We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky lucky lucky!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astor to your Saves list
Hotel Astor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   956 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lucky lucky lucky!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We were so lucky to get a room the night we arrived in Miami from Florida Keys. Being from Australia we were unaware of the big game between Notre Dame and Alabama and it happened to be the night before it. Everywhere we tried on the drive into Miami city was booked out except the Astor which had two rooms left. Phew! Thanks for coming to the rescue we were tuckered out! But so much was going on we had to go out for a look. We saw a free concert with "FloRida" on the beach! The atmosphere down South Beach was amazing. The hotel was like two streets back from the beach and in the heart of it all. Like I say we were Lucky! The hotel was in a great location, the room was clean, bed comfy, the shower hot and breakfast was included. What more could you ask for last minute.... Oh and good price too.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    209
    99
    67
    70
See reviews for
75
280
49
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware Water Gap, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Newer hotels may have better features, but they also lack character, in my opinion. When you stay at an older hotel, you should expect a few cracked tiles in the floor and some scuff marks on the furniture. Hotel Astor is a beautiful Art Deco hotel with updated features. Sure, the elevator was noisy, but it got you to your destination in one piece. The walls of the rooms are THICK, the only noise in the room was faint street noise and the noise that we created. The rooms are very spacious, the linens are crisp and clean and the staff is courteous and friendly. When I brought a dripping faucet to the staff's attention, it was promptly fixed. You cannot beat the 3 block walk to the beach, the free airport shuttle and the beach chairs and towels that are given on request (I guess that is where the resort fees come in). The only complaint I had was the resort fee ($11 per night) which was not included in the original bill. I was told about it, but I assumed it was included in the itemized charges and then saw it added on at the end of the stay. When I mentioned my unhappiness with it, the manager immediately took the charge off. Even though it is an older hotel, it still had WiFi, a small flat screen TV and everything else you would expect in a nice hotel. At a price that is only slightly higher than the low-end chains, you cannot do better. It is, by far, the best value I have personally seen in a long, long, time.

Room Tip: There is not any benefit to a room at the front of the building, no view to speak of, so I would cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay.
The staff is warm and helpful. Our family fit in the suite perfectly and the glam travertine bathroom w bathtub is an extra plus and Clean enough to put my kid in Yeah!!
Thanks for making our vacation great

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

There are many choices for a stay in South Beach. But, if your looking for outstanding individual attention at a boutique property, then the Astor Hotel should be on your list. Under new management and bent on setting a high standard for personal service, this perfectly situated hotel offers a beautiful entry and lobby, great restaurant with bar and outside courtyard that offers peace in a sea of action. I recommend you look here to be in the center of activity and take me away service.

Room Tip: Speak to the manager and book direct. Avoid hotel web sites to ensure the best room selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Well located on Washington Ave., just 3 blocks from the beach. Fully renovated.

Positives:
+ Very large, modern room. (#305).
+ Very comfortable bed and linens.
+ Spacious bathroom, good toiletries, good water pressure, quiet toilet
+ In-room safe
+ Black-out blinds on windows.
+ Very good price (walk-in) and reasonable valet parking charge.
+ Wonderful and helpful staff.

Negatives:
- Some light seeps in around door frame.
- A/C unit is noisy and temperature variations quite large.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I took our two daughters to south beach for their birthdays 25 and 21. We got two seperate rooms. The girls had double beds and plenty of room. We had the kingsize bedroom. They were just beautiful and CLEAN. Jorge at the front desk was just awesome. He really made this trip special with the suggestions he made for the girls to have a good time. The manager Jerry was really nice and approachable. The location in regards to all the great spots was perfect. You are a few blocks from the beach, starbucks, wet willies and some really nice clubs and restaurants. We did not have the opportunity to try the restaurant in the hotel, but the food smelled great. My wife and I decided that this will be the only hotel we will stay at when visiting South Beach.

Room Tip: the floor creeks when people are walking. try to get the top floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I read many review on the hotels in miami. After reading them all I choose to stay at the hotel astor because of the area that it was in.. As we checked in friday I was greeted by a staff that welcomed us to the hotel. That went out of it was the whole time we were there... Evan called our room about 15 mins after checking in to ask our plans.. He guided us to the area bars. Just all was unbeleiveable. This hotel was nothing what others had stated in past reveiw.. it was better.. We meet the new mangement team at the hotel and they listen to everyones concerns and was helpful. They really care about the guest at the hotel. The rooms are super clean . Hey the noise was ok it is south beach. The food at the hotels lounge was good. Every morning we were at the hotel someone from the staff ask how we were. I have been telling all my friends to come stay at this hotel now.. ....... If you have stay at the hotel before November of this year go back and stay again ..

Room Tip: Ask for the Rooms over the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Address: 956 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Astor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with plain but stylish bedrooms.Art Deco boutique hotel near South Beach clubs, shops and restaurantsOriginal 1936 Vitrolite panels light the entrance to this Art Deco jewel in the heart of South Beach. The 42-room hotel is more minimalist than its flashier competitors and has been restored to its initial splendor. The expansive lobby has a tiled floor and dramatic lighting reminiscent of Hollywood glamour. Inside, rooms favor the less-is-more approach. Expect lots of white -- Miami Beach's signature color --sleek furniture and Roman shades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Miami Beach
Astor Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.