We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Astor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor

Save Saved
You added Hotel Astor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BookIt.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Astor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   956 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Astor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was in Miami Beach for 2 days only, and my stay in Hotel Astor i can consider very good
The hotel is clean, the rooms are comfortable and the bathroom good also.
The elevator is very old, but I don't think it's a big issue.
The only point that was very bad was the wifi internet in the room. I could not use, only in the main reception.
THe very good point about the hotel was the staff, specifically the guy called Andres. He was so solicitous and could help me and my girlfriend since our checkin until our checkout. He gave us some recommendations for our trip, helped a lot with our luggage and was very fair when we complained about the wifi internet.
The location of the hotel was also very good, and the vallet service not so expensive (28 dollars a day).
The rate was good considering all the points above.
I definetelly recommend the Hotel Astor if you want to go to Miami Beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lta791, Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review the Astor Hotel . We are glad to read your comments on your recent stay at the Astor Hotel . We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and you liked hotel location and service. The hotel staff special Andres is very happy to hear such a positive feedback. Looking forward to see you again during your future trips to South Beach.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    192
    91
    68
    68
See reviews for
60
253
39
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have stayed at a few of the hotels on the Art-Deco tour of Miami Beach and this one is head and shoulders above the rest. Updated rooms, top-flight amenities, solicitous staff all combined for a comfortable and enjoyable refuge in the middle of the beach area. We walked to Lincoln Road and the beach strip. Luigi, the manager attended to all our requests, to include a wealth of knowledge about the local area and activities.

Room Tip: Big rooms and a quiet refuge in the middle of Miami Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lta791, Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Mike,Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Astor hotel in South Beach. We do appreciate your comments about the hotel and location . Looking forward to see you again during your future trips in South Beach.Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I were pleased staying in the hotel. The service was excellent and the staffs are very nice. They provided guidance for us to check local activities. We stayed at the suite room (we are newly weds). First time get-in, it is clean and spacious. We had a great time enjoyed our times. Can't wait to come back when the weather is better. Got a lot of raining in Sept. Thanks for the beautiful hotel, we had good time enjoying our relaxing time inside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lta791, Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest. we do appreciate your positive feedback and we are happy to hear that you liked the service and the accommodations. We are constantly working hard to improve the quality of the hotel and the service. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've stayed in Miami a few times, twice in Miami beach and this is the best Miami hotel I've stayed in outside of the big chains such as Marriott. Was here for at least a week and it's a great location, convenient for most attractions in the South Beach area. It's a short walk to the beach and there are plenty of eating places around. Had simple buffet breakfast here each day. Nothing spectacular but if you just want something to stave off the hunger until lunch then it does the job. Bedroom was clean and fresh and thought the bathroom was great. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lta791, Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Adrian, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the time at the Astor Hotel. Thanks for this wonderful review looking forward to meet you during your future stay. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for two nights after travelling down from Miami. My son, aged eight years was very impressed with the huge size of the room and bathroom. It was cleaned every day and fresh towels left. Could also have beach chairs and towels if you wanted to go to,the beach which was two blocks away. Excellent location for Ocean Drive and all the clubs and restaurants. The front desk receptionist was very helpful and the maid was very eager to get into the room each morning. Breakfast was offered to us, complimentary,coffee and Danish but we never took it up. Wi fi in the rooms and one computer downstairs in the lobby. The air conditioner was very good and fairly quiet. All,in all good value for money in such an expensive location.(we took advantage of the valet option for the car, as it was less hassle then parking on the street with a meter or in the parking lot.)

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor, as you can hear the people walking in the room above, the only negative!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lta791, Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Starlene, Thanks for taking the time to review the Astor Hotel . We are glad to read your comments on your recent stay at the Astor Hotel . We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and you liked hotel location and service. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed in the Astor during our visit to Miami Beach in July. The hotel seemed small in the website but was very nice. The rooms were spacious and clean. Loved the lobby decor and new Italian restaurant. This is a great hotel to stay and also a great location.

Room Tip: be ready for the beatiful beaches in Miami Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lta791, Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Leonard, We appreciate you taking the time to review the Astor hotel. We are very happy to hear the positive feedback about the restaurant and rooms. Looking forward to see you again during your future trips. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I enjoyed a very pleasant stay at the Astor Hotel. Visitors should expect to park at a nearby parking garage or have your vehicle valeted and there isn't a pool or patio, but the beach is within 2 blocks and the service and accommodations were wonderful. I stayed for business purposes and would recommend this venue to anyone looking for an economical choice without compromising on quality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lta791, Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Thieser. we do appreciate your positive feedback and we are happy to hear that you liked the service and the accommodations. We are constantly working hard to improve the quality of the hotel and the service. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Miami Beach
Astor Miami Beach
Address: 956 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Astor 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with plain but stylish bedrooms.Art Deco boutique hotel near South Beach clubs, shops and restaurantsOriginal 1936 Vitrolite panels light the entrance to this Art Deco jewel in the heart of South Beach. The 42-room hotel is more minimalist than its flashier competitors and has been restored to its initial splendor. The expansive lobby has a tiled floor and dramatic lighting reminiscent of Hollywood glamour. Inside, rooms favor the less-is-more approach. Expect lots of white -- Miami Beach's signature color --sleek furniture and Roman shades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Amex, Otel, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.