We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Beach and Bars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Clifton South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Clifton South Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1343 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Close to the Beach and Bars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed a night at the Clifton June 22. It's 4 stars because of the location and price. The rooms are small, and clean. The staff was really nice and helpful. It's not a large hotel with services. It served it's purpose, a place to sleep after being out at the beach and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Clifton South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
drcon100- Thank you for the 4 star review, The Clifton enjoyed having you and your wife as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    84
    54
    31
    32
See reviews for
41
82
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Pulled up to what was listed as a 4 star hotel, and my kids locked the doors and refused to get out of he car.
This is the worst hotel ever, It makes Tom Bodett's place look like a five star resort.
No parking
No pool
No security

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Clifton South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
brazosbend- I apologize you were not familiar with South Beach, much like New York parking is very limited that is why we provide valet, we do not advertise a pool only access to our sister properties pool. Our hotel was the first LEED certified building in South Florida when opened in 2010 and is still a leader for sustainability in our industry. I am sorry you did not feel comfortable at our small boutique property in the heart of South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights. Wen we arrivés it was 6 am and we could not get a room due to the fact the hotel was fully booked, which I could understand. However 2 hrs later we could get into our room when playing 50$ extra. I would have done so at 6, but not at 8.
In the evening when we went to sleep our AC did not work. No problem there weer 2 rooms available just a couple of feet away which is weird cause the hotel was fully booked.
The rooms itself were not cleaned properly and extremely noisy.
We had to pay 12,5$ a day for water (was okay), wifi access and Beach towels. The wifi never worked, so Luckily there is a Starbucks nearby. The Beach towels were the raggiest I have ever seen and not hotel worthy. So 12,5$ a day is kinda ripp off.
The problem is I mentionned this at the hotel but at the desk there are only young unexperienced people who have no authority other than to say they Will do their best.
This hotel is overprized and not worthy of its stars, my worsed hotel experience in years!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Clifton South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Peter B- Thank you for your review, I am sorry we could not check you in at 6am our checkin time is 3pm and we do have an early checkin fee for anyone that wants to checkin before 12 however we will always store your luggage until checkin. I apologize that you did not find the accommodations to be a value for the price paid. We would like the opportunity to make you a satisfied guest so please contact me directly when coming to South Beach and I will ensure you a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights while visiting South Beach. Got an amazing deal on Groupon that beat all others and based on reviews we read, just had to book this hotel...luckily we were not disappointed!

The hotel is a modern and chic hotel with very nice rooms. It is not luxury and we did not expect it to be. The rooms are okay sized and perfect for a couple getaway. The hotel itself is also a "green" hotel, being the only hotel in South Beach that is 100% certified. The room and hotel was very clean! And in regards to those other reviews that stated that it's hard to sleep - we actually did not have any issues with noise and actually had some really nice and relaxing nights sleeping.

