We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Beach the Astor is the Best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Astor to your Saves list
Hotel Astor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   956 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“South Beach the Astor is the Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I've stayed at the Astor 3 times, each time it gets better, the service/staff are great, housekeeping great, rooms always clean. The Bar is great, great ambiance, music just right, great place to meet people and Talk the night away.

Room Tip: any room is Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVPGM, General Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Benito R, I will like to thank you for being a valuable guest at Hotel Astor. We appreciate your detailed review of your recent stay with us; we do our best to provide world class service to each guest.
Please contact me if you decide to return to Hotel Astor again at lpraman@hotelastor.com
Yours truly

Liza V Praman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    198
    91
    67
    70
See reviews for
71
270
46
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Since I owned a dance record label, Step Ahead Recordings in the U.S., my label's Artists and DJs used to stay at Hotel Astor(Miami, South Beach) during the week of WMC(Winter Music Conference) once a year, Asides from being one of the best hospitality services in South Beach's area, the Owner himself is so into Electronic music and totally support the Conference by helped hosting quality events.

Room Tip: Best place to stay in South Beach for Clubbing actions
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Definitely the best choice on South Beach. The staff are all so lovely. We felt part of the "hotel family" within 24 hours and we would definitely return. Thanks to all the staff who are genuinely interested in making your stay as enjoyable as possible. Chris on the front desk was so helpful and all his recommendations were brilliant. Deanna behind the bar was so entertaining and patient. Thanks to all of you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVPGM, General Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Deb W, Thank you for your kind comments about our true Hotel Astor service.
We are glad that were able to provide a relaxing and memorable stay. Thanks for your kind words about our associate Chris and Deanna, we all work very hard to provide great service to our guest and this recognition is very important to us. Thank you again and we are look forward to your next stay with us.
Best Regards,
Liza V Praman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the hotel for vacation and we had an unbelievable time, one that we will never forget. If we ever go back we will stay Hotel Astor! We will highly recommend to our friends and family through social media to stay at Hotel Astor! The friendly and stress-free atmosphere of Hotel Astor made our trip even better. The manager (Liza) ensured that my friend and I were satisfied and our accomodations were met and that we were happy when we left the hotel, which we were. If there was a problem or issue she took care of it in a professional manner which we appreciated and made the stay more enjoyable. Our favorite guy (Chris), the man with the best suit and tie, customer service and personality in Miami South Beach. Chris gave us excellent recommendations for great prices for attractions in Miami. We ended up going with the $80 package that includes a boat trip, everglades and bus tour, which is an all-day event. Chris was ALWAYS helpful and thought just like my friend and I! The bartender (Alina) was beautiful and had me smiling at all times! The server in the morning (Elry) had a great personality, always was positive and looking to help us. The beautiful and gorgeous bartender (Daniella) was always happy, friendly, open minded about making new friends and always was happy no matter what time it was. The man at the front desk (Burak) was quite a character and did a great job at directing us in the right direction. He is a hard worker and a thoughtful guy. The room service was solid and even threw in some extra soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion to make us happy. The gentlemen at the door (Evens) was always ontop of things when he would see us comming to the door he would open the door no matter what time of the day or night. Once again (Chris) was amazing and we loved him so much and I loved how we did not have to worry about making to much noise and being stressed out about the prices because in the end of our stay it all worked out and we had a great trip! Thank you again hotel Astor and we will see you soon!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVPGM, General Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Lightsout12. Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review about our hotel and employees. Its reason like this I love my job so much, knowing that our guest leave feeling very happy and pleased with their stay at Hotel Astor.
It was wonderful of you to mention the staff by names and it was beautifully will put the way you describe each staff and their personality. Am glad that you and your friend had a wonderful time and a safe trip back home to California, we the staffs at Hotel Astor look forward in seeing you both again.
Best Regards
Liza V Praman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

A friend recommended this little gem on South Beach. the hotel is classic art deco and the staff are simply great especially the ladies in the bar and the guys at the door. they really were so helpful in telling us where to go and what to do.

The rooms are large in size for an Art deco hotel and with good bathrooms. I was upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite which was very much appreciated as i was traveling with my wife and we go to Miami more often. The hotel is few blocks from the beach , close to Lincoln road and very close to espanola wa,

The restaurant is not open but breakfast is served and is delicious and of great value. There is a great outdoor terrace very peaceful to relax and chill and in the evening the make great cocktails . I was given a voucher for happy hour which I thought was a nice touch and we met some more people.

I also realize that I was given a free breakfast because I booked the room directly with the hotel which i always do. I did not know when I booked but again another nice touch and would make me come back again.

This is hotel in how we like and see South Beach

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed in Hotel Astor for 7 days and LOVED every minute. It is in an extremely convenient and central location, everything we needed and/or wanted was within walking distance. The workers were well experienced and always friendly. Room service was prompt and helpful. Our room was well designed, clean and comfortable. If you're looking for a comfortable and affordable place to stay, this is it!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVPGM, General Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Danielless2014,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us.
Hotel Astor is conveniently located in the heart of South Beach. Our aim to impress our guest in all areas of our hotel, and we are happy to read that we succeeded. I am glad you had a safe trip back home and looking forward to see you back at our hotel.

Sincerely,
Liza Praman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Overcharge and have hidden fees ,charge for beach towels and things that you don't even use, wifi didin't work, very small tv, no water in the fridge, no hand soap in bathroom, the bathroom was dirty and had marks on the mirror.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVPGM, Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Omar K. This is unacceptable I assure you that this is not the way we operate at the Hotel Astor.
Please contact me immediately at lpraman@hotelastor.com to rectify this issue.

Thank you
Liza Praman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Address: 956 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Astor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with plain but stylish bedrooms.Art Deco boutique hotel near South Beach clubs, shops and restaurantsOriginal 1936 Vitrolite panels light the entrance to this Art Deco jewel in the heart of South Beach. The 42-room hotel is more minimalist than its flashier competitors and has been restored to its initial splendor. The expansive lobby has a tiled floor and dramatic lighting reminiscent of Hollywood glamour. Inside, rooms favor the less-is-more approach. Expect lots of white -- Miami Beach's signature color --sleek furniture and Roman shades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Miami Beach
Astor Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.