We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astor may 2015” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astor to your Saves list
Hotel Astor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   956 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
2 reviews
“Astor may 2015”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Is my review of hotel Astor, the exterior of hotel -well maintained free of trash and debris and we were greeted at the door. The first floor level of the hotel is done with green and blacks and the bar area and lounge are quite modern complimenting the style of the hotel and very pleasing to the eyes the bar staff was helpful and very attentive.
Some of the rooms in the hotel had been renovated recently. They were clean yes , but shows a tremendous amount of wear . Roon 302 was a a renovated. included a leather couch modern King bed. says pole mounted television . A room we were inutially given in the rear of the hotel probably the size of a large master bathroom I think it was 219 . the room that I stayed in was number 304 it was adequate in size the only problem I have is that room furniture looked old and broken. my complaint re hotel Astor was we were unaware the hotel also has party/club- the music at 1:30a.m. could be heard with all base on the third floor. We called the desk and I assume they turned the bass down somewhere because the music became tolerable . My rating for the hotel after is 2.5 stars - 1 star for the loud music - one star for the lack of hot water and towels. -.5 stars furniture and un even flooring in the rooms.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    223
    112
    72
    72
See reviews for
85
304
52
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at Hotel Astor last week with 4 other girls. It was great there were towels for us to take to the beach every time we went which we often did because it would rain and then stop. Towels could be a bit brighter/ whiter, but that was the least of our worries. The spacious room was clean, well decorated, & whenever we asked for extra towels they were there within minutes. The hotel staff was very friendly and hospitable. There was one guy who looked to be in his 30s or so who was a tad unfriendly about the beach towels, but aside from that everyone else was fantastic! I would definitely stay at Hotel Astor again. Its also great that they have a bar / lounge downstairs which you can go to and then there is also a bar area on the main floor as well as an outside deck. We plan to go back to Miami again next year and would love to stay at Hotel Astor. It's not very far from the beach and as a matter of fact it only took us about 7 minutes to walk to the beach however during that walk there's lots of hotels, restaurants, clubs, lounges and more in the nearbu area. You definitely will be in the scene to be seen in!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVHA, General Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Bluegirl423,

Thank you so much for your kind words and the wonderful review on Trip advisor.

I wanted to also let you know that we are undergoing our soft refurbishment of our rooms and part of those changes will include but not limited to linens and terry, this will solve the towels concerns.

We are glad that you found our hotel to be fun, comfortable and a great location as well. I apologized if any of our staff seem not to be engaged, we really strike to have a great hospitality ambiance towards our guests.

Rest assures that we will look after that, we hope to see you soon in the near future.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip advisor.

Cheers,

Glenn Valencia
General Manager
info@hotelastor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was a little bit disappointed after all the good reviews on tripadvisor. Sure the hotel is in a good location and have friendly staff but the building and the furniture is very old and needs upgrade. There are better hotels for the same price in Miami Beach.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVHA, General Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guess
Thank you very much for your comments, they are greatly appreciated.
Allow me to say that at the moment the hotel is under refurbishment and very soon it will be all upgraded.
We hope to have the opportunity to see you back in our hotel.

Once more, thank you very much for your observations.


Glenn Valencia
General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So my review was going to be wonderful because the location and the bartenders and employees are so sweet while your there however when you check out and they charge your card then thatrs a different story. So i need some extra time to get out of the hotel so the COO (i thought thats what he said his name starts with a B) I went to the front desk to ask them (which i went down there in my bathing suite and they thought i did not have any underwear on so i had to pull up my shirt before they could answer my question) if we could please have an extra hour to check out since we were waiting on uber and just a mix of things and he said yes that will be fine...the cleaning ladies need to get in there by 4 pm on Sunday (4/19/2015) because they have someone checking in at 5Pm that day he told us we could put our stuff behind the counter until that time...so we did.....fast forward to today 4/22/2015 and they are charging a late fee and a random fee at the bar which no one signed for so idk how that was possible since at every other hotel's bar ive been to always ask to sign something....SO the question is if you would like a relaxing vacation stay here its very nice...just make sure to watch out what your being charged for!!!!! Me personally i would never stay there again becuae i don't trust there accounting.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

BEWARE OF THE HOTEL: First of all, they will charge crazy fees for stay until 3 p.m. after the initial check-out time of 12 p.m. The room was not cleaned during my four day/three night visit. The bathroom is poor designed and water pour onto the floor.

DONT STAY HERE! Poor management and bad customer service.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVHA, General Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Antwan,

Thakn you so much for your review. It is so sad that you never mentioned anything about the issues you had, every time i encountered you and your friends you were always so happy an charming... I guest it was just while in Miami.

Yes, most hotels do have a late check out rate nad althought ours is below the actual standards i guess is really the only thing that made you not feel so confortable at the time of check out.

I hope you do visit us again in the future for i will always remember you and your group of friends.

Once again, thank you for the kind review and for taking the time to write us.

Cheers,

Glenn Valencia
General Manager
infor@hotelastor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

New Brunswick
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location!!! The room was clean. King size bed was comfortable. Wall are a bit thin. The staff are very nice and very helpful in everything that we needed!! They recommended their favorite restaurants. Theres 3 beach chairs that u can borrow from the hotel but they were always taken when we asked for them. They can lend you beach towel for the beach ( not very big) but it works. Beach is only 3 blocks away. Nice little outdoor seating area where we had a few drinks before heading out for a niht on the town!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVHA, General Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guess,

Thank you very much for your comments; we are very happy that you did enjoy your stay with us.
We are looking forward to see you again.

Kind regards.


Glenn valencia.
General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was very hot, 81 F, when we arrived so we closed the curtains and turned down the thermostat thinking maybe the warmth from the sun was preventing the room from cooling down. When we returned, the room had dropped to a balmy 79 degrees. We contacted the front desk and they came up and took the batteries out of the thermostat and then put them back in again... Still no cool air was blowing! He told me to climb up on a chair and see if it was cooler up there... "No, it's the same!". Then he told me, " Well, I will allow you to open the windows." OK, well, I opened the windows and it was exactly the same temperature outside with no breeze at all. I asked if we could have another room or barrow a fan and he looked at me like I'd asked for a Rolls Royce and told me, "Someone will look at it tomorrow, there's nothing more to be done." (Of course we are leaving tomorrow.)
I'm considering camping out in the lobby as it is much cooler down there!
On the bright side, there is free WiFi with which to write a review, and there is plenty of cold water for a cool shower before the sweltering night ahead!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Address: 956 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Astor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with plain but stylish bedrooms.Art Deco boutique hotel near South Beach clubs, shops and restaurantsOriginal 1936 Vitrolite panels light the entrance to this Art Deco jewel in the heart of South Beach. The 42-room hotel is more minimalist than its flashier competitors and has been restored to its initial splendor. The expansive lobby has a tiled floor and dramatic lighting reminiscent of Hollywood glamour. Inside, rooms favor the less-is-more approach. Expect lots of white -- Miami Beach's signature color --sleek furniture and Roman shades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Miami Beach
Astor Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.