We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service and Accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor

Save Saved
You added Hotel Astor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Astor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   956 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Columbus, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Service and Accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I enjoyed a very pleasant stay at the Astor Hotel. Visitors should expect to park at a nearby parking garage or have your vehicle valeted and there isn't a pool or patio, but the beach is within 2 blocks and the service and accommodations were wonderful. I stayed for business purposes and would recommend this venue to anyone looking for an economical choice without compromising on quality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lta791, Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Thieser. we do appreciate your positive feedback and we are happy to hear that you liked the service and the accommodations. We are constantly working hard to improve the quality of the hotel and the service. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    195
    89
    67
    69
See reviews for
68
266
44
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I booked my hotel a month in advace and when I arrived at the hotel at 2pm was told that I would have wait until 4. That was ok because it was policy and procedure. At 4 I went to the counter for the agent to explain to me that there was only a King room for a guest of 5 including a child. I was told that there were plumbing issues and that the plumbers were working on it and I told them I was willing to wait, then was told that it wouldn't be until the next day. I explained that it would not work we both were calm during this process and I asked for a refund and was told that only management will be allowed to refund once again I was willing to wait ( I'm very patient), then was told the manager would not be in. So I stepped to the side and called the police because policy states that if I don't check in at a certain time I would be charged fully w/o a refund. The police arrived and also complimented me on how calm I was; by the time they got there the lobby was now filled with guest waiting for a room. This hotel only has 15 rooms and rooms are sold thru expedia, trip advisor, booking, directly with hotel, and other 3rd party cites so its understandable why they are always overbooked. There is a sister hotel across the street that was also overbooked but they assured me that I would have a room there, I went there to find other guest complaining about no water, lights etc. and notice that the same manager I was told was out for that day was across the street. He did not want to give my refund, after the police talked with them I received my refund at 7:15pm. I worked for a independently hotel and I know all about the excuses they come up with to have an excuse, independently hotels sells room like the airlines sells seats. They often overbook with the thought that people wouldn't show up and profit is made. Don't stay here unless its in the middle of the week. I can say so much but my mind is moving faster than my hands.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lta791, Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We sincerely apologize for your experience and we are looking forward to have another chance and show you the real Astor hotel experience. I apologize for the confusion but we did have 2 rooms in hold for you in different hotels same category same room type. There was a overbooking made by a travel agent and we went our way out to correct travel agent mistake and relocate guests and be responsible but unfortunately in situations like this is very difficult to make everyone happy. The manager was 4 hours away in a business meeting but the manager in duty came within 15-20 minutes to refund the stay. I would like to have the chance to speak with you directly about your stay and hope that you will contact me at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Pros:

1) 3 blocks from beach
2) Free beach towels and chairs
3) AWESOME air conditioning

Cons:
1) Poor Management - took 2 hours to check in. People (thankfully not us) did not get confirmed and paid for room reservations. No advance notice to these people who called the police because the hotel was not refunding their money on the spot.
2) No security/no one at desk - at 3 AM, drunk guests roaming the halls and knocking on doors
3) Security did not do anything even on confirming the EXTREMELY strong stench of marijuana wafting down the hallway. They knocked on door and the guy opened it and said he would open the windows.
4) No maid service - how is this a hotel ?
5) The faucets in the bathroom were only loosely coupled to the wall - they came off.
6) No pool - but there is a pool fee - to use the pool at a sister hotel which is terrible

All in all, if you are single or if your expectations are very low - then stay here. Else do not.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lta791, Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking a moment to share your feedback after your recent stay. We apologize about the long wait at the check in but sometimes there are situations and errors made by booking agents and not always is the hotel fault. We do have a full maid service and a turn down service until 11Pm. I would like the opportunity to speak with you directly in regards to the issues that you experienced during your stay with us, as we would like to have you back again during your future trips. Feel free to contact us during your future stay in South Beach

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, KS
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Astor 2 nights on a May Weekend. The hotel was clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The recommendations for dinner and a club were wonderful. You are 2 blocks from the beach. The rooms and bathroom were spacious. The only problems was the rooms' doors are noisy when they shut. I guess if you are planning to party hard you won't notice the door noise when you sleep. We did not need a car. We walked, hired a cab or took a bus. We rented segways for 2 hours to go all over SOBE. Even took the bus to Downtown Miami. $2 each way. There is a French bakery across the street for Breakfast. We ate dinner one night at Grazie which is two blocks away. Yummy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, I always stay here when I visit SOBE. This time I bought a guy friend with me and he loved it as well. We had a great time nd walked to everything.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

A family with a 2yrs old stayed for 8 days in this hotel this May. Before we go we were skeptical because of some negative reviews. However, never judge too earlier until you tried it! The location of the hotel is for sure the best, 5 minutes to everywhere, you don't need to drive a car becasue it will be too much hassle. The room service is very good and on time, don't know why people said it doens't have maid service. during the week days the hotel is very quiet and on weekend nights it will be kind of noisy, think about the location it is understandable.The internet is good and looked no problem for us, fast and stable. Jordge checked us in and he is a very nice person and helped us to update our room to suite.He recommended us many excursions near by,and tell you the truth that the price is very resaonable because we did the research in many travel agencies in beach area. the hot water in the bathroom need to be improve indeed, however it will not affect our stay for such a hot weather. I recommend this hotel to other people and it worth the money to stay in Souch Beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Fortunately the location of this hotel was in good proximity to South Beach... But everything else was bad. Just expect cold showers... During peak bathroom usage, the 3rd floor had NO hot water, not even a trickle from the hot water faucet. Just cold. The front desk initially said that a pipe was broken, to find out it was BS. Of course the hotel was sold out and no room change could be accommodated. The front desk was apologetic. The hot water issue evidently has been a problem for a few months. The owner should be ashamed that this has not been fixed. Unfortunately the hotel pictures online look good but those pictures are deceiving. There was multiple cracked tiles in the bathroom, the sink also had a large crack, the floor as you exited the elevator on the 3rd floor had a lot of give as if the floor was going to drop through to the 2nd floor and the elevator reminded me of the elevator at the "Hotel Tower of Terror". The posted Inspection date was sometime back in 2008.... Just a little creepy. Thank God the staff was friendly. Just Beware, you get what you pay for. Especially if you bid through the Non-refundable Priceline

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Address: 956 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#75 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Astor 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with plain but stylish bedrooms.Art Deco boutique hotel near South Beach clubs, shops and restaurantsOriginal 1936 Vitrolite panels light the entrance to this Art Deco jewel in the heart of South Beach. The 42-room hotel is more minimalist than its flashier competitors and has been restored to its initial splendor. The expansive lobby has a tiled floor and dramatic lighting reminiscent of Hollywood glamour. Inside, rooms favor the less-is-more approach. Expect lots of white -- Miami Beach's signature color --sleek furniture and Roman shades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Agoda, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Miami Beach
Astor Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.