The only reason why this review is getting a rating of 4 out of 5 instead of 5 out of 5 is due to the staff. Unfortunately, the staff doesn't seem to care. Most of the time as you are checking-in, walking in or walking out, you will see the staff lounging around the lobby on their phones completely ignoring you like you're not even there. It's not a big deal to us because we didn't need anything, but for others it might be a problem. The only member of the team that was really good was Porsha - she always greeted us and whenever we spoke with her she made us feel welcomed and treated us extremely nicely. She was also the only front desk agent that seemed to do her job.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Clifton South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
MarcinTravels- Thank you for the 4 Star review- We are so glad you enjoyed your getaway! We run specials a few times a year through our website and Groupon so keep an eye out for us when you come back to South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking to do a mid-year getaway and we chose South Beach. We did not want to spend too much on flight and accommodation in order to be able to do more when we're there. The Clifton was having a great sale on their room rates so I decided to read some reviews. In comparison with other hotels of its kind, Clifton was decently rated so we decided to book it.
When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised! The hotel is very cute, modern, chic ! We found it to be very clean and the staff was very helpful. They were not overly friendly, but we found friendliness is not a big trend in South Beach.
The safe in the room we were placed in did not work, so we asked to have it fixed. Unfortunately they were unable to fix it so Michelle upgraded us to the suite. The suite was a lot bigger (the regular rooms are fairly small) and it gave us more room to unpack our stuff.
The lack of space is not a huge issue if you are 1-2 people and you are planning on hitting the beach, restaurants, bars, clubs all day. If you like to lounge around inside your room, you will need to pay an additional $300/night and stay at a more luxurious hotel.
The hotel is in an excellent location, no more than a 5 min walk to the beach, restaurants & bars on Ocean Dr. and clubs on Washington.
I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking to be in the heart of SoBe for a GREAT price!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are quieter. Try to get the suite at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Clifton South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Andreutzza- Thank you for the 4 Star review, Thank you for choosing the Clifton for your getaway and we hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked 1 month prior to the date of check in. We called and and confirmed 2 rooms. When we arrived at the front desk. The receptionist was rude and telling us there is only one room available, and gave us an option to transfer to another hotel that is owned by same company it is named majestic hotel the location is good though but the rooms are crappy. What a dissapointing experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, Manager at Clifton South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Lhesterpo- Thank you for your review, I apologize your reservation was moved and that you were not satisfied with the Majestic. From time to time we do have to relocate some guests due to unforeseen circumstances and while this is rare on occasion does happen and when it does we try to accommodate the guest by waiving all fees giving upgrades and providing complimentary services like breakfast and or drinks when available. We hope to make it upto you next time please feel free to contact me directly when making your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

It is a cute small modern hotel. Finding it was easy, but there are many lanes leading to Miami Beach. Pray and then concentrate!

The receptionist knew his job, but was not very friendly. That was generously compensated by another chap helping us. Parking is in an adjoining communal parking garage over several floors. It costs about $20 a night. Disabled drivers get a free ride with proper communal disability permit. Ours from Europe was accepted in Seattle, WA and again here in Miami, FL.

The room was small and the bathroom is tiny, but that's OK if everything works as it should, and it almost does! The hotel is a bit like the Cumberland at Marble Arch in London, UK. It has the touch of an interior designer who has had a free hand, but without the experience of an accomplished traveler.

The AC was a bit loud and windy, but there was an alternative rotating fan in the ceiling. I had problem logging on with my android, but the laptop on Windows7 worked , well some of the time, see picture!

The room is better suited for someone with little luggage. It is that small. The beds are Japanese style, - so low that it gives you that feeling; “Rising from the grave”. The shower was a surprise. At first it seems as if you will be using the hand shower, but "pulling the plug" gives instant reaction. Beware it is not just a shower, it is a waterfall! One small hitch however. The brute force of a former guest had broken the frame holding the cubicle together, see picture. No breakfast, but there were some rolls for sale. We took a meal further along our route.

On the other side of the block, is the Miami beach and plenty of restaurants. After having had our evening meal, we were nearly got shanghaied by few other establishments.

Rarely have I watched so many people in their primes walking along the beachfront. Unfortunately there is no way to “shave 40 years off my top”.

When we checked out next morning, we were in for a surprise. We booked the agreed price 4 months in advance. Now they wanted an additional $ 14,25 “as a visa card cost”. That has never happened to me before and will make me shun this hotel. The booked price is an agreed price and this was a deviation from the agreement between the hotel and me. Well, no tip this time! We paid a total of $175,-. i. e. until my visa card statement is checked.

There were 3 people behind the counter in the morning, - where one would have been sufficient to meet demand. Would I stay here again, probably not?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Clifton South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
phagerup- Thank you for the 4 Star review, Our hotel is small historic but modern and 100% eco friendly, the wifi does sometimes go out but usually on for a few minutes and all rooms are equipped with wired service as well. I do apologize about the resort fees $14.14 per night, they are on every booking website, on your registration and posted on the front desk to ensure you are aware of the fee. I do apologize that it was missed but please know it was not on purpose.
Overall we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you give us another opportunity to make you 100% satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifton South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton South Beach Hotel

Address: 1343 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clifton South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton Hotel was recently transformed so guests can enjoy a classic boutique experience that is fresh, hip and eco-friendly. We looked at all aspects of updating our 35 room Art Deco historic building using resource conserving technology and selecting environmentally friendly materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Clifton South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.