are excited you were able to visit during the cold New England winters. I very much appreciate the feedback and look forward to meeting you upon your return visit.

Best Regards,

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Read a lot of negative reviews here about this hotel but I do feel most are unwarranted. We knew that there was construction going on at the hotel when we booked (Marriott's website does a very good job of advertising this). While it is a bit noisy during daytime hours, it did not bother us at all. There is construction all over Miami / South Beach areas. As a Platinum member, we were upgraded to a corner room (did not have ocean views but it was on the opposite side of construction). Check in process was a breeze - front desk staff was VERY helpful during our entire stay. The valet guys were incredible to deal with - offered free bottled water every time we left and returned to the hotel and always opened the doors for us. The beach staff (Greg and Lee) were awesome and made us feel very welcome everyday. Since construction is going on, they are waiving the $5 chair / umbrella fee at the beach. Chairs are very comfortable and the umbrellas did a great job at providing shade for those of us who wanted it. There is also a server from the Tiki Bar that delivers drinks and food (if you want) all day at the beach. To be honest, I would expect this service from a JW Marriott or Ritz property - but I was floored that a Courtyard did such a good job - and made it look effortless.

Rooms are well appointed, bed was comfortable, and it allowed us to relax when we were in our room - which wasn't much. Did not eat at the Carraba's attached to the hotel. We did walk across the street a few times for breakfast (there is a nice cafe / small grocery store) and that provided good options for breakfast as well as lunch. There aren't too many dining choices close to the hotel. It is a walk to get to South Beach area (about 30 minutes to get to the heart of South Beach). However, you can take the boardwalk and it is a really nice walk right along the beach. We walked down daily and it was not bad at all. Cabs aren't too expensive there - you can catch a cab from the Courtyard down to South Beach for about $10. So you do have options if you do not care to walk.

I would recommend this property for couples, families, and groups. While it is not in the heart of South Beach, it is a nice property. Once the construction is completed, there are going to be some really nice rooms with phenomenal views. I applaud the property for doing the improvements necessary to be competitive. There is no good time to do construction. And there are TONS of other hotels doing the same thing right now. Miami Beach prefers to restore old buildings instead of building new ones - this is a fact of life there. It is the only way that they can maintain the art deco feel of the area. Don't let the bad reviews of construction steer you away from the hotel. We were with a group of 8 people and not one of us complained once about the noise or inconvenience of no pool right now. We didn't go to Miami to swim in a pool (although they do provide access to a pool at another property for free). The hotel is oceanfront and the ocean is spectacular. Hit the beach and let the staff take good care of you. Book with confidence!

Room Tip: If you sleep late, ask for a room away from the construction (south side). We could not hear a thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear BagbosRichmond...

Thank You for staying at our great hotel. We strive to ensure each guest enjoys their experience at this property. I along with the team have worked to ensure all efforts are made to minimize the construction experience, and you provided great feedback to that point. Our property is historic and is a protected building (just like most of the hotels along Miami Beach). The mid century modern look and feel is crucial to the experience in Miami.
I will share your comments with the team and we truly appreciate your candid feeback. I hope to see you back in the future.

Best Regards

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Set in the style of art decor. The check in area seems old on first impressions, but you soon appreciate that it is in the old character of art decor. The check in staff were very friendly and helpful.

The room was nice, comfortable and quiet, despite the room overlooking Collins avenue. Coffee making facilities were available, and a safe was also in the room.

The hotel has 3 eating facilities. One big restaurant where breakfast and dinner (after 4pm) is served. The dinner food is good with a large choice of Italian style food. Breakfast is ok, but not spectacularly great quality. The restaurant has a curious smell at all times, which I don't particularly like. The is a running water pool in the restaurant so it may come from that. Outside there is a poolside cafe bar which sells snacks and bar meals at lunchtime. In the check in lobby is a coffee bar for light snacks and refreshments.

There is an exit at the back of the hotel allowing access to the popular boardwalk and the beach.

In summary, this hotel is a good choice for both holiday makers and business travelers. Easy to get to the airport with quick access to the highway 95/195. The airport journey is around 30 minutes.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Simon P,

Thank You for choosing our historic property while visiting Miami Beach. I agree with comment on character, as our historic lobby is beautifully preserved in its mid century modern style. The Location is great and easily accessible to all main thoroughfares. I will be sure to check on the smell from the restaurant and ensure that is remedied. I appreciate the candid feedback and hope you give us another opportunity during your return visit to Miami Beach.

Best Regards

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I were referred to this hotel by the travel agency that booked our cruise out of Miami. We are very glad that we stayed here. It was a very nice hotel, just a short walk to the beach from the lobby. When we arrived there were 3 or 4 very attentive valets waiting to help with our luggage and help me out of the cab. It was around 5 PM when we checked in and since we had been traveling all day, the fresh popcorn stand that was set up in the lobby was a nice welcome. Several other people writing reviews for this hotel said that the cab ride was expensive. We flew Southwest to Ft Lauderdale airport and paid $23 a piece to get to the hotel via Go Shuttle. The cab ride from the hotel to Ocean Dr was $8.50 each way for the two of us. We ate at an art deco hotel on Ocean Dr that was converted to a restaurant, The Carlyle. It was entertaining and tasty. I'll write a full review of it too. I'm unsure if I'm able to list price here, but I'll try. Since we were with a group we paid $209 for a Sunday night stay at this hotel and due to the excellent service, location and mattress (we slept like well fed babies), it was worth it! I called and without the group discount it would have been $500 a night. Too rich for us!

Room Tip: There is construction going on at this hotel. Due to this we had limited view of the ocean and cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Cathy-Claudio,

Thank You for staying with us during your visit to Miami Beach in February. We appreciate the candid feedback and we hope you return for another visit in the near future. I agree with your comments regarding the transportation costs and great location of the hotel. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the service team.

Thank You again for staying with us

Best Regards,

Joseph LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3925 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach Courtyard
Miami Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.