We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amateur staff but comfy bed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Clifton South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Clifton South Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1343 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amateur staff but comfy bed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

When you book an eco-hotel you expect a certain spa- like ambiance. This place has no feel of relaxation, class or caring (about the environment or he customer). When we arrived someone was having a row with reception staff because the valet had lost his car. And after that every time we passed there was someone complaining for one reason or another. The staff gave no welcome. Just took our name, gave us the key and told us it would be an extra $13.50 + tax per day for the resort fee. Many of the facilities advertised were still not available the first week in march '10. No laundry service, breakfast, bar. The $13.50 + tax resort fee covers the free local calls, nightclub passes (never heard anything about these), wifi access and beach towels and chairs. When we asked if there was the possibility of a late check out we were told the computer automatically charged after 1pm. No other suggestion or even apology.

The rooms are pretty spacious by European standards. I quite liked the red lighting and general decor of the rooms. And the shower was fantastic. We were lucky and had quiet neighbours for all but one of our 5 nights. But I did hear several people complain about noise.

It's well situated on Collins right in the heart of south beach, but no noise from outside.

My general advice for Miami is to spend as much as you can afford. We did a 3 week road trip across the States, stayed in 8 hotels and b and b's. This was by far the most expensive and by far the worst.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    84
    54
    31
    32
See reviews for
41
82
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Can't find a better location in South Beach. The rooms are small, but the custom, sustainable furniture allows for maximum use of space. (The pictures on this site are not accurate. They depict the hotel prior to renovations.) Our room was stocked with wonderful smelling soap, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion, as well as a full minibar and 2 bottles of water a day. The staff was friendly and helpful. I have 2 suggestions for the property: 1. better bathroom lighting 2. a coffee bar in the lobby in the mornings. My only complaint is the accoustics. In addition to the downstairs hallway echoing into our room, we could hear the conversations of people in the rooms on either side of us. This was particularly irritating when those people came back to their rooms in the early morning hours (2, 3, 4, 5 & yes, 6am) and woke us up. All said, it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

We enjoyed a great stay at this very chic spot in the heart of South Beach. The hotel saves energy with the latest in lighting and efficient air conditioners. Even the furniture is made of recycled materials.

The staff were very attentive and the room was sparkling clean. We loved the The Clifton's ideal location and also knowing we're doing our part to protect the environment.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

The Hotel Clifton is a newly-renovated Art Deco hotel right in the heart of South Beach. The location is great - you can walk to the beach, Lincoln Road - all the great restaurants and clubs in SoBe. The hotel, however, is TINY. There are no more thang 35 room, and our double room was tiny - maybe 200 square feet. Just be prepared for that. Our double had two beds, very low to the ground, with a small table that was supposed to be a desk. And a moderately small bathroom with a shower.

Don't stay at the Clifton if you expect to spent much time in your hotel room. It's great for sleeping, but that's about it. We paid $199 a night for our room, which seems to be a bargain compared to most of South Beach. Comparable hotels were $300 a night or more when we stayed in late February, 2010, and most of the bigger, four and five star resorts were $600-$700 a night. So, truly, you get what you pay for.

My biggest disappointment was lack of a breakfast at the hotel, as advertised. And, be prepared for how small the rooms are. Not that it is a terrible thing, but don't plan to spend much time in your room since you will literally be hanging out on your bed. The IKEA-esque furnishing are nice and brand new.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Stayed at “The New” Clifton on Collins and couldn’t have had a more pleasant stay. Adjacent to a great sushi restaurant and a quick dash to the beach and Ocean Drive, it would be hard to find a better deal for the location. And while the rooms could be considered small by Vegas standards, by South Beach standards, they’re par for the course. Loved their eco-motif, down to the photographs in the rooms. Will definitely stay there again if the price stays comparable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

I was at this hotel it's second week open and appreciated it's environmental sensibility. The rooms were clean, bright, well laid out, very pretty and simply decorated (in an Ikea way not in a "needs more stuff" kind of way.) The location is a block from the beach, which is a very manageable walk. The staff was very friendly and courteous. There were a few minor hiccups (I was not given the wireless access code when I checked in) that were due to the fact it was only the second week it was open. I do have to say that this hotel has the softest towels! The manager said they are from a special type of cotton grown in India that is somehow requires less water to launder than traditional cotton. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

We checked into a very, very tight room, but at least it looked new since they have recently remodeled the place. There isn't any place to sit but the beds and after sitting on the bed for about an hour, I noticed a few red welts on my leg. I didn't see anything on the bed or under the sheets, but saw a bunch of very small bugs scurry for cover when I looked under the bottom sheet. Yuck! We left even though we had prepaid for several nights. I didn't want to end up with bed bugs at home so we had to clean everything out of our suitcases and wash all our clothes before returning home. What a nightmare! Overall, the place actually looked clean, but the hallway and rooms were so tight and close together and the walls were so thin, that we felt like we were in a college dorm.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPCAMBEAN, Manager at Clifton South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2010
Dear Valued Guests - while we appreciate your efforts to leave a review the information in this review is patently false. The hotel is brand new and all mattresses were custom manufactured specifically for this hotel from natural rubber and bamboo. If this guest stayed in the hotel in January - they were likely the first guests in the room and if there were any type of bed bugs or bugs of any type they came with the guests or in their luggage. The hotel opened for business on January 26th and underwent a complete detailed inspection by the city of Miami Beach and the Florida Division of Hotels within 2 days of opening. Furthermore, we have not received any complaints at our front desk or via email about bugs in this property and we have not charged any guests for their stay if there was an early departure. This is the first and only truly sustainable hotel in South Florida and will be the first LEED Platinum certified building in the state of Florida and we take great pride in providing our guests a great experience unlike any other hotel - and this inludes making sure that there are no bugs or other issues that might detract from our guests experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifton South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton South Beach Hotel

Address: 1343 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clifton South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton Hotel was recently transformed so guests can enjoy a classic boutique experience that is fresh, hip and eco-friendly. We looked at all aspects of updating our 35 room Art Deco historic building using resource conserving technology and selecting environmentally friendly materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Clifton South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